Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 06:00:22
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Member of the Ethereal Council
|
So someone told me that i should bring my drop pods onto the board on impassable terrain or on a model. This way i could choose whi it goes w/o having to do a scatter roll. is that right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 06:09:03
Subject: Re:Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, IIRC, they follow normal deepstrike rules first, which means that they have to be put in a valid location. Then you roll for scatter, and they only correct should they scatter onto a model or impassable terrain. Don't have BRB handy at the moment to quote
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 06:13:11
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The rule for the Drop Pod states that you "Reduce the distance scattered" before you crash into an object.
Since you can't reduce the distance into a negative number, intentionally dropping onto impassable terrain or other models means you Mishap.
That someone was dead wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 06:44:28
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
hotsauceman1 wrote:So someone told me that i should bring my drop pods onto the board on impassable terrain or on a model. This way i could choose whi it goes w/o having to do a scatter roll. is that right?
The person wants you to mishap most times you play
You are allowed to REDUCE The scatter. You are not allowed to INCREASE the scatter from "0", a hit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 06:47:42
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
@Sigmundr:
Actually, you're allowed to deep strike on impassible terrain/enemy units/your units. You will, of course, mishap, but sometimes this is the best option. I've only used it as a tactic once, but if you really need to redeploy a squad with a repeatable deep strike, hoping for a good roll on the mishap table can actually be beneficial sometimes.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 17:06:39
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
As said, you need to choose a valid point to deep strike, as if you have an invalid point and roll a hit, you mishap. The drop pod rule only removes the problems incurred from scattering.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 17:16:30
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
One thing to add, that someone might abuse, is the 'reduce to scatter'part. If a DP is going to scatter, over and passed a friendly or enemy model, keeping going, as it might land just fine beyond its original target spot.
It took me a year to convince one player of that.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 18:48:57
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
juraigamer wrote:As said, you need to choose a valid point to deep strike, as if you have an invalid point and roll a hit, you mishap. The drop pod rule only removes the problems incurred from scattering.
Not totally true, you can choose to DS into impassible terrain and if you scatter enough you might not mishap if you move out of the terrain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/28 21:32:33
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"and roll a hit,"
Guess you missed that bit....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 02:11:11
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"and roll a hit,"
Guess you missed that bit....
I completely missed that, I blame the fact I was talking to my wife while typing this! (err not this, but that...you get the idea)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 02:32:43
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
What about if you DS with your DP and you scatter off the board? Do you reduce the distance to stay on the board or what happens?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 02:42:28
Subject: Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Marine_With_Heart wrote:What about if you DS with your DP and you scatter off the board? Do you reduce the distance to stay on the board or what happens?
Mishap. Per SM (and all SM variant) FAQ:
Q: If a Drop Pod scatters off of the board when deep
striking what happens? (p69)
A: They will have to roll on the Deep Strike Mishap
table.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/30 02:20:28
Subject: Re:Drop pod rule.
|
 |
Paladin of the Wall
|
Pods cannot chose impassable terrain or within 1 inch of an enemy model for where they start, at least for Templars. Reread the drop pod assault rules in your codex to double check. Also, if, for example, you scatter onto a rhino, you cannot choose which way to move it, as you must reduce the scatter distance (which means going towards the original landing point) and you reduce it by the minimum necessary.
|
From 3++
"Because your captain is smarter than Belial and all templar commanders ever, he doesn't discard his iron halo when you dress him up as a terminator. Remember this." |
|
 |
 |
|