Switch Theme:

Preferred Enemy Vs. Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

You just get to reroll 1's on misses right? Not 1's on armor pen?

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You re-roll 1's on to hit and to wound, not to pen.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Correct.
If your unit really hates vehicles it's a different special rule... tank hunter.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

I'm not even sure anymore. I think one could try and argue it either way.

Vehicles taking invul saves? Invuls can only be taken to wounds. RAW, but that's not how it's played. With this we have equated wounds~pens/glances

Why can't reroll to wound be equated to reroll to pen?

It's been done with templates that are twinlinked now.

   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

We can't equate wounds to pen/glance rolls as there is no permission to do so.

Twin linked is to do with hitting in general, it improves your ability to hit things but since templates hit automatically they improved your effectiveness to inflict damage.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
We can't equate wounds to pen/glance rolls as there is no permission to do so.

Twin linked is to do with hitting in general, it improves your ability to hit things but since templates hit automatically they improved your effectiveness to inflict damage.


Twin linked for flamers is to do with pens/glances.

There's no permission to equate wounds to pens/glances and yet we do so don't we?
Otherwise DE/SoB stuff got a bit worse.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/14 18:12:08


   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I'm sorry but the rules did make an exception for Bjorn. As to the sisters... GW don't care. At least not until they can get some plastic sisters kits to sell. The DE looks like specific permission to have a save but not what you can make it against.

Even if the DE have RAW permission to make the invulnerable saves like Bjorn THIS does not equate wounds with pen rolls.

Twin linked gave them a re-roll in a VERY SPECIFIC CASE, this is cause every other weapon with twin linked had a buff that applied to every target that it was fired at so they gave flamers the ability to re-roll the dice for wounds and for penetration so that flamers that are twin linked could do improved damage to both types of models. This doesn't mean that the pen roll is a to wound roll. Re-rolls to wound are still just re-rolls to wound, nothing more and nothing less. Benefits when it comes to killing vehicles are different rules such as armour bane or tank hunter.

I don't play many dark eldar so I don't ever have to play it in the HIWPI manner you describe. All the saves that vehicles get in the brb are cover saves, same for tau, IG, etc etc. I haven't got a copy of the sisters codex to check what they say but maybe email gw and see if the next faq batch will cover that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/14 18:38:05


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I agree - RAW they're separate.

RAI is a little more fuzzy... It's obvious that vehicles should be able to take invul saves against pens/glances, and that Hive Guard should ignore cover against all targets (not just non-vehicles) that meet the requirement...

Essentially it comes down to - RAI sometimes wounds are equivalent to pens/glances, sometimes they're not.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, RAI vehicles can take Invulns.

However wounds are still =/= pen rolls no matter how you try to make it so.

Doing that messes lots of things up, like things with Shred or Fleshbane.


If by this logic, rolling to wound = rolling to pen, then Fleshbane would always pen on a 2+

So you see there is a very good reason for keeping the 2 things not equal to each other.

Or at the very least they are only equal to each other for the purpose of rolling Invulnerable and Cover saves.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

 Grey Templar wrote:
Or at the very least they are only equal to each other for the purpose of rolling Invulnerable and Cover saves.
Or more literally, the removal of a hull point.
They are rather equivalent.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, RAI vehicles can take Invulns.

However wounds are still =/= pen rolls no matter how you try to make it so.

Doing that messes lots of things up, like things with Shred or Fleshbane.


If by this logic, rolling to wound = rolling to pen, then Fleshbane would always pen on a 2+


Man, if only Fleshbane did not specifically state that it has no effect on vehicles. Then we could argue this (and armourbane) all day long...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: