Switch Theme:

Fliers Crashing  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Montain Home, Ar

You have 2 fliers zooming, so 18" minimum. Their flight paths intersect at the end of them. Can the fliers accidentally crash into each other?

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Sorry, reading the post properly, (not missing out at the end part), I dont think so, if they are on the same army?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/21 16:00:19


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







You can't ram with fliers, but you also can't have them co-existing in space, so one of them will have to move more than 18". If they are both on locked velocity, choose which one you want to lose

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 danpieri wrote:
Can the fliers accidentally crash into each other?
Are they both stunned? If not, they can just turn. Otherwise, you still get to decide the order they move in (even if they're in a unit together), so one would be clear. The second would have a problem.
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Auburn WA USA

Any zooming flier that can't move at combat speed is destroyed. Friendly models can move into contact with each other; Enemy models must stay 1" away from friendly models in the movement phase.

That's all we need to know, right?

Bugs and Greenskins FTW! 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






18" minimum move, so just move one 18 and move the other to clear it. You'll lose some fire power from one, but tou'll know better next time to plan air routes better...
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
18" minimum move, so just move one 18 and move the other to clear it. You'll lose some fire power from one, but tou'll know better next time to plan air routes better...
You lose firepower from a Flyer that zooms more than 18 inches?

P.80 disagrees with you.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Oklahoma City

Unless I'm misunderstanding something....


Ork player A had a dakkajet

IG player B had a vendetta


both have locked velocity and will intersect....


Which plane cannot be placed and is destoryed?

Wouldn't it be whoever has to move their plane 2nd?


Ie.

Ork player had first turn... so his T3, movez his locked velocity jet to the soon to be coexisting space...

IG T3 he moves his flyer to same place and since it cannot be placed, it crashes?


I suppose the question was more aimed at if one player had 2 flyers that were going to intersect.... which... I suppose the 2nd one to be moved would wreck? so just your choice which you move first?

That one is tricky!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/21 21:10:16


http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/472615.page#4701031 LAND HOOOOOOO! my freeboota blog (can look me up on the-waaagh and da warpath same username)... Currently in the the midst of adventure into night goblin squig cult



hi daoc friends this is beeyawnsay c: 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

If they both have Locked Velocity, the second one moved would be wrecked.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





As above, I cant see a issue with two friendly flyers in the same space though,

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

You should watch that thought provoking documentary Top Gun.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

MarkyMark wrote:
As above, I cant see a issue with two friendly flyers in the same space though,

What if, theoretically, both had locked velocity and were placed perfectly so that they'd intersect - at that point, you'd have to choose which to move first, and which to lose.

   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Heh.. not only does 40k enforce a hard deck below which aicraft cannot engage, it has a hard ceiling as well

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Uh, guys? Locked velocity fixes your speed. It doesn't prevent you from turning, which will usually solve these sorts of issues.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Right, it's a Stunned result that stops them turning.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Andilus Greatsword wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
As above, I cant see a issue with two friendly flyers in the same space though,

What if, theoretically, both had locked velocity and were placed perfectly so that they'd intersect - at that point, you'd have to choose which to move first, and which to lose.

/
Why would you lose one?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

MarkyMark wrote:
 Andilus Greatsword wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
As above, I cant see a issue with two friendly flyers in the same space though,

What if, theoretically, both had locked velocity and were placed perfectly so that they'd intersect - at that point, you'd have to choose which to move first, and which to lose.

/
Why would you lose one?

If, for some unavoidable reason, both flyers had to end their move at the same space you'd only lose 1 because they're not moving at the same time. 1 moves first and finishes its movement there. The other then moves because it has to, but because it can't complete its movement, it's destroyed. The odds of this happening are pretty astronomical, but were it to happen then this would be the result.

   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
You should watch that thought provoking documentary Top Gun.

Talk to me Goose.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Andilus Greatsword wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
 Andilus Greatsword wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
As above, I cant see a issue with two friendly flyers in the same space though,

What if, theoretically, both had locked velocity and were placed perfectly so that they'd intersect - at that point, you'd have to choose which to move first, and which to lose.

/
Why would you lose one?

If, for some unavoidable reason, both flyers had to end their move at the same space you'd only lose 1 because they're not moving at the same time. 1 moves first and finishes its movement there. The other then moves because it has to, but because it can't complete its movement, it's destroyed. The odds of this happening are pretty astronomical, but were it to happen then this would be the result.


But i still dont think you would lose the second friendly flyer, as the bases are only measured to and from at certain times, being within 1inch of a friendly unit is not one of those times. As ythey are in a un defined space above the table, is there a entry that says two models cannot occupy the same space? and that doesnt preclude measuring to and from the base?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

you're forbidden to "stack" bases, even for flyers (it's specifically stated that units can't go on the base of flying models).
If flyers could do that, what would prevent a player to stacking his miniatures on each other's bases as long as they can fit ?

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Because for fliers bases are ignored in regards to friendly, other units they are not. Nothing in the rule book says you cannot put another friendly unit on a flyer base as it is ignored except for enemys have to be 1inch away. Also says bases are only used for embark disembark and assault,

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




MarkyMark wrote:
As ythey are in a un defined space above the table, is there a entry that says two models cannot occupy the same space? and that doesnt preclude measuring to and from the base?
First, flyers are not in "undefined space" above table. Flyers are exactly where the model physically is. As for the actual rule regarding flyers:Models that physically fit under a Flyer model can move beneath it.Likewise, a Flyer can end its move over such models. (page 89). Can't fit the second flyer physically under the first one? Boom it goes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/22 11:10:59


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





As the base is ignored, just take the base off. IF flyers are in a defined space above the table, how comes flyers that are zooming are the same as flyers that are in hover mode.


Where in the BRB can two fliers not be in the same place?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Their bases are ignored, but their hulls aren't. If the two hulls are trying to be in the same place then the second flyer can't be placed. Its in the movement rules, same place that says you can't ahve your Heavy Weapon Team sitting on top of your Leman Russ.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nothing in the movement phase rules to say that?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




MarkyMark wrote:
As the base is ignored, just take the base off.
You have no permission to remove base from the model during play. Also, The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base they are supplied with. (page 3)
MarkyMark wrote:
IF flyers are in a defined space above the table, how comes flyers that are zooming are the same as flyers that are in hover mode.
How come? Because that is what the rules say. As far as the model is concerned, there is no difference between Zooming flyer and hovering one.
MarkyMark wrote:
Where in the BRB can two fliers not be in the same place?
Two places, Flyer rules that I quoted in my previous post and movement rules.

All texts in orange are direct rules quotes.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Removing the base fine, knew that rule but still no rule to say two flyers cant be in the same place right?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

MarkyMark wrote:
Removing the base fine, knew that rule but still no rule to say two flyers cant be in the same place right?
The Laws of physics say that.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

You have permission to put models under a flyer, if they physically fit underneath the flyer. Page 80.
Given that they bothered to put in the limitation that you can only do it if they physically fit, it's pretty obvious you can't do it if they don't fit.
Given that currently all flyer bases are the same height, no flyer can ever be under another flyer.

Interestingly, I couldn't find a rule that says you can't have a dev squad standing on top of a rhino. Might be useful if you need elevation for line of sight.

-Matt


 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

HawaiiMatt wrote:
You have permission to put models under a flyer, if they physically fit underneath the flyer. Page 80.
Given that they bothered to put in the limitation that you can only do it if they physically fit, it's pretty obvious you can't do it if they don't fit.
Given that currently all flyer bases are the same height, no flyer can ever be under another flyer.

Interestingly, I couldn't find a rule that says you can't have a dev squad standing on top of a rhino. Might be useful if you need elevation for line of sight.

-Matt

You have no allowance to climb the side of the rhino, or land on top of another model.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: