Switch Theme:

Gets Hot allocation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





My veteran squad with 3 plasma guns fires on a target within 12". How do I handle this for Gets Hot?

A. Roll 6 dice, apply all wounds to different models
B. For each plasma gunner, roll two dice and apply resulting wounds to that model

Apologies if this is addressed in the BRB. Don't have one handy.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





B. You don't get to allocate GH - it goes to the model that fired the gun.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




You typically declare which model is firing then roll 2 dice at a time if you're within 12" or 1 at a time if you're outside of that (you can roll all 6 at once if you have three different colors of dice). This eliminates any confusion as to which gunner(s) need to take saves.

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Only the model that suffered Gets Hot! can suffer the wound. NO allocaiton
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







BGB page 31 wrote:For each result of a 1 rolled on its to hit rolls, the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves applied)


You do not roll to hit then roll GH. One roll, only have to worry about the 1s. Must be pretty unluck if you roll 6 ones for your hit. . Roll hits for one model at a time for the ones that pop up roll your saves.

   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Since get's hot doesn't get allocated, you have to process shooting 1 model at a time.

When vets rapid fire with the S4 AP3 gets hot, you should roll dice two at a time, vet by vet.
Why? Because if you roll a pair of 1's, a single vet is taking 2 get's hot saves.

My Lamenters run a ton of plasma, because I think it's fluffy to have the cursed chapter die in misfires. When my honor guard rapid fires (4 plasmaguns); I make sure to do it in pairs.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






While it is true that the model doing the shooting takes the wounds, if there are like copies of that model in the unit then the removing casualties section has you pull one like model per failed save.

So, with 3 plasma gunners, First rolls 2 1's, he gets allocated 2 wounds. Second rolls a 1, gets allocated 1 wound. Third does not roll any 1's.

3 total wounds were allocated to the same model type, roll all 3 saves at once and pull a model per save failed.

Page 25, complex units. "Having allocated the wounds, all the models in the unit that are identical in gaming terms roll their saves at the same time, in one batch. Casualties can then be chosen by the owing player from amongst these identical models."

Edit: to Hawaiimat, you are supposed to roll all a units shooting at once, as it is simultaneous. Just clarifying what you meant, as you do not process shooting one model at a time, as that would mean you could choose not to shoot later weapons if the first ones hit in the unit, like combiguns.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/03 17:44:07


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, this is not correct. If another model is rmeoved, then the model that Gets Hot! has NOT suffered the wound, breaking the rule.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

As has already been posted:

BGB page 31 wrote:For each result of a 1 rolled on its to hit rolls, the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves applied)

Its more than abundantly clear that you can't allocate the wound to another model.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nos, we have clear precedent of models not being wounded being removed as casualties. IE, a scarab unit suffers 1 s6 blast wound. 2 Bases are removed, despite only one of them being allocated a wound.

Ghaz, you are not moving a wound from one model to another. I quoted the rule. You remove 1 model from a like model group for each save that is failed. That comes after wounds are allocated.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/03 18:13:38


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yes, you are moving the wound. The rule very specifically states that it is the firing model that takes the wound.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






OK Ghaz, I agree with that, the plasmagunner who rolled a 1 suffers a wound.

Then read the rule I quoted. After the model takes a wound, you then roll saves. If you fail the save, you remove one model of that model type from the board. If you have multiple saves, you remove one like model per failed save.

Removing models is not the same as suffering wounds
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

"After determining wounds against a particular unit. . ."

This is regarding wounds to a particular model.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Kirsanth, I am sorry but I dont know what that quote you mention is at all... I reread the entire remove casualties section and didnt find it. Can you be more clear?
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

First sentence on page 39, under "Allocating Wounds."

Editing to add:
Remove Casualties lets you know that wounded models* are removed. It never mentions units.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/03 18:55:43


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

I believe Gets Hot says specifiaclly that model. Like a DTT it's only that testng model that's affected not like/similar models in that unit.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Kirsanth, you are looking at the initiative step based close combat rules for allocating attack. I am reading the remove casualties rules, that both shooting and close combat reference.

Mrwhoop, you are correct, on page 31 get hot reads "the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves apply)"

However, when a model suffers a wound, and then fails its save, the UNIT then suffers an unsaved wound. Page 24, very first sentence of Removing Casualties section, reads "For every model that fails its save, the unit suffers and unsaved wound..." "...for each unsaved wound one model is immediately removed from the table as a casualty."

Also, DTT follows some different rules, and as such its best to keep DTT in a separate discussion. Otherwise it becomes very easy to start confusing the two.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/01/03 19:04:02


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

You have to allocate before taking the save and getting to the unsaved wounds part. Allocation is done for you, i.e. it is assigned to the plasma gunner. Technically if you have more than one identically armed plasma gunner you could take a different one, but that's just silly.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Pretre, its funny you mention that it is silly--the designers think so too.

"This may seem slightly strange. but it represents the fact that the real action on the battlefield is not as static as our model"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/03 19:13:05


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

DevianID wrote: I am reading the remove casualties rules, that both shooting and close combat reference.
If you have every member of a unit with identical gear (including GH), this almost matters.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

DevianID wrote:Pretre, its funny you mention that it is silly--the designers think so too.

What can I say? When me and the boys hang out and play poker, we're always discussing what they really meant when they wrote the rules and it must have stuck.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/03 19:16:55


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




DevianID wrote:Also, DTT follows some different rules, and as such its best to keep DTT in a separate discussion. Otherwise it becomes very easy to start confusing the two.


I think that this sentence most succinctly summarizes the position opposite to yours, D. Those like Nos and Kirsanth are contending that the GH rules for which models are removed are different from the normal rules for wound allocation, just like the rules for Dangerous Terrain Tests are different from the standard rules for wound allocation.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Devian - have you caused the Wound to be suffered by another individual? Yes? Then you have broken the Gets Hot! rule
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






No I have not nos. So fortunately, no rule is broken. Yay me!

To Saldiven, the rules for how models suffer wounds and how casualties are removed are two seperate issues. Wounds being allocated via enemy shooting versus wounds done to a model via GH both use the removing casualties rules.

kirsanth, again I dont understand your point? The first rule I quoted was for complex units and removing casualties, as the OP mentioned 3 plasmagunners in a vet squad. I have also quoted gets hot, and the basic removing casualties rules. How a unit is equipped makes zero difference here. And your quote about close combat I still dont follow, as it is completely unrelated... perhaps you quoted the wrong section?

Pretre
What can I say? When me and the boys hang out and play poker, we're always discussing what they really meant when they wrote the rules and it must have stuck.
Hey I wouldnt let on that you and Matt Ward hang out... unless you are just there to take his money lol.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/03 19:50:27


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah, so when you removed a model that was NOT the model that rolled a "1", you are claiming this means the model who suffered from Gets Hot! suffered the wound?

Rules disagree with you. Boo to you!
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





The quoted rule answers my question. It says "the firing model," not "a model with the Gets Hot rule." Since it specifies it that way I'll be playing it as requiring a separate roll for each gunner.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is the correct way to play it, handily
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






you are claiming this means the model who suffered from Gets Hot! suffered the wound
Yes, I am absolutely claiming that a model that rolled a 1 suffers from gets hot and suffers a wound. Why are you disagreeing with me?

The quoted rule answers my question. It says "the firing model," not "a model with the Gets Hot rule." Since it specifies it that way I'll be playing it as requiring a separate roll for each gunner.Which is the correct way to play it, handily

Except, that would gloss over how casualties are removed.

Walk me though what you expect happens.

You roll a 1. That model takes a wound, but gets normal saves.

How are saves taken?

What happens with a MODEL that fails its save?

If you can answer WITHOUT the 'removing casualty' rules, that I quoted for us already, then I will concede, as you will have pointed me to a new rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/03 20:44:55


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Now apply this to 2 wound models with gets hot weapons, and realise you are still mistaken
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






You did not answer the question.
Walk me though what you expect happens.

You roll a 1. That model takes a wound, but gets normal saves.

How are saves taken?

What happens with a MODEL that fails its save?

If you can answer WITHOUT the 'removing casualty' rules, that I quoted for us already, then I will concede, as you will have pointed me to a new rule.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: