Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 04:32:57
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Kwinana, Western Australia
|
Hey all.
So the rules for the Dais state that it's "a special raider dedicated transport with three dark lances and sophisticated force shields that give it armour 13 on all sides. The Dais of Destruction must begin the game carrying nine models in addition to Vect himself. Other than this, it is treated exactly like a raider."
The part I've quoted in italics is the point of interest for me, since it can be construed as saying that everything stated previously in the paragraph is NOT subject to the rules for raiders. Which includes the part about "nine models" - it is unspecific as to whether they need be models that could usually take a raider.
So my question: could you take 9 harlequins to begin the game embarked upon the Dais with Vect?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 04:33:56
Subject: Re:Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
Dont see why not!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 04:35:34
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Sounds fine to me.
And freakin' cool.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 05:11:56
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
Yep, you can put nine models worth of whatever you want in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 07:39:30
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
Expensive but legal as far as I can see,
two points to bear in mind though,
1. You can't buy upgrades for the DoD,
2. The Veil of Tears rule will not work on the DoD while the Harlequins are embarked.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 13:33:01
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
marv335 wrote:2. The Veil of Tears rule will not work on the DoD while the Harlequins are embarked.
More correct would be to say VoT won't work on the DoD, or any other transport, ever. The transport is not the same unit as the Harlequins.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 14:01:22
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
yes you can start the game with them in it.
it's vect's transport and he needs to fill it with 9 additional models.
What I am wondering is if you can take 9 grotesques in it. It says it contains vect and 9 models. Doesnt say anything about it having a transport capacity of 10. The rule that lets you take vect and 9 models supercedes any general raider rule.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 14:06:40
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Kissimmee
|
Exergy wrote:yes you can start the game with them in it.
it's vect's transport and he needs to fill it with 9 additional models.
What I am wondering is if you can take 9 grotesques in it. It says it contains vect and 9 models. Doesnt say anything about it having a transport capacity of 10. The rule that lets you take vect and 9 models supercedes any general raider rule.
This man raises an interesting point..
I think RAW then.. yes, you can take 9 grotesques.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/18 14:07:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 14:12:17
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
"Other than this , it is treated exactly like a Raider"
Since Transport Capacity is not mentioned, it would be the same as a regular Raider, so 10 models. That means only 4 Grotesques would be able to fit, and you would need 5 models that take up a combined space of 1 model.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 08:03:03
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Kwinana, Western Australia
|
You can't take 10 grotesques because of the grotesques' Bulky rule (pg 39), which makes each count as two models for the purpose of transport capacity. Since the DoD's rules specifically state "nine models", it's technically impossible to have only grotesques with Vect - the best you could do would be 4 grots + another IC to effectively equal 9 models.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/20 08:03:52
Iyanden 2500 pts
Necrons 2500 pts
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 18:08:04
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Ulthanashville wrote:You can't take 10 grotesques because of the grotesques' Bulky rule (pg 39), which makes each count as two models for the purpose of transport capacity. Since the DoD's rules specifically state "nine models", it's technically impossible to have only grotesques with Vect - the best you could do would be 4 grots + another IC to effectively equal 9 models.
Add a haemi or Urien and that could be a scary unit. And priority target.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 20:00:50
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
However, you do not have 9 models. You are filling all 10 spots, but only have 6 models. So that also prevents you from using Grotesques as some of the models.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 20:18:42
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Happyjew wrote:However, you do not have 9 models. You are filling all 10 spots, but only have 6 models. So that also prevents you from using Grotesques as some of the models.
Doesn't the 'Bulky' rule say that they 'count as two models for transport capacity'?
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 20:20:21
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
puma713 wrote:Happyjew wrote:However, you do not have 9 models. You are filling all 10 spots, but only have 6 models. So that also prevents you from using Grotesques as some of the models.
Doesn't the 'Bulky' rule say that they 'count as two models for transport capacity'?
Yes, but the DoD rule doesn't say to be carrying 9 models worth of transport capacity - it says to be carrying 9 models.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 21:14:49
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Rigeld is correct here - you need 9 models, not 9 models worth of transport capacity
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 21:18:37
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I love how rigeld posts a similar remark as me, and he gets all the credit. Oh well, C'est la vie.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 21:20:29
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:I love how rigeld posts a similar remark as me, and he gets all the credit. Oh well, C'est la vie.
It's because I'm so much cooler. And remember, me and nos are the same person.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 21:22:01
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Forgot about that. That would explain why you are arguing with yourself on the IB - Lurk thread.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 21:30:24
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sorry happyjew, didnt spot that one
And drink explains me arguing with myself
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 22:42:12
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Not to derail the thread, but does this also mean that you can get around the Dawn of War "1 HQ and up to two Troops" deployment? If you take Asdrubael, and the DoD, you have to take nine models, but the DoW scenario says only an HQ and 2 troops can be placed on the field. Could you take 9 Incubi + Vect to get around that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 22:44:29
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
I don't think you could take incubi, but i believe you would be able to take wyches or any other troop choice and that would count as 1 HQ and 1 troop. Right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 23:00:22
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, because the Dais is a multiple unit choice - its an HQ choice, meaning you have 2 hq choices with the dais plus vect
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 23:16:15
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Interesting. so the Dais (or any other DT for that matter) counts as a troop/hq/elite/whatever choice in this scenario? Or I guess because it says unit, it means that the Troops choice +DT are two separate units?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/20 23:18:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 23:22:34
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Yes, you can have multiple units per Force Organization chart choice. The example given for Dawn of War in the main rulebook clarifies this.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 23:28:19
Subject: Dais of Destruction + Harlequins?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Gotcha. Just making sure.
|
|
 |
 |
|