Switch Theme:

Master of Ordnance : Large or small template?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Primered White






I've been starting 40k and read the codex for IG. The Master of Ordnance has an attack listed as "Ordnance Barrage 1" but doesn't specify a large or small template. It does refer to scattering of -a- template, but I'm not sure what size.

I've seen posts saying the MoO is effectively a Basilisk, which implies it uses a large template, but I don't see the rule anywhere.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Hmm... you appear to be correct. It is not clarified. However the weapon stats are the same as the basilisk and the rules and points cost are too stringent for the smaller blast marker.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The new rulebook also seems to miss this bit of info off the description of Orbital Barrage...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/14 11:49:29


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Primered White






I did a google and there was some talk about a "page 58" indicating that any non-specified ordnance is automatically large template.

It's not page 58 in my codex, and the 6th edition page 58 is just pictures, so I'm assuming this is a line from 5th edition.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Look at the rules for Ordnance in the BRB. Should be there.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Helpful Sophotect





Hampshire

ArthurDubya wrote:I did a google and there was some talk about a "page 58" indicating that any non-specified ordnance is automatically large template.

It's not page 58 in my codex, and the 6th edition page 58 is just pictures, so I'm assuming this is a line from 5th edition.


Yeah, 5th Ed. said on p58 that unless specified, all "Ordnance Blast" weapons used the large blast marker.

While not exactly a source for reliable 6th Ed. rulings, unless someone knows of a similar rule in the new book it's all we have to go on.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
SlaveToDorkness wrote:Look at the rules for Ordnance in the BRB. Should be there.


The example Ordnance weapon (Battlecannon) uses the large blast special rules, but nowhere in the ordnance rules does it say to always do so for all Ordnance weapons.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/14 12:32:13


 
   
Made in us
Primered White






I know I'll play this as a large template, but I just want some hard line I can show an opposing player if he decides to question it.

Index in 6th edition points me to page 51 for "ordnance weapons", where it describes them as being huge, powerful, mounted on tanks, etc and says I get to roll two dice to penetrate a vehicle's armor and pick the highest result (hey! I didnt' know that!) but does not mention any large or small templates.

I did read elsewhere that a FAQ was posted saying the MoO fires a round similar to the stats of an Eartshaker, but I haven't been able to find this online.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I also just checked the pages for "Barrage", and the previously mentioned "is a large blast unless specified' line is not there either.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Did some more research, and a supposed link to a GW article stating the Eartshaker round=MoO round is broken. :(

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/14 12:40:41


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: