Switch Theme:

[EPIC] - New Player Rules Help  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Gods Country - ENGLAND

So the other night we played our first game of Epic 40k. We left out all flyers and the big War Engines (although both sides had small War Engines) to make things a bit simpler. Armies were 3750 each. I've no doubt we did a few things wrong, but some of the issues we remember having with "Must check that on Dakka" are below and any help any experienced players can bring is appreciated.

Broken Units.

So I understand that when the No. of Blast Markers = the number of units in a formation, they are broken. If I have a unit in a Chimera, does this count as 1 unit, or 3 when determining Blast Markers?

If a unit becomes broken through being shot at, what happens? The book just says they become broken. Do they need to withdraw? Can I give them an order? If they have already been activated that turn, can they still withdraw if they are required to? We played it that once they become broken, they imediately perform a withdrawl, regardless or not if they had already been activated. If they had not been activated then effectively they lost their turn, if they had then they got an extra turn through the withdrawl. Then, only in the end phase could they be rallied. It worked as we didn't know what to do, but we both felt this wasn't right.

Another one we had was were a unit broke after CC, so had to withdraw. Can the infantry load up into their transports before making the withdrawl? Makes sense to us but again, wern't sure from the rules.

Shooting

Can a unit fire all its listed weapons? E.g., a Leman Russ has 3 weapons, can it fire them all in the same activation? If yes, can it then split its fire so the AT hits vehicles, and the AP weapons hits Infantry. We thought yes to both, but it does make it a rather powerful unit.

Assault & Cover
A Formation of Infantry is being cowerdly and hiding in a building. My 'ard Boyz perform an Engage action to get into CC. Does the units already in cover gain any benefits for doing so? I.e. in 40k a unit in cover hits first, that type of thing. We couldn't find anything in the rules to say they do.

I'm sure more questions will come up as we play a few more games, but for now, the above is what stuck as needed answers to. Overall it was a quite enjoyable, one of the more fun aspects was deciding wether or not to hold the iniative. My opponent managed to hold x5 times (needed 6 on the last time) before deciding that rolling x2 6's on the go would be pushing her luck.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/04 10:48:09


A bit of everything really....... Titanicus, Bolt Action, Cruel Seas, Black Seas, Blood Red Skies, Kingdom Death, Relic Knights, DUST Tactics, Zombicide the lit goes on............. 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




 TheSecretSquig wrote:
Broken Units.

So I understand that when the No. of Blast Markers = the number of units in a formation, they are broken. If I have a unit in a Chimera, does this count as 1 unit, or 3 when determining Blast Markers?

You count every unit in the formation so 3.

If a unit becomes broken through being shot at, what happens? The book just says they become broken. Do they need to withdraw? Can I give them an order? If they have already been activated that turn, can they still withdraw if they are required to? We played it that once they become broken, they imediately perform a withdrawl, regardless or not if they had already been activated. If they had not been activated then effectively they lost their turn, if they had then they got an extra turn through the withdrawl. Then, only in the end phase could they be rallied. It worked as we didn't know what to do, but we both felt this wasn't right.

When formation breaks, they immediately get to withdraw. Whether you activated them this turn does not count. Once they are broken they cannot be activated this turn so they effectively lost their turn if they have not activated this turn already. Do note that withdrawal allows two moves and if you end the withdrawal within 15cm of enemy you are killed automatically.

Another one we had was were a unit broke after CC, so had to withdraw. Can the infantry load up into their transports before making the withdrawl? Makes sense to us but again, wern't sure from the rules.

Yes. Withdrawal allows two moves, so first move the transports can pick the infantry and at the end of second move they can drop them off again.

Shooting

Can a unit fire all its listed weapons? E.g., a Leman Russ has 3 weapons, can it fire them all in the same activation? If yes, can it then split its fire so the AT hits vehicles, and the AP weapons hits Infantry. We thought yes to both, but it does make it a rather powerful unit.

You can fire all weapons. Only in cases there is or (such as Basilisk or Eldar Titan weapons) you can choose either which one per shooting (Basilisk) or before the game (Eldar Titan weapons). You can divide the targeting of AP and AT per weapon, so for example Warhound has to decide with vulcan to fire 4 AP or 4 AT but not 2AP and 2AT. In case of Leman Russ you can fire (assuming you have range and LOS): 2 * AP (heavy bolters), 1 * AT (lascannon) and 1 AP or AT (battle cannon, note that you have to decide which way before rolling).

Assault & Cover
A Formation of Infantry is being cowerdly and hiding in a building. My 'ard Boyz perform an Engage action to get into CC. Does the units already in cover gain any benefits for doing so? I.e. in 40k a unit in cover hits first, that type of thing. We couldn't find anything in the rules to say they do.

Defender get the cover save from cover. So they would get the 4+ save. Note that the -1 to-hit does not count in assaults.

I'm sure more questions will come up as we play a few more games, but for now, the above is what stuck as needed answers to. Overall it was a quite enjoyable, one of the more fun aspects was deciding wether or not to hold the iniative. My opponent managed to hold x5 times (needed 6 on the last time) before deciding that rolling x2 6's on the go would be pushing her luck.

It's good that you liked and I suggest you keep on playing. I find E:A to be most enjoyable game.

Rare Earth: Conflict - comments and/or help wanted 
   
 
Forum Index » Other 40K/30K Universe Games
Go to: