Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 10:22:39
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Couldn't find a real answer to this...so here goes:
Can you assault over 6"? an example would be if you were in the open and about to assault...if you were less than an inch can you still finish the assault? or if you were assaulting into cover I suppose the same would apply...if you try and assault and you were less than an inch away as well...been a question I've been wondering
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 10:33:22
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
You measure from your base to the enemy. If you are 6.1" away, your tape measure won't reach the enemy, therefore you can't assault. Is that what you are asking? I don't quite get it I think...
The maximum distance most units can move during an
assault is 6". As you cannot measure the distance to
the enemy before declaring the assault, if you misjudge
the distance and the unit is unable to reach its target,
then the unit does not move and that assault is
ignored. P.33
Seems to say you can't move over 6" quite clearly
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/18 10:34:34
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 10:39:30
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
No.
You may not make an assault move that is farther than your assault move.
If you are in the open, make an assault move, and discover that your opponent is more than 6" away (or 12" if you're cavalry etc), what you have is a "Failed Assault"
Your models do not move, no assault is made.
Similarly, if you have to make a Difficult Terrain test, and don't roll high enough, No assault.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 10:40:48
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
How is this even something up for discussion? When some thing is priced at $10, do you just assume that $9 will cover the bill?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 13:39:47
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Just wanted to make sure...something an opponent keeps reading in the book stating if he was within an inch he could assault....but he is probably misreading that rule...good to know there is no leeway...cause he never seems to have a failed assault lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 13:44:01
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
What he's getting confused about is that if you stop 1' away from enemy in your movement phase and you have to make a difficult terrain test to charge, you can contact them even if you roll snake eyes on the DT test.
But you have to be 1" away from them at the before making the assault in this case, not after making your assault move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/18 13:44:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 14:19:41
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
He's probably thinking about the section that says to give the players an inch, or what not. It's basically saying to play to have fun, but it's no fun when his guys can charge 7 inches and your guys can't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/18 14:32:44
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There is a big difference between an inch and the type of distance being talked about in The Most Idiotic Rule.
If my opponent is 1/6th* of an inch out out assault range I'll happily let them assault. If they're 3/4" out of range, no way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/19 22:12:35
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
ive had it happen many many many times, where a unit s an 8th of an inch out of range for shooting, charging etc. it goes both ways, and generally speaking - if your not in range your not in range. if you start allowing the 16th of an inch is in, then its pretty easy to allow bigger and bigger gaps, untill "bah, your only an inch and a half out of range, sure the charge works!"
keep it simple. 6" = 6". not 6.1,6.2 etc.
in the grim darkness of the 41st millenium there is no decimals...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 02:01:32
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
I think the question is based on the assumption that any model within 1" of an enemy unit is assumed to be in close combat, although I can't find that in the rulebook anywhere.
But yeah, your assault move must end with at least one of your models in base to base contact (or considering model shapes/conversions etc, as close as is feasibly possible for the safety of the models), or else the assault is disallowed and you can't move them.
|
DT:70-S+++G++MB-IPw40k93#+++D++A+++/wWD001R+++T(T)DM+
10k 5k
- A sergeant in motion outranks an officer who doesn't know what the is going on.
- An ordnance specialist at a flat run outranks everybody.
- I'm not Jesus, but I can turn water into Kool-Aid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 03:17:14
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Perhaps you're thinking of the rule that models within 2" of a model in btb with a unit they are in combat with are engaged with that unit? But as you say there has to be some sort of legal move made to get them there.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/20 03:17:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 07:50:23
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Aha, I found it!
BRB p. 11 "To keep this distinction clear, a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."
That's what I was thinking of.
|
DT:70-S+++G++MB-IPw40k93#+++D++A+++/wWD001R+++T(T)DM+
10k 5k
- A sergeant in motion outranks an officer who doesn't know what the is going on.
- An ordnance specialist at a flat run outranks everybody.
- I'm not Jesus, but I can turn water into Kool-Aid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 17:11:31
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
kmdl1066 wrote:There is a big difference between an inch and the type of distance being talked about in The Most Idiotic Rule.
If my opponent is 1/6th* of an inch out out assault range I'll happily let them assault. If they're 3/4" out of range, no way.
Are those arbitrary numbers you just use? What if he is 1/4" away? 1/3"? 1/2"? Pretty cut and dry to me. If you have a 6" assault distance even 1/6 is equal to a failed assault. I wouldn't even ask permission to launch an assault if I was even a hair over 6" and my primary armies are all assault oriented.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/20 17:16:08
Subject: Assaulting over 6"?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Chesh wrote:Aha, I found it!
BRB p. 11 "To keep this distinction clear, a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."
That's what I was thinking of.
Right. I get the interpretation that this question comes from not making the distinction between a move and an assault. His opponent must be assuming that when you assault an enemy, you move the 6" (the unit's charge range) towards them. Being that you cannot be within 1" of an enemy model without being in close combat, they must have concluded that if the assault got them within that 1" range, then they get that little bit of extra range.
They must have not have read the assault rules very well
|
|
 |
 |
|