Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 04:55:45
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Do Royal Court models attached to a Deathmark squad benefit from the Hunters from Hyperspace rule to wound marked units on 2+?
Can Deathmark squads with an attached member of the Royal Court still choose to deepstrike?
Does a Necron Lord on a Catacomb Command Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a sweep attack?
Can Trazyn the Infinite use the Empathetic Obliterator after causing wounds from a Command Barge sweeping attack?
If trazyn causes a wound in combat and then dies, does the Empathetic Obliterator still activate at the end of combat?
Does Zahndrekh's "Adaptive Tactics" on a Command Barge effect the sweep attack as well? Ie Tank Hunter or [list]Furious Charge on the Barge also benefit the Lord's Sweep Attack?
C'tan shard writhing worldscape causes all difficult terrain to become dangerous in the game. Orikan the diviner causes all enemy units moving in the first turn to count as moving through difficult terrain. Does "count as" cause writhing worldscape to trigger causing all moving enemy units in the first turn to take dangerous terrain checks? Or does count as really only make a "fake" difficult terrain which isn't really terrain, thus can't become dangerous.
Does this also apply for Termorstaves which cause units to treat open ground as difficult terrain in their next movement phase.
Ctan Shard Time's Arrow power: does it have an effect on vehicles? Unlike other stat-based tests mentioned in the book (monolith portal of exile) Time's Arrow does not state that Vehicles automatically pass the test. RAW states that since it cannot pass the test, it automatically dies.
How do Wraith's Whip Coils interact with initiative-boosting abilities like Grey Knight Halberds?
Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (and potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?
Can Scarabs generated by Spyders be added to Scarab units that are engaged in assault or are falling back?
The invulnerable save by the Ctan Shards' Necrodermis is wargear and can thus be nullified by a Vindicaire Assassin's Shield Breaker, correct?
Does the vehicle armor-reducing ability of an attack with entropic Strike apply immedietly after the hit and before rolling for actual armor penetration (and thus could be modified by the strike effect)?
If an entropic strike armor-reducing ability happens at the same initiative step as other models, do the other models roll against the previous or the reduced armor value?
How does Quantum Shielding work against Lance weapons?
Does the Chronometron ability allow the StormLord to reroll the roll for Night Fight to end? Ie does the Night Fight determing roll count as a "phase"?
Chronometron allows models to re-roll one of their "d6" rolls per phase. Does this include rolls of 2D6 (re-rolling just one of the D6's) or rolls of D3(which according to the 40K rulebook still utilizes a D6), or scatter dice (which are technically a D6) or specifically only rolls of a single D6 counting capable of values of 1-6.
If you use mind shackle scarabs on a lone character or monster can you make it attack itself.
Can an enemy vehicle effected by Anrakyr the Traveller's Mind in the Machine ability fire upon itself?
Abyssal Staff causes wounds based on the targets leadership rather than toughness but is strength 8. Will it cause instant death to a toughness 4 model whose leadership is not also 4?
How do Lychguard Disperson Shields work against blast and template weapons? The templates are not relocated but is the Str and AP still relocated?
What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
Edited by Lorek for formatting
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/11/06 19:55:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 06:17:30
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
Because I already started a thread attempting to do this, and your list is more comprehensive.
What facings do reflected shots from dispersion sheilds harm on vehicles? What if the squad lies in multiple facings?
Can cover saves be taken against shots reflected by dispersion sheilds? If so, where does LoS originate from?
The 'Arc' description of the tesla destructor's second effect says it happens after the "initial shot" has been resolved. As the Destructor has four shots, is the arc portion resolved four times?
As squad leaders are characters, does Humiliating Defeat apply to them as well as independent characters?
Do vehicles also not get cover saves against Sweep Attacks?
Is Obryon supposed to leave Zandrekh's unit if it is assaulted and he is joined to it? For example, assume Zandrekh and Obryon are both joined to a unit of Spyders (why not have 6 toughness for free?). Their unit is assaulted by ork boyz. RaW, it appears Obryon leaves Zandrekh and the Spyders, then piles in to the same combat anyway. If his side loses combat, is it intentional that he tests seperately?
When does Obryon pile in after teleporting to Zandrek? If it is before the current player's assault moves, is it possible for him to block an assault after it has been declared (by standing in the way of models near the end of the 6" charge range)? Does he pile in after the first model successfully reaches Zandrek's unit or after all models are finished making the assault move?
Can special assault attacks such as mindshackle scarabs be used in a sweep attack? If so, and they one use only, do they apply to each sweep attack or just one? If they apply to just one, can the character revert to its other weapons for the remaining attacks?
Do flechette dischargers work against sweep attacks?
Do Imotekh's lighting strikes still occur if a solar pulse is used on the necron turn, as the rules are still in effect, but merely cease to apply to the necron army for that turn?
If the new host for Trazyn is randomly determined using a d6, can a chronometron allow a re-roll of that d6?
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 07:07:59
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Does giving a Wraith a Particle Caster (pistol) give it +1A, or does it not because the Wraiths seem to have no CC weapons to start with?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 08:06:48
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Right, based on my own interpretations, as well as discussions I've already seen on the matter, I'll put forward my views. Happy to argue points, though.
*Do Royal Court models attached to a Deathmark squad benefit from the Hunters from Hyperspace rule to wound marked units on 2+?
The bonus is applied to the "unit", not to the Deathmark models specifically. As IC's attatched to a unit count as part of that unit, the bonus applies to them as well.
*Can Deathmark squads with an attached member of the Royal Court still choose to deepstrike?
I'm not certain on this, but the general consensus seems to be that they can indeed.
They can not. A unit can only deep strike if all models within the unit have the Deep Strike rule (thanks Ghaz)
*Does a Necron Lord on a Catacomb Command Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a sweep attack?
No, as it not an assault, but a movement made in the movement phase. The Lord is not assaulting the unit that is hit, the Barge merely inflicts hits on the unit, using the lord's strength and weapon properties.
*Can Trazyn the Infinite use the Empathetic Obliterator after causing wounds from a Command Barge sweeping attack?
No, as it is not an assault, as above.
*If trazyn causes a wound in combat and then dies, does the Empathetic Obliterator still activate at the end of combat?
I would say yes - the attack is triggered by Trazyn killing a unit, and as such would strill trigger if he were to die. Unlikely scenario, though, considering he is Initiative 2, and as such would most often either die before killing, or live and kill.
*Does Zahndrekh's "Adaptive Tactics" on a Command Barge effect the sweep attack as well? Ie Tank Hunter or Furious Charge on the Barge also benefit the Lord's Sweep Attack?
The sweep is only affected by Tank Hunter, as it is not an assault (as above).
*C'tan shard writhing worldscape causes all difficult terrain to become dangerous in the game. Orikan the diviner causes all enemy units moving in the first turn to count as moving through difficult terrain. Does "count as" cause writhing worldscape to trigger causing all moving enemy units in the first turn to take dangerous terrain checks? Or does count as really only make a "fake" difficult terrain which isn't really terrain, thus can't become dangerous. Does this also apply for Termorstaves which cause units to treat open ground as difficult terrain in their next movement phase.
This may need some discussion, and is probably going to see a lot of queries for a while. I would say it does not affect "count as" and "treats as", but it's open to debate.
*Ctan Shard Time's Arrow power: does it have an effect on vehicles? Unlike other stat-based tests mentioned in the book (monolith portal of exile) Time's Arrow does not state that Vehicles automatically pass the test. RAW states that since it cannot pass the test, it automatically dies.
RaI, no. RaW, yes, the vehicle will automatically fail, and be removed. A similar case to the Dark Eldar's Crucible of Malediction vs Grey Knight vehicles. It will most likely be FAQ'd to show vehicles are unaffected.
*How do Wraith's Whip Coils interact with initiative-boosting abilities like Grey Knight Halberds?
Models have their initiative reduced to 1, regardless of modifiers.
*Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (and potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?
Sequencially.
*Can Scarabs generated by Spyders be added to Scarab units that are engaged in assault or are falling back?
There are no restrictions as such, so yes.
*The invulnerable save by the Ctan Shards' Necrodermis is wargear and can thus be nullified by a Vindicaire Assassin's Shield Breaker, correct?
The C'Tan Shard would lose it's invul save, but the explosion would still be triggered.
*Does the vehicle armor-reducing ability of an attack with entropic Strike apply immedietly after the hit and before rolling for actual armor penetration (and thus could be modified by the strike effect)?
Directly after hits are scored, before armour penetration is rolled.
*If an entropic strike armor-reducing ability happens at the same initiative step as other models, do the other models roll against the previous or the reduced armor value?
Arguable. Entropic Strike happens before penetration rolls. Since all hits in this example happen simultaneously, it's arguable that all assaulting models roll penetration against the lowered armour facings.
*How does Quantum Shielding work against Lance weapons?
Quantum Shielding is lowered to 12 instead of 13.
*Does the Chronometron ability allow the StormLord to reroll the roll for Night Fight to end? Ie does the Night Fight determing roll count as a "phase"?
No. The roll is not tied to the stormlord per se. The player makes the roll as a result of having the stormlord in the army. Arguable, though.
*Chronometron allows models to re-roll one of their "d6" rolls per phase. Does this include rolls of 2D6 (re-rolling just one of the D6's) or rolls of D3(which according to the 40K rulebook still utilizes a D6), or scatter dice (which are technically a D6) or specifically only rolls of a single D6 counting capable of values of 1-6.
Any d6 which is labeled as such, including one 2/ 3D6. I would argue against re-rolling D3's, however.
*if you use mind shackle scarabs on a lone character or monster can you make it attack itself.
Yes. The model attacks "his own unit", as would resultingly attack himself.
*Can an enemy vehicle effected by Anrakyr the Traveller's Mind in the Machine ability fire upon itself?
No, just as one can not nominate one of their own vehicles to fire on itself - since you are treating the vehicle "as if it were your own unit".
*Abyssal Staff causes wounds based on the targets leadership rather than toughness but is strength 8. Will it cause instant death to a toughness 4 model whose leadership is not also 4?
No - you are comparing Strength x Leadership. Toughness is not in the equation, so Instand Death based on toughness does not come into play.
*How do Lychguard Disperson Shields work against blast and template weapons? The templates are not relocated but is the Str and AP still relocated?
As written in the codex, their shields have no effect against blast and template weapons past allowing a save.
Yes, the strength and AP of the saved hit is still relocated.
* What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
The unique wargear applies to the abilities that can be purchased, not to the staffs that are unlocked.
Kitzz wrote:Because I already started a thread attempting to do this, and your list is more comprehensive.
What facings do reflected shots from dispersion sheilds harm on vehicles? What if the squad lies in multiple facings?
Can cover saves be taken against shots reflected by dispersion sheilds? If so, where does LoS originate from?
Treat the shot as if the Lychguard had fired it - the lychguard that saved the shot, is treated as the one that is reflecting it.
The 'Arc' description of the tesla destructor's second effect says it happens after the "initial shot" has been resolved. As the Destructor has four shots, is the arc portion resolved four times?
The Arc is resolved once, after the weapon has fired.
As squad leaders are characters, does Humiliating Defeat apply to them as well as independent characters?
Yes.
Do vehicles also not get cover saves against Sweep Attacks?
No cover saves are allowed.
Is Obryon supposed to leave Zandrekh's unit if it is assaulted and he is joined to it? For example, assume Zandrekh and Obryon are both joined to a unit of Spyders (why not have 6 toughness for free?). Their unit is assaulted by ork boyz. RaW, it appears Obryon leaves Zandrekh and the Spyders, then piles in to the same combat anyway. If his side loses combat, is it intentional that he tests seperately?
RaI, no. RaW, I suppose you can argue that he can leave the unit, then rejoin it from any direction. If you go with the former, he does not test separately. If you go with the latter, you (or your opponent) could argue that he does.
When does Obryon pile in after teleporting to Zandrek? If it is before the current player's assault moves, is it possible for him to block an assault after it has been declared (by standing in the way of models near the end of the 6" charge range)? Does he pile in after the first model successfully reaches Zandrek's unit or after all models are finished making the assault move?
After assault moves have been made, before the assault starts.
Can special assault attacks such as mindshackle scarabs be used in a sweep attack? If so, and they one use only, do they apply to each sweep attack or just one? If they apply to just one, can the character revert to its other weapons for the remaining attacks?
No, as the sweep attack is not an assault, nor is the model within the command barge directly attacking the unit. The Barge inflicts hits, using the overlord's strength and weapon abilities.
Do flechette dischargers work against sweep attacks?
No, as it is not an assault.
Do Imotekh's lighting strikes still occur if a solar pulse is used on the necron turn, as the rules are still in effect, but merely cease to apply to the necron army for that turn?
Lighting Strikes can not be used if Night Fighting was brought about by a Solar Pulse. Otherwise, a Solar Pulse would temporarilly negate Night Fighting, and as such Lightning Strieks would not come into effect.
If the new host for Trazyn is randomly determined using a d6, can a chronometron allow a re-roll of that d6?
No - as he is removed as a casualty, and as such is momentarily no longer part of the unit that has the crhonometron.
Nightbringer's Chosen wrote:Does giving a Wraith a Particle Caster (pistol) give it +1A, or does it not because the Wraiths seem to have no CC weapons to start with?
Has no close combat weapon equiped, so gains no bonus attack for having a pistol
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2011/11/06 15:13:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 08:14:40
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Kharrak wrote:*How do Lychguard Disperson Shields work against blast and template weapons? The templates are not relocated but is the Str and AP still relocated?
As written in the codex, their shields have no effect against blast and template weapons past allowing a save.
I believe that is incorrect. The codex just says that the templates are not repositioned. I'm fairly certain that it still redirects 'a portion' of the blast.
The model took a wound from shooting. The wound was saved. There is nothing stopping it from being redirected, only from repositioning the blast template. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kharrak wrote:*Does the Chronometron ability allow the StormLord to reroll the roll for Night Fight to end? Ie does the Night Fight determing roll count as a "phase"?
No. The roll is not tied to the stormlord per se. The player makes the roll as a result of having the stormlord in the army. Arguable, though.
I wonder if Orikan The Diviner's The Stars Are Right ability would follow whatever answer this turns out being.
I could definitely see it being argued either way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/06 08:17:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 08:26:33
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Nightbringer's Chosen wrote:I believe that is incorrect. The codex just says that the templates are not repositioned. I'm fairly certain that it still redirects 'a portion' of the blast.
The model took a wound from shooting. The wound was saved. There is nothing stopping it from being redirected, only from repositioning the blast template..
Ah, you are correct! A target unit still takes a hit, yes.
So, to rephrase:
If a Lychguard with a dispersion shield successfully makes a save against a template or blast marker weapon, the template and blast marker is ignored, and a viable target unit takes a single hit equal to the strength and AP of the saved hit.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/11/06 08:29:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 08:35:24
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Tesseract Labyrinth vs. Reanimation Protocols.
I do believe you can, as much as it doesn't make sense, Reanimate after being stuck in the Labyrinth.
It specifically says the victim is "removed as a casualty", and if you look at Ever-Living, it uses just that terminology, and is not "a save of any kind".
But that's my interpretation; I submit the issue as something that will likely be asked in the upcoming month of Necron Civil War Among The Bandwagoners.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 08:43:13
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
I agree with you there. Obviously not RaI, but RaW, definitely.
Gotta love pre-FAQ shenanigans.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 10:18:09
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Kharrak wrote:
*Chronometron allows models to re-roll one of their "d6" rolls per phase. Does this include rolls of 2D6 (re-rolling just one of the D6's) or rolls of D3(which according to the 40K rulebook still utilizes a D6), or scatter dice (which are technically a D6) or specifically only rolls of a single D6 counting capable of values of 1-6.
Any d6, including one 2/3D6, one scatter die. I would argue against re-rolling D3's, however.
Emphasis mine.
You're wrong on this one. BRB, page 2:
"Almost all of the dice rolls in Warhammer 40,000 use standard six-sided dice (usually referred to as ' D6')."
Scatter dice are definitely NOT "standard six-sided dice".
Also, same page, rerolls:
"If you re-roll a 2D6 or 3D6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting you the re-roll explicitly specifies otherwise."
I don't have Necron codex, so I don't know the exact wording of the Chronometron, but it probably does allow full re-roll of an 2d6/ 3d6 roll
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 10:48:46
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Ah, apologies. I was thinking of the D6 dice that one rolls in order to determine distance of scatter, not the actual hit/miss dice. In that case, no, that does not count.
Will ammend!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 14:32:19
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Kharrak wrote:
*Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (and potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?
Sequencially.
This is clearly incorrect according to the rules. Scarabs are created at the beginning of the Necron players Movement phase and would be placed simultaneously.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 14:38:37
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Issue!
In apoc, some of the datasheets/formations refer to "we'll be back" rolls. RAW these aren't the same as resurrection protocols.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 14:41:00
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
A big question I didn't see on the list:
You can split apart a royal court to different squads, and only 1 member from the court can be attached to any one unit, but can you attach 1 from one royal court, and a second from a second royal court?
Basically, can you have 2 crypteks/lords in a squad so long as they come from different royal courts?
|
4000+ points
1500 points maybe? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 14:54:53
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kharrak wrote:
*Can Deathmark squads with an attached member of the Royal Court still choose to deepstrike?
I'm not certain on this, but the general consensus seems to be that they can indeed.
I'm curious on why this seems to be the general consensus? If I attach a PA libby to a unit of terminators, place them in reserve, can they deep strike?
The answer to that would be no. Of course, I don't have the full necron rules for this, so there might be some other basis for the consensus.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 15:03:39
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Warhammer 40,000 Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: Can a unit Deep Strike if only some of the models in it have the deep strike special rule? (p95)
A: No.
So unless the Cryptek/Necron Lord can also Deep Strike the answer is pretty clear that the Deathmarks would not be able to either.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 15:12:09
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Ghaz wrote:Kharrak wrote:
*Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (and potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?
Sequencially.
This is clearly incorrect according to the rules. Scarabs are created at the beginning of the Necron players Movement phase and would be placed simultaneously.
Ah, so you would suggest that the proper way to manage it, is not to count any of the scarabs placed this way, as part of the original scarab unit, in regards to other scarabs being placed in the same manner, in the same phase?
Ghaz wrote:From the Warhammer 40,000 Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: Can a unit Deep Strike if only some of the models in it have the deep strike special rule? (p95)
A: No.
So unless the Cryptek/Necron Lord can also Deep Strike the answer is pretty clear that the Deathmarks would not be able to either.
Ah, was looking for this. I thought as much, but was "corrected" when I suggested they could not deep strike together. Thanks for clearing that up!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 15:18:07
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
I would play it that any created bases would have to be placed in coherency with an existing base. You would be able to gain a little distance, but not excessively so.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 16:12:39
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Q: Do scarabs who use entropic strike also get to attack for penetration with their strength? Would this happen before or after the armor reduction?
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 16:22:58
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Rhizome 9
|
Alessander wrote:
[*] What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
With that one, the way I see it is how it says "each of the Harbinger's unique wargear can only be chosen once per Royal Court." I think that means that everyone gets the special weapon, because it says "chosen wargear", as in wargear that you have to take. When you decide to upgrade to a certain discipline, there is no choice in the matter, and it says that they have to do that, but for the special upgrades that you have a choice in taking, that is only one per court.
I have a question to bring up though. Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc. One from each court joining it? RAW to me, would make it seem like yes. RAI is a complete mystery. In someways it makes sense, and in other ways it doesn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 16:32:35
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
BSent wrote:Alessander wrote:
[*] What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
With that one, the way I see it is how it says "each of the Harbinger's unique wargear can only be chosen once per Royal Court." I think that means that everyone gets the special weapon, because it says "chosen wargear", as in wargear that you have to take. When you decide to upgrade to a certain discipline, there is no choice in the matter, and it says that they have to do that, but for the special upgrades that you have a choice in taking, that is only one per court.
I have a question to bring up though. Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc. One from each court joining it? RAW to me, would make it seem like yes. RAI is a complete mystery. In someways it makes sense, and in other ways it doesn't.
I brought this up at my GW yesterday, everyone in the store seemed to agree based on the odd wording that you can only ever attach one to a squad, no matter how many courts you have. I wish it was the other way around, i would have double lord/warscythe warrior squads!
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 16:33:47
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
I'll Be Back
Victoria, Australia
|
FalkorsRaiders wrote:A big question I didn't see on the list:
You can split apart a royal court to different squads, and only 1 member from the court can be attached to any one unit, but can you attach 1 from one royal court, and a second from a second royal court?
Basically, can you have 2 crypteks/lords in a squad so long as they come from different royal courts?
I'd like to know this Myself
|
Necrons 3000+ (Main)
Space Marines 4000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 16:56:38
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dave-c wrote:BSent wrote:Alessander wrote:
[*] What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
With that one, the way I see it is how it says "each of the Harbinger's unique wargear can only be chosen once per Royal Court." I think that means that everyone gets the special weapon, because it says "chosen wargear", as in wargear that you have to take. When you decide to upgrade to a certain discipline, there is no choice in the matter, and it says that they have to do that, but for the special upgrades that you have a choice in taking, that is only one per court.
I have a question to bring up though. Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc. One from each court joining it? RAW to me, would make it seem like yes. RAI is a complete mystery. In someways it makes sense, and in other ways it doesn't.
I brought this up at my GW yesterday, everyone in the store seemed to agree based on the odd wording that you can only ever attach one to a squad, no matter how many courts you have. I wish it was the other way around, i would have double lord/warscythe warrior squads!
Well, the wording says:
"Before the battle, each member of the Royal Court has the option of being split off from his unit and assigned to lead a different unit from the following list: Necron Warriors, Necron Immortals, Lychguard, or Deathmarks. Only one member of the Royal Court can join each unit in this manner. Otherwise, they remain part of the Royal Court." (Page: 90, Necron 5th edition Codex)
If it was worded, "Only one member from a Royal Court can join each unit in this matter" then it would clearly mean only one per squad, regardless of the number of courts, but it uses the phrasing: "... the Royal Court.." which I take to mean only one from a court, allowing you to attach two, so long as they are from different courts. Really, until a proper FAQ by GW is done, it will be a thing you will need to come to an agreement on with your friend/person whom you are playing against.
Personally, I hope you can have two in a squad, so can we just make that the call and consider the thing FAQ-ed?
|
4000+ points
1500 points maybe? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 17:06:56
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
FalkorsRaiders wrote:Dave-c wrote:BSent wrote:Alessander wrote: [*] What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline? With that one, the way I see it is how it says "each of the Harbinger's unique wargear can only be chosen once per Royal Court." I think that means that everyone gets the special weapon, because it says "chosen wargear", as in wargear that you have to take. When you decide to upgrade to a certain discipline, there is no choice in the matter, and it says that they have to do that, but for the special upgrades that you have a choice in taking, that is only one per court. I have a question to bring up though. Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc. One from each court joining it? RAW to me, would make it seem like yes. RAI is a complete mystery. In someways it makes sense, and in other ways it doesn't. I brought this up at my GW yesterday, everyone in the store seemed to agree based on the odd wording that you can only ever attach one to a squad, no matter how many courts you have. I wish it was the other way around, i would have double lord/warscythe warrior squads! Well, the wording says: "Before the battle, each member of the Royal Court has the option of being split off from his unit and assigned to lead a different unit from the following list: Necron Warriors, Necron Immortals, Lychguard, or Deathmarks. Only one member of the Royal Court can join each unit in this manner. Otherwise, they remain part of the Royal Court." (Page: 90, Necron 5th edition Codex) If it was worded, "Only one member from a Royal Court can join each unit in this matter" then it would clearly mean only one per squad, regardless of the number of courts, but it uses the phrasing: "... the Royal Court.." which I take to mean only one from a court, allowing you to attach two, so long as they are from different courts. Really, until a proper FAQ by GW is done, it will be a thing you will need to come to an agreement on with your friend/person whom you are playing against. Personally, I hope you can have two in a squad, so can we just make that the call and consider the thing FAQ-ed? The thing was that his has already been addressed with the SW codex as well, and I guess the character rule basically prevents you from ever attachin more than one. I will go look up the SW FAQ and get back with ya! EDIT: After reviewing the ruling in SW codex it appears as if it is more specific to the army, and would not apply to necrons, although i don't think i could possible convince the people in my area that they are incorrect, unfortunately for me :(
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/06 17:18:10
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 17:35:55
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dave-c wrote:FalkorsRaiders wrote:Dave-c wrote:BSent wrote:Alessander wrote:
[*] What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?
With that one, the way I see it is how it says "each of the Harbinger's unique wargear can only be chosen once per Royal Court." I think that means that everyone gets the special weapon, because it says "chosen wargear", as in wargear that you have to take. When you decide to upgrade to a certain discipline, there is no choice in the matter, and it says that they have to do that, but for the special upgrades that you have a choice in taking, that is only one per court.
I have a question to bring up though. Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc. One from each court joining it? RAW to me, would make it seem like yes. RAI is a complete mystery. In someways it makes sense, and in other ways it doesn't.
I brought this up at my GW yesterday, everyone in the store seemed to agree based on the odd wording that you can only ever attach one to a squad, no matter how many courts you have. I wish it was the other way around, i would have double lord/warscythe warrior squads!
Well, the wording says:
"Before the battle, each member of the Royal Court has the option of being split off from his unit and assigned to lead a different unit from the following list: Necron Warriors, Necron Immortals, Lychguard, or Deathmarks. Only one member of the Royal Court can join each unit in this manner. Otherwise, they remain part of the Royal Court." (Page: 90, Necron 5th edition Codex)
If it was worded, "Only one member from a Royal Court can join each unit in this matter" then it would clearly mean only one per squad, regardless of the number of courts, but it uses the phrasing: "... the Royal Court.." which I take to mean only one from a court, allowing you to attach two, so long as they are from different courts. Really, until a proper FAQ by GW is done, it will be a thing you will need to come to an agreement on with your friend/person whom you are playing against.
Personally, I hope you can have two in a squad, so can we just make that the call and consider the thing FAQ-ed?
The thing was that his has already been addressed with the SW codex as well, and I guess the character rule basically prevents you from ever attachin more than one. I will go look up the SW FAQ and get back with ya!
EDIT: After reviewing the ruling in SW codex it appears as if it is more specific to the army, and would not apply to necrons, although i don't think i could possible convince the people in my area that they are incorrect, unfortunately for me :(
I think I can for my area, luck me. Still glad to hear that it is still up in the air and not leaning towards no.
|
4000+ points
1500 points maybe? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 17:41:12
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I think it is one of those things that just are not clear enough, blame Mat for that. There are other things that need to be addressed, but this is the most cloudy one ihmo. A lot of the other issues arent unclear, simply unaddressed, like do you still get to roll for pen after entropic strike and stuff like that.
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 18:08:22
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dave-c wrote:I think it is one of those things that just are not clear enough, blame Mat for that. There are other things that need to be addressed, but this is the most cloudy one ihmo. A lot of the other issues arent unclear, simply unaddressed, like do you still get to roll for pen after entropic strike and stuff like that.
The big reason why I need to know this is because my whole strategy needs multiple eldritch lances. There are many other matters, that can often seem like no-brainers one way or another, but this one is just funky. I won't blame Matt Ward, because I haven't personally met him, but I am willing to blame GW, because its easier and kinder that way.
|
4000+ points
1500 points maybe? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 18:47:16
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Ghaz wrote:Kharrak wrote:
*Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (and potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?
Sequencially.
This is clearly incorrect according to the rules. Scarabs are created at the beginning of the Necron players Movement phase and would be placed simultaneously.
Actually, no, it's not clearly incorrect. Granted, the scarabs are created at the beginning of the Necron player's Movement phase but the rule states each Spyder can create a Scarab. Nothing in the rule prevents alternating between Spyders in different units.
Further, even if the Scarab creation were to happen simultaneously the Scarabs can form a "conga line" since all of the Scarabs appear instantaneously and as long a one of those Scarabs is in coherency with the original Scarab unit, all the Scarabs are in coherency.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 19:07:19
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And how are you placing them in coherncy with a model that's not on the table until it itself is placed on the table? You can't. And the fact that each Spider can create a base doesn't have any impact on the fact that they are all created at the same time.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 19:31:52
Subject: Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Ghaz wrote:And how are you placing them in coherncy with a model that's not on the table until it itself is placed on the table? You can't. And the fact that each Spider can create a base doesn't have any impact on the fact that they are all created at the same time.
First, you haven't proven the Scarabs are generated simultaneously. Second, from the game's point of view, if the Scarabs are created instantaneously, it doesn't matter how/when they are physically placed on the table; the game assumes the action happen simultaneously. Further, once the Scarab is created it immediately moves and acts as normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 23:42:43
Subject: Re:Consolidated Necron FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There is only one "start" of the movement phase; if you place it in coherency with a model that wasnt there at the start you have now introduced a sequence in time. Ghaz is still correct on this. No matter how you spin it, NO chaining of scarabs.
You can have multiple lances; Wargear OPTIONS are restricted to one per court, whereas the Lance (and all other weapon swaps) are mandatory exchanges.
The game cares about Units when it comes to KP. If you split off the royal court entirely ot other units then there is no "Royal Court" unit left, meaning no KP can be gained. Exactly as WG.
|
|
 |
 |
|