Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 17:22:32
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"Aid unlooked for" allows the lotd to re roll the scatter dice, can you still do this if you have an attacted IC (that can also DS)
Thanks
|
Dark Eldar 2500pts
Carcharodons
Enclaves 750
"We do no demographic research, we have no focus groups, we do not ask the market what it wants" - Games Workshop |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 18:03:08
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/02 06:07:46
Subject: Re:Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I dont think you can attach an IC to LOTD unit, because LOTD does not have deep strike rule.
Page 36 states that all deep striking models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule.
LOTD only has the Aid uncalled for -rule.
Thats why attached ICs has to use the basic deep strike rules, and since LOTD does not have that rule, they cant deep strike together.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/02 20:39:20
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
pG 95 Codex space marines states they always start in reserves and arrive by deepstrike.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/02 22:58:56
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
yes, but they do not have the deep strike special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/03 02:36:01
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Doesn't matter. If the codex says they can deep strike, they can deep strike. Doesn't need to be explicitly listed as a USR.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/03 06:49:49
Subject: Re:Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Of course LOTD can deep strike, in fact they have to. But an IC can not deep strike with them.
Rulebook page 36:
"In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule"
If an IC wants to join a unit and deep strike with them, the IC and all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule.
LOTD does not have Deep Strike Special rule, so an IC can not use his Deep Strike rule to deep strike with them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 06:51:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/03 12:46:42
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ah that makes sense.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/03 13:11:36
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Pg numbers and a rules explanation would have been helpful. Especially in the case where you're wrong.
Answer looks like a solid no, based off the explanations listed above.
Entire unit does not have the DS USR.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/03 17:28:05
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Pg numbers and a rules explanation would have been helpful. Especially in the case where you're wrong.
Answer looks like a solid no, based off the explanations listed above.
Entire unit does not have the DS USR.
Indeed... BRB. pg 36.. In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all rnodels in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.
Codex... pg 95. Aid Unlooked For: The Legion of the Damned always start the game in reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike.
Now, it seems to me that the LOTD has the Deep Strike Rule, otherwise by pure RAW, since it doesnt have the Deep Strike USR it cannot Deep Strike by the rules above, which is a silly interpretation. Terminators also do not have the DS rule, but I would say that they would meet the requirements to DS despite not having the specific DS rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 11:41:04
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 12:16:29
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Flinty wrote:The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading 
Except Space wolf TDA doesn't grant Deep Strike, so not all. lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 14:33:50
Subject: Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Flinty wrote:The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading 
Thats the point Flinty. Lots of things can DS, but there are several that do not have the DS USR. And claiming they cannot DS because they dont have the DS USR is kinda silly. Reading the new Chaos Codex, they have changed Terminator armor to simply granting the DS USR, so it should be cleared up with the new codexes.
|
|
 |
 |
|