Switch Theme:

Thoughs on Teleport Homers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

What's the general consensus ?

Can you avoid Deep Strike Scatter if you Teleport within 6" on an enemy Teleport Homer?

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BRB FAQ:
Q: Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my
opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as Teleport
Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse, Necron
Resurrection Orbs etc?
A: In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use the
words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your units, and
‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the other hand, some
rules clearly specify that they affect ‘friend and foe’. A
few rules are, however, slightly ambiguous as they
don’t clearly specify this distinction. As a general
principle, we recommend that you cannot use or gain
the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of
your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the
rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

No.

Games Workshop Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my
opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as Teleport
Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse, Necron
Resurrection Orbs etc?


A: In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use the
words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your units, and
‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the other hand, some
rules clearly specify that they affect ‘friend and foe’. A
few rules are, however, slightly ambiguous as they
don’t clearly specify this distinction. As a general
principle, we recommend that you cannot use or gain
the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of
your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the
rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ.



Edit: DAMN NINJAS!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/22 22:36:01


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

puma, I like your ninja better.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Fair enough but not sure that helps much, I'm always a bit concerned about things that say "As a general principle we recommend" which seems to be passing the final judgement to the players rather than laying down a specific ruling.

For example the description in the Grey Knight books says "Grey Knight Strike Squads, Interceptor Squad or models in Terminator armour"

The entries for the mystic and servo skulls however specifically mention "friendly unit".

That seems to say to me that the "always on" teleport homer is a beacon for all where as the "think about it when I want to" ability of the Mystic and the "discrete datalink" for the skull is for friends only ?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/22 22:50:53


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Magpie wrote:Fair enough but not sure that helps much, I'm always a bit concerned about things that say "As a general principle we recommend" which seems to be passing the final judgement to the players rather than laying down a specific ruling.

Then you're in a bit of a fix wherever any of GW's FAQs are concerned.

If you're accepting GW's FAQs as a guide for how the game 'should' be played, then 'we reccommend' is ultimately no different to 'do it this way'...

 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Sure I am with you on that one, thing is they they do point to the specific rule and the specific rules do indicate that it is any GK Strike Squad , an Interceptor Squad can (GK or otherwise, ok granted their are none) and any model in Terminator armour , without qualification.

So a Purgugation squad cannot benefit from a teleport homer nor can an Inquisitor unless they are wearing Terminator armour for example so too a Chaos Terminator.

The Mystic however allows all your units to home in but not the enemy's.

That seems to be specifically stating friend or foe, in fact specific friends in one case.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/23 01:51:30


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Magpie wrote:That seems to be specifically stating friend or foe, in fact specific friends in one case.

How is it specifying that your enemy can use it?

A rule that says that any model can use it is not specifying any model in particular. What the FAQ is saying is that the item has to specifically allow enemy models to use it in order for them to be able to do so. Which means it actually needs to state that all models, friend or foe (or words to that effect) are subject to its effect.


 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Sure I see that but I am taking "words to that effect" to be "Specific Unit" , "Specific Unit" , "General Model" thing is it doesn't effect all models just a few specific ones, as listed.

And with the Servo Skulls and Mystic it is specific to Friendly only.

Common sense would point towards being only able to access friendly ones, you'd think a homer would be coded so only your mates could use it or you only turn it on when you want to use it.

But that isn't always the guiding factor in 40k I am finding

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/23 02:03:05


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Astorath's special rule regarding the Red Thirst in Codex Blood Angels is an excellent example of what insaniak is talking about.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Fair enough and that rule is quite clear, would be nice if all rules were like that.

What I am thinking tho' is that that rule is more blanketing is says ALL Blood Angles where as the teleport homer only applies to very specific units and models.

You would expect that the teleport homer line should read "models in Terminator Armour (friend or foe)" or "friendly models in Terminator Armour" but it isn't as clear as that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/23 02:18:39


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Magpie wrote:
You would expect that the teleport homer line should read "models in Terminator Armour (friend or foe)" or "friendly models in Terminator Armour" but it isn't as clear as that.

It is as clear as that.
It's a permissive rules set. You have permission to use your teleport homer.
Your opponent does not have permission to use your teleport homer.
How much clearer do you need?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

rigeld2 wrote:How much clearer do you need?


Clear enough to ensure that "models in Terminator armour" actually means "friendly models in Terminator armour"

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Magpie wrote:Clear enough to ensure that "models in Terminator armour" actually means "friendly models in Terminator armour"

Thanks to the FAQ, it doesn't need to specifify friendly models.

It doesn't specifically say 'enemy' models in terminator armour, nor does it say 'models in terminator armour, friend of foe'.

If it doesn't specify, it doesn't apply to enemy models. It's that simple.

 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Simply generally recommended but fortunately logically too,

shame, would have added some real spice to have Chaos Terminators dropping out of the blue onto my libby, who is calling in the deep strikers and summoning.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/23 04:52:39


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The phrasing could have been more authoritarian, but I think the ruling is clear.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

True enough, but maybe not so clear to all and worth asking the question.

I mean the ludicrous thread on "compulsory multiple attacks" is onto the 6th page with an argument based on the difference between "can" and "must".


Automatically Appended Next Post:
OK with that one cleared up, what do we think about the process of deep striking?

Can you measure the 6" and then place your unit or do you land and hope for the best?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/23 05:10:30


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Magpie wrote:
I mean the ludicrous thread on "compulsory multiple attacks" is onto the 6th page with an argument based on the difference between "can" and "must".


Welcome to YMDC.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I believe the general consensus is that you place the model down, and then measure to see if it is within range.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Magpie wrote:Can you measure the 6" and then place your unit or do you land and home for the best?

Do you have permission to premeasure?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

In general, players are not allowed to measure any
distance except when the rules call for it (e.g. after
declaring an assault or firing at an enemy, to work out
a rule’s area of effect, when deploying their forces, etc).

I would have thought means you can measure to work out the rule's area effect and also "when deploying forces" ?

I'd think you measure the 12" deployment area THEN place your models rather than place them and then measure?

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, you measure out the deployment area, then place.

In the case of the teleport homers, the deployment rules are irrelevant.

Seriously, you're reading too much into the rules. Sometimes there are weird interactions, but most of the time it's pretty straight forward.

Please Deep Strike model. Measure for 6". If outside, scatter.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

I'm not reading too much into the rules at all mate, simply asking questions to get some feed back that's all.

"Roll for arrival of these units as specified in the
rules for reserves and then deploy them as follows."

If deep striking isn't deploying then what is it?

Thing is I am simply using that as an example of a non-combat/non-movement case where you can measure.


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Actually, in our gaming groups (and tournaments), we measure off of teleport homers/chaos icons etc. We measure out 6" and you can place there without scatter. Otherwise, you place and then roll as normal.

Never even thought about doing it a different way.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

You place then measure. If you're within 6", no scatter.

Lesser Daemons in Chaos Space Marines are a different matter; they can't be placed outside 6" of an icon, so premeasuring is necessary.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

puma713 wrote:Actually, in our gaming groups (and tournaments), we measure off of teleport homers/chaos icons etc. We measure out 6" and you can place there without scatter. Otherwise, you place and then roll as normal.

Never even thought about doing it a different way.


Yeh I was thinking along those lines too mate and was a bit surprised to see such strong contention that it is otherwise.
There really doesn't appear to be anything that stipulates the order, like with firing.

Do you do it to just the first model? or do all of them have to come within 6" ? I have seen some who say ALL models must be within the 6.

Ninja Edit: I agree with what Puma is going to say in the future about seeing and understanding a point of view without agreeing with it

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/02/23 05:51:08


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Mannahnin wrote:You place then measure. If you're within 6", no scatter.


I'm not sure I agree. The rules for teleport homer state:

". . .to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the teleport homer, then they won't scatter."

How do you choose to deep strike within 6", if you're not allowed to see if you're within 6"? Grammatically, "within 6"" is a complementing preposition describing how you're choosing to deep strike.



Edit: I should edit for clarity here. I definitely understand rigeld and Mannahnin's point-of-view. I'm just not sure I agree with it 100%.



This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2012/02/23 06:00:36


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have to chosen to deepstrike close to your models; whether that is found to be within 6" or not, you are choosing where to place the moels. Nothing in there allows you permission to measure this distance, as it is not necessary to comply with the no-scatter effect
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

Do you need to be specifically granted permission to measure a distance?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes - or it be required in order to complete a requirement, such as Lesser daemons.


Lesser daemons MUST be deployed within 6" of an icon, so you MUST measure - otherwise you risk not complying with the rules

Here if you are not within 6" you scatter, if you are within 6" you do not scatter - nothing specifically states you can premeasure, and not measuring doesnt break a rule
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: