Switch Theme:

Paladins Daemon Hammers + Quicksilver Vs. Unwieldy rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hard-Wired Sentinel Pilot





Florida

So, this little issue has come up.

A Librarian casts Quicksilver making all your paladins I 10, they all have Daemon Hammers... so do they strike at I 1? or I 10?

In 5th Ed the TH rule said no modifiers of any kind, now its simply done at I 1.

Codex > BRB in this case?

Help me out Dakka!

My Blog
Knights of Titan 500 points Primary Knights of Titan WIP Blog
Warp Angels 750 points Primary Warp Angels WIP Blog
The Eternal Crusade XXXX points Primary
DO:80s++G++M+++B++I+Pw40k10++D++A++++/fWD-R++T(D)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

They have initiative 10 for everything but the daemon hammers strike at 1, so for anything other than attacking your are initiative 10.

There is a long thread on a similar situation with banshees and power axes.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Apostle Pat wrote:So, this little issue has come up.

A Librarian casts Quicksilver making all your paladins I 10, they all have Daemon Hammers... so do they strike at I 1? or I 10?

In 5th Ed the TH rule said no modifiers of any kind, now its simply done at I 1.

Codex > BRB in this case?

Help me out Dakka!


The problem with this is that inconsistent wording and precedence have been used in the rulebook and GW's own FAQs.

From a strict rulebook wording standpoint, the unwieldily rule forces you to 'attack' at Initiative 1, which seems like a rather different concept than having the model's actual Initiative changed to I10 (which is what Quicksilver does)...in that there is no real conflict if your Initiative is 10 but you're still striking at I1...the I1 takes precedence as when you strike is what matters in combat.

However, the problem here is that the assault rules in general aren't consistent about whether you use the model's Initiative to determine when it piles in or whether you pile in at the Initiative the model is going to strike. And as soon as you start having models piling in at a different Initiative step than when they actually strike, the whole combat system starts to break down and become an even bigger cluster-F than it already is.

On top of that, GW's new Necron FAQ ruling says that Banshee Masks and Whip Coils both constitute a 'set value' and therefore have to roll-off each round of combat to see which takes precedence. Now this is annoying because Banshee Masks RAW *do* set the model's Initiative value at 10, however Whip Coils actually say that they just make enemy models 'count as' having an I of 1, regardless of their actual Initiative.

So just like the unwieldy 'attack at' I1 rule, you'd expect the Whip Coil to trump the Banshee Mask, but GW put them on equal footing and says for us to roll off.

Therefore, you really have two choices here with this issue:

1) Just assume that the unwieldy weapon rule takes precedence with 95% certainty that if GW ever rules on this matter they will go in that direction.
2) Claim that the Whip Coil vs. Banshee Mask ruling gives you precedence to roll off each round of combat for each of your models that have an unwieldy weapon and are boosted by Quicksilver to see which rule takes precedence that turn.

And if you go with the latter path, just be prepared to get into a LOT of arguments and lose a bunch of friends as people will vehemently disagree with that train of thought.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




i believe that the strikes would still take place at initiative 1, because that's what the weapon says. if you arrange it in order of effect, it would go like this;
1.) Librarian casts quicksilver
2.) Paladins are now initiative 10
3.) Paladins now check for any other existing modifiers
4.) Daemon hammer's "attack at Initiative 1" is found and applied
For all intents and purposes, the paladins are Initiative 10, they just resolve their attacks at Initiative step 1. If the paladins were attacking with weapons other than their daemon hammer, then they would actually be able to use their normal initiative for the attacks, as there was not a secondary set bonus overlapping on the first. This is simply how i explain it to myself however, and it may not make sense to some.
Unfortunately i don't think using the other FAQ is a good back up for this theory, as often times there are contradictory rulings in different FAQ'S (See the autarch VS Hive tyrant reserve rolls and the eldar psychic power selection options, when compared with all the other factions)
I bring this up only because i often run tournaments, and i like to be prepared for the WAAC guys. But i do think this needs a serious FAQ, along with the necron whip coils and initiative steps. Wonder if Tyranid lash whips will get the same treatment
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: