Switch Theme:

Scouts USR and "Redeployment"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores






Hey Dakka, had a bit of a rules debate last night and wanted to know what the right way to play it was.

So the Dark Angel player used the Scouts special rule on his Ravenwing biker squad and proceeded to redeploy them 12" over, past his deployment zone.

I disagreed with this, saying that it was a "re-deploy", i.e, you had to stay in your deployment zone.

His rebuttal was that because it says under the Scout special rule "anywhere within 6" (or 12") of its current position" (Parenthesis is my own) he is allowed to redeploy outside of his deployment zone.

We decided to play it his way, but I'm still unsure as to how this was meant to be played.

Thanks for the help.

   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

As long as he started in his deployment zone, then it's fine. Emphasis on the word "anywhere" in the rule.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







If you needed to stay within the deployment zone it would state that specifically. As it stands, "anywhere" means just that.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

And the fact that it also prohibits you from assaulting in the first turn is another reason to believe it would allow you to move your units closer. However, the fine gentlemen above have already nailed it.

 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





But it must be still kept in mind, it is not a move so there will be no jink save's for the bikes.

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





And you have to stay 12inches away from opposing models, normally its not a issue as there is always a 24inch gap between the two armies, so a 12inch move will always be 12inches away but infiltrate moves are done before scout moves, so infiltrate out of LOS of his units so he cannot scout forwards, or infiltrate 18inchs away in LOS so he can only scout 6inches forwards.


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: