Switch Theme:

Legion of the Damned - re roll scatter with IC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




"Aid unlooked for" allows the lotd to re roll the scatter dice, can you still do this if you have an attacted IC (that can also DS)

Thanks

Dark Eldar 2500pts
Carcharodons
Enclaves 750

"We do no demographic research, we have no focus groups, we do not ask the market what it wants" - Games Workshop 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes.
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




I dont think you can attach an IC to LOTD unit, because LOTD does not have deep strike rule.

Page 36 states that all deep striking models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule.
LOTD only has the Aid uncalled for -rule.

Thats why attached ICs has to use the basic deep strike rules, and since LOTD does not have that rule, they cant deep strike together.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

pG 95 Codex space marines states they always start in reserves and arrive by deepstrike.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




yes, but they do not have the deep strike special rule.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Doesn't matter. If the codex says they can deep strike, they can deep strike. Doesn't need to be explicitly listed as a USR.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




Of course LOTD can deep strike, in fact they have to. But an IC can not deep strike with them.

Rulebook page 36:
"In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule"

If an IC wants to join a unit and deep strike with them, the IC and all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule.

LOTD does not have Deep Strike Special rule, so an IC can not use his Deep Strike rule to deep strike with them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 06:51:37


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ah that makes sense.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA



Pg numbers and a rules explanation would have been helpful. Especially in the case where you're wrong.

Answer looks like a solid no, based off the explanations listed above.

Entire unit does not have the DS USR.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:


Pg numbers and a rules explanation would have been helpful. Especially in the case where you're wrong.

Answer looks like a solid no, based off the explanations listed above.

Entire unit does not have the DS USR.



Indeed... BRB. pg 36.. In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all rnodels in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.

Codex... pg 95. Aid Unlooked For: The Legion of the Damned always start the game in reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike.


Now, it seems to me that the LOTD has the Deep Strike Rule, otherwise by pure RAW, since it doesnt have the Deep Strike USR it cannot Deep Strike by the rules above, which is a silly interpretation. Terminators also do not have the DS rule, but I would say that they would meet the requirements to DS despite not having the specific DS rule.

   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Flinty wrote:
The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading


Except Space wolf TDA doesn't grant Deep Strike, so not all. lol
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Flinty wrote:
The unit might not be listed with the DS USR, but I thought Terminator Armour gave any model wearing it the USR. Damn this whole work thing getting in the way of my rulebook reading


Thats the point Flinty. Lots of things can DS, but there are several that do not have the DS USR. And claiming they cannot DS because they dont have the DS USR is kinda silly. Reading the new Chaos Codex, they have changed Terminator armor to simply granting the DS USR, so it should be cleared up with the new codexes.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: