Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 08:57:54
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
Ok. Played a 2v2 game last night and this interesting scenario came up.
Drop pod plops down and Marines come out.
Next enemy shooting damages Drop Pod and gets a weapon destroyed. Ok, fine.
Then, my opponents come up with this crazy rule interpretation saying that the Drop Pod is destroyed. Here's their logic:
On page 61 of the BRB, it talks about damaging vehicles. There's a note that says:
Note: A vehicle that suffers either Damaged result
when it has no weapons left and is already immobilised
treats the result as ‘Destroyed – Wrecked’ instead.
So, by their reasoning, since the Drop Pod lost its last weapon it "has no weapons left" and is, obviously, immobilized it's destroyed.
I argued against this as I KNOW this isn't the way it's supposed to be played, but the way the rules are worded it's hard to effectively argue against it. They absolutely refused to even consider my side of it, so me and my partner just went with it. I believe they were wrong. What does the denizens of YMDC say?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 09:00:17
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
This one's pretty clear, I don't get where you're thinking it's a "rule interpretation"? Your opponents were correct.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/21 09:01:29
DT:70-S+++G++MB-IPw40k93#+++D++A+++/wWD001R+++T(T)DM+
10k 5k
- A sergeant in motion outranks an officer who doesn't know what the is going on.
- An ordnance specialist at a flat run outranks everybody.
- I'm not Jesus, but I can turn water into Kool-Aid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 09:07:24
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Chesh is wrong. the OP's opponent was wrong.
Its when it suffers the next weapon destroyed result.
A vechile that suffers either damaged result WHEN it has no weapons etc.
its not A vechile that suffers either damaged result that causes it to have no weapons and is already immobilized.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/21 09:08:06
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 09:54:12
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Bloodhorror is right.
When the Drop pod suffered Weapon destroyed result, it still had a weapon left. Thus it is not destroyed.
So to recap: You need 2 Weapon Destroyed / Immobilized results to wreck Drop pod. One to destroy weapon and second to kill the drop pod.
You need 3 Weapon Destroyed / Immoblized results to kill Rhino with no upgrades / Razorback with single gun. One to immobilize, one to destroy weapon and one to kill the rhino/razorback. Las-plas requires 4 obviously.
You need 5 Weapon Destroyed / Immoblized results to kill un-upgraded Land Raider. Three to destroy weapons, one to immobilize and one to finally wreck the Land Raider.
Many people have read the rule same way as Chesh and your opponent did. Even my group did, until I pointed out that it's not what rules actually say.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 10:16:29
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
I suppose if you can't embark the vehicle and you are playing objectives and have.no Techmarines.it might as well be dead.
But if guys can get in, you are playing KP or you have a techy it matters.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 10:20:51
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Luide wrote:Bloodhorror is right.
When the Drop pod suffered Weapon destroyed result, it still had a weapon left. Thus it is not destroyed.
So to recap: You need 2 Weapon Destroyed / Immobilized results to wreck Drop pod. One to destroy weapon and second to kill the drop pod.
You need 3 Weapon Destroyed / Immoblized results to kill Rhino with no upgrades / Razorback with single gun. One to immobilize, one to destroy weapon and one to kill the rhino/razorback. Las-plas requires 4 obviously.
You need 5 Weapon Destroyed / Immoblized results to kill un-upgraded Land Raider. Three to destroy weapons, one to immobilize and one to finally wreck the Land Raider.
Many people have read the rule same way as Chesh and your opponent did. Even my group did, until I pointed out that it's not what rules actually say.
Actually, all Rhinos have a Storm Bolter automatically. So it would be something like 4 damaged to kill the Rhino with damaged. However, the Razorback doesn't, so that's correct.
|
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 10:42:36
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No it would be three.
Result 1: Immobilise or Weapon-Destroyed (Storm Bolter)
Result 2: Other result
Result 3: Destroyed - Wrecked.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/21 10:47:07
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
Yeah, I tried explaining that it's the NEXT weapon destroyed result that would cause this, but they were very adamant about NOT listening to me... considering the fact that they knew that Drop Pod was going to allow assault terminators to come right down in their ranks the next turn with no scatter...
lol, on a side note, before deciding that the vehicle was destroyed, they tried to say that the weapon destroyed result could remove the Teleporter Homer... but we debunked that real quick.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/23 12:14:55
Subject: Vehicle damage rule wording...
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Hmm... selective rules understanding to gain an advantage... irritating.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
|