Switch Theme:

HQ deployment in Dawn of War  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire





USA - Salem, OR

Is a unit such as an Eldar Jetbike Seer Council (with an HQ unit and an unlockable Warlock unit) able to deploy on the board for Dawn of War? Or would this count as 2 units? (Farseer may leave the squad and act independently if he chooses, they are NOT a retinue, but don't occupy a Force Organization slot).

Past armies 4500 pts, 4000 pts 2000 pts
current armies Space Marines 4000 pts, Eldar 3000 pts
Successful Trades: 4
Swap Shop - CSM/Demons for sale 
   
Made in no
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Oslo Norway

Two units. Force org has nothing to do with it.

DoW sucks for seer councils

   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






I'd figure its pretty clear: 1 HQ and 1 troop unit. If its not a retinue (which barely exists anymore) or a transport, nothing else gets on the board.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

If they are not an HQ, not a troop choice, and not a retinue I would expect that you could not deploy them. That's just a guess though.


 
   
Made in no
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Oslo Norway

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I'd figure its pretty clear: 1 HQ and 1 troop unit. If its not a retinue (which barely exists anymore) or a transport, nothing else gets on the board.


Transport are also units

   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Bristol

They count as a HQ choice, in the same way a rhino would count as a troops choice for the purposes of DoW.

Armies: Crimson Fists, Orks, Eldar 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I'd figure its pretty clear: 1 HQ and 1 troop unit. If its not a retinue (which barely exists anymore) or a transport, nothing else gets on the board.


Actually it's one HQ and TWO Troops units, and transports count against that limit. See the player B example in the DoW rules.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





don_mondo wrote:
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I'd figure its pretty clear: 1 HQ and 1 troop unit. If its not a retinue (which barely exists anymore) or a transport, nothing else gets on the board.


Actually it's one HQ and TWO Troops units, and transports count against that limit. See the player B example in the DoW rules.

You serious bro?
Looks like I've been playing this wrong then.
Actually whenever I play mech guard I always just leave them all in reserve and come on turn 1, but still.

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

It's right in the example. With a Chimera, even. And Multiple Unit Choices is on the immediately facing page.

People need to read the rules.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Joey wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I'd figure its pretty clear: 1 HQ and 1 troop unit. If its not a retinue (which barely exists anymore) or a transport, nothing else gets on the board.


Actually it's one HQ and TWO Troops units, and transports count against that limit. See the player B example in the DoW rules.

You serious bro?
Looks like I've been playing this wrong then.
Actually whenever I play mech guard I always just leave them all in reserve and come on turn 1, but still.


OK, bear in mind that IG get to treat an entire platoon as a single Troops unit for deployment in DoW, per the newest FAQ.

Page 96 – Infantry Platoon, second sentence
Change to “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place
of a single unit in missions that limit the number units
that can be deployed
. In addition when making a
reserve or outflanking roll, roll once for the whole
Infantry Platoon. Any units in reserve that are
embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are instead
rolled for separately.”

Suggest you run a search as I know this was discussed a good bit back when it came out.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





I knew platoons could deploy as one just not veterans w/chimeras.
There's little reason to deploy them anyway though, rather just roll on the board turn 1 and deny the enemy his shooting phase.
Did this the other day vs some 'nids and wiped out ~60% of his army in one phase, he conceded at the start of my Turn 2 Shooting Phase
So yeah I wouldn't say it was a nerf, not for guard anyway.

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




evildrspock wrote:Is a unit such as an Eldar Jetbike Seer Council (with an HQ unit and an unlockable Warlock unit) able to deploy on the board for Dawn of War? Or would this count as 2 units? (Farseer may leave the squad and act independently if he chooses, they are NOT a retinue, but don't occupy a Force Organization slot).


When it comes to DoW deployment most people seem to go by Kill Points, not by units actually. The rulebook FAQ tells you to join characters to units BEFORE they're deployed:

Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: If an Independent Character is going to begin a
game joined to a unit when should this be done? (p48)
A: You should nominate which Independent Characters
are joining units at the start of deployment before you
place any units on the board
. Note that this should be
done before you nominate which units are being held
in Reserve, Deep Strike or are Outflanking etc.


So if you join the Farseer to the Warlock unit then they're only 1 unit at the time they're placed. This is different to how the example in the rulebook says to do it, but FAQs by definition over-ride the rulebook. I'm not sure why people ignore this one but follow the IG one, but 1 HQ and 2 Troop Kill Points are how everyone seems to play it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 19:55:46


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

@Bugs_N_Orks: Yeah, that's patently wrong. I won't speak to how 'most people' play it, but the rulebook says units. So you cannot deploy a Farseer + Warlock unit in DOW.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

CaptainJay wrote:They count as a HQ choice, in the same way a rhino would count as a troops choice for the purposes of DoW.
It's not choices, it's units. Otherwise you could deploy two tactical squads combat squaded with Rhinos and it would be legal (this is two troops choices but six troops units).

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:When it comes to DoW deployment most people seem to go by Kill Points, not by units actually.

That might be the way it's done where you are, but from my experience most people go by the actual rules, which say units.

Added to which, a Farseer joined to another unit is still two Kill Points. They function as a single unit during the game, but they are still two separate units for Kill Points, and two separate units for DoW.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




pretre wrote: @Bugs_N_Orks: Yeah, that's patently wrong.
Sorry but I'm not exactly sure what you're referring to.

pretre wrote:I won't speak to how 'most people' play it, but the rulebook says units.

I totally agree.

pretre wrote:So you cannot deploy a Farseer + Warlock unit in DOW.

See, you called it a 'unit' (singular). Since they're joined before being placed I'm not seeing how they count as more than 1 unit (and again I know what the rulebook example says but the IC rulebook FAQ should over-ride that).
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:
pretre wrote: @Bugs_N_Orks: Yeah, that's patently wrong.
Sorry but I'm not exactly sure what you're referring to.

Your contention that you can deploy multiple units in DOW.


pretre wrote:So you cannot deploy a Farseer + Warlock unit in DOW.

See, you called it a 'unit' (singular). Since they're joined before being placed I'm not seeing how they count as more than 1 unit (and again I know what the rulebook example says but the IC rulebook FAQ should over-ride that).


Except that the DOW rules clearly tell you how independent characters joining a unit work. Look at the example on P93. The example deploys an IC attached to the Troop squad. Does that mean he deployed zero HQ units? Of course not.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The FAQ is explaining how ICs join units pre-game. It has nothing to do with the Dawn of War rules, which differ from the normal deployment rules.

The FAQ is there to allow you to join ICs to units that are going to use some sort of special deployment (Shrike, for example). It's not a blanket change to DoW.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




insaniak wrote: Added to which, a Farseer joined to another unit is still two Kill Points.

Hence why most people would not allow that to be deployed in DoW. My point is that people think they're going by units, but they're actually paying attention to KPs.

insaniak wrote:They function as a single unit during the game, but they are still two separate units for Kill Points, and two separate units for DoW.

Actually according to the rulebook FAQ they're a single unit before they're placed (before anything is placed actually), so aside from the rulebook example (which the FAQ clearly over-rides) is there anything anywhere that would indicate that DoW sees them as more than 1 unit (hint: Nope)
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:Hence why most people would not allow that to be deployed in DoW. My point is that people think they're going by units, but they're actually paying attention to KPs.

Except, as I just pointed out, they are also 2 Kill Points, not 1.

 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

The rules for DoW states "Player one deploys x units from his y selections". This means you look at your selections for that FOC section and pick that many units, no more. Regardless of whether or not two HQ units can combine and count as one unit during the game, you have still "deployed two units from your HQ selections". You must count the number of units that have been selected and deployed from each FOC section regardless of how they are counted DURING the game. Otherwise, by joining an HQ to a troops unit during deployment, you would either have one troop unit and no HQ, or one HQ and one less troops unit for purposes of DoW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 20:42:17


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:
insaniak wrote:They function as a single unit during the game, but they are still two separate units for Kill Points, and two separate units for DoW.

Actually according to the rulebook FAQ they're a single unit before they're placed (before anything is placed actually), so aside from the rulebook example (which the FAQ clearly over-rides) is there anything anywhere that would indicate that DoW sees them as more than 1 unit (hint: Nope)

You're just wrong here. The DOW rules override normal deployment by telling you that you must choose two troop units from your troop selections and 1 HQ unit from your HQ selections and deploy them.

The FAQ does not override that. If you attach a character (HQ) to a Troop, you have selected one HQ Unit and one Troop Unit to be deployed in DOW. If you then deploy them as one unit, they act as one unit, but you still selected two separate units to be deployed.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ninja'd by LordHat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 20:43:20


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

Illumini wrote:Two units. Force org has nothing to do with it.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

pretre wrote:Q: If an Independent Character is going to begin a
game joined to a unit when should this be done? (p48)
A: You should nominate which Independent Characters
are joining units at the start of deployment before you
place any units on the board. Note that this should be
done before you nominate which units are being held
in Reserve, Deep Strike or are Outflanking etc.

You still deployed 2 troops and an HQ units, but once the HQ is attached it is no longer a separate unit, it is a combined unit (as per P48). .


As pretre pointed out in the SoB and Acts of Faith thread, IC's join at the beginning of deployment, before placing the models down.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Happyjew wrote:
pretre wrote:Q: If an Independent Character is going to begin a
game joined to a unit when should this be done? (p48)
A: You should nominate which Independent Characters
are joining units at the start of deployment before you
place any units on the board. Note that this should be
done before you nominate which units are being held
in Reserve, Deep Strike or are Outflanking etc.

You still deployed 2 troops and an HQ units, but once the HQ is attached it is no longer a separate unit, it is a combined unit (as per P48). .


As pretre pointed out in the SoB and Acts of Faith thread, IC's join at the beginning of deployment, before placing the models down.
And?

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

They are a combined unit, but you still chose two HQs units from your HQ selections to put down, which is illegal.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




pretre wrote:Except that the DOW rules clearly tell you how independent characters joining a unit work. Look at the example on P93. The example deploys an IC attached to the Troop squad.
Except that in that example it has you deploying a unit then adding a character to it later. Since this is clearly in opposition to how the FAQ says to do it, shouldn't the FAQ take precedence?

I'm just missing why rulebook trumps FAQ here when it's typically the other way around.

pretre wrote:Does that mean he deployed zero HQ units? Of course not.

Call me crazy (many have), but I'd say yes. I'd call a Troop with an attached IC (from any slot) 1 Troop unit for DoW deployment. The character becomes a part of the unit for all other purposes. Even slot specific abilities (like claiming objectives) are conferred to the IC while he's a part of the unit (ie: if an HQ IC is joined to a Troop unit and the IC is the only model within 3" of the objective, you're still claiming the objective because your troop unit has a model within 3")
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

And I'm pretty sure you're misquoting me. Link the actual post.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Read the later posts. DOW is an exception to normal deployment since you have to choose units you want to deploy before deploying.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/03 20:51:09


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Bugs_N_Orks wrote: I'd call a Troop with an attached IC (from any slot) 1 Troop unit for DoW deployment.

The Dawn of War rules quite explicitly disagree.


Yes, they count as one unit while they are joined... for all in-game purposes except Dawn of War, because the Dawn of War rules specifically state otherwise.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/03 21:09:48


 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Dorset, Southern England

This is why Guard love DoW so much.

2 Infantry Platoons, along with Chimeras with free Searchlights?

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU-

BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.

BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant?
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: