Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 03:33:11
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
Lodi ca
|
I apologize if this has been answered I searched. Does the skaen doom wheel only shoot its lightning through its front arc? Or can it be 360 around the model for purposes of closest unit? Thnx for any help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 09:08:31
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Shooting is front arc unless given an exception, from memory - so does it have an exception?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 09:31:27
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Although, assumingnitbis a lone model, it may be forced to turn towards the closest unit (ie if the rule says shoot the closst unit rather than "shoot the closest unit in your front arc").
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 09:57:54
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Each warp lightning bolt has a 18" range and will strike the nearest unit (friend of foe) regardless of terrain and line of sight
(if the first bolt kills the closest unit, then work out the second closest, etc)
So you can shoot lightning out your a**!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 12:45:33
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
LOS != Arc of Sight. Two entirely different concepts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 13:55:19
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Yes Nosferatu, and The Lightning bolts are not a regular shooting attack/magic missile nor do they follow the regular shooting rules
It is measured from the Doomwheel, but it might as well be thunderbolts striking down from the sky as far as rules are concerned
The Skaven book is full of toys and rules that weren't really translated in 8th edition rules (ie. you can "target" the Scorch spell at an enemy unit in CC for instance)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 14:13:17
Subject: Re:Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
Lodi ca
|
Shooting 360 at closest unit is how we played it the rules were not that clear thnx for the help any other insight is always welcome.
thank you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 15:02:52
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
OK, so prove that it has an exception to the shooting rules requiring you to shoot inside your front arc. Page and graph fgrom the skaven book / FAQ will be sufficient, thanks
I'm aware of some of the discrepancies, however in Scorch case that is actually as case of a change in restriction based on type, as opposed to here where there is a NEW restriction in place
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 15:52:15
Subject: Re:Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
No need for that tone Nosferatu  I don't want that to degenerate into a mud brawling contest
I base my reasoning on the fact that every shooting weapon in the Skaven arsenal is very clear on how it is shooting, that is:
WLC = treated as a cannon
PWM = treated as a stone thrower
WFT = treated as a Fire thrower
Ratling = very specifically says it can turn on the spot, that you have to nominate a visible target
Jezzails/globadiers = direct references to the BRB for shooting rules
Doomwheel = full of exceptions:
hitting units in CC
"shooting" while in CC
ignores LOS and terrain
Is not specifically a shooting attack / magic missile + Doesn't have a weapon profile
Also I dug up the 7th edition BRB (to which those rules were linked), where a unit can see what is in his "line of sight" defined by his front arc minus obstructions
Agreed it might need an FAQ, but it is clearly designed as shooting all around
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/06 09:28:05
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There was no tone - it was asking you to back up your argument with rules.
There is a split in 8th edition between LOS and Arc of Sight. Ignoring one does NOT allow you to ignore the other.
It is frankly irrelevant, from a rules perspective, what it was designed as. Currently it may only shoot in its front arc, as it has no exception to the rules stating otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/06 23:46:06
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Except that it is a lone model, so can freely swivel.
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 01:12:10
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
What does being able to wheel have to do with shooting?
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 09:44:23
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
That they don't have a set front arc in the way which units do.
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 10:34:48
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, they have a set front arc, but can pivot during moving as they wish.
That does not alter that WHEN it shoots, it only shoots in its front arc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 13:56:48
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Interesting. I assumed that war machines swivelling was just a reiteration of this rule, but do you think it is seperate?
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 13:59:40
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Correct.
The free pivots for lone models is during moves.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 14:36:55
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Niteware wrote:Interesting. I assumed that war machines swivelling was just a reiteration of this rule, but do you think it is seperate?
Yes, because the rules for warmachines has a specific allowance to pivot while shooting. There is NO SUCH allowance in the rules for lone models. Ergo, while shooting, they are unable to pivot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 14:52:59
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Hmmm. So for the OP, does the doom wheel say nearest legal target or nearest unit? It seems to break just about every rule for shooting already...
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 15:17:45
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nearest target has to be nearest legal target, by definition. It isnt giving you specific permission to break the requirement to fire within Arc of Sight, so you have to fire within Arc of Sight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 16:53:43
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Niteware wrote:Hmmm. So for the OP, does the doom wheel say nearest legal target or nearest unit?
Just to clarify, are you asking if the rules allow the targeting of an illegal target? How could that possibly be a rule?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 16:54:02
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 22:21:18
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
No, I was asking if it said the closest unit (which does imply that it could be 360ยบ) or if it used some other language to indicate targets.
Given that this is a unique unit type, assuming that it follows standard rules seems like a bit of a jump. Especially since it can target friends and units in cc.
If it says "the closest unit", what gives you the right to add caveats?
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/07 23:22:47
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The fact you are not given any permission to ignore the normal requirements?
You only get to do things when given permission. Find permission to targt an illegal target, i.e. one outside your front arc. Page and para will suffice
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 01:16:45
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Counter: if it says nearest unit, show where that is restricted ie where it says the nearest target in your front arc.
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 07:26:53
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Niteware wrote:Counter: if it says nearest unit, show where that is restricted ie where it says the nearest target in your front arc.
The doom wheel is the closest unit to the doom wheel. It always shoots itself.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 08:03:07
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
What if the weapon is not on its front arc of sight though?
Wheel has 3.
Both sides and one at the front.
Would be nice if this was the case though and could only shoot forwards, as i wouldnt need a suicide unit beside it to protect my stormvermin.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 09:00:07
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Niteware wrote:Counter: if it says nearest unit, show where that is restricted ie where it says the nearest target in your front arc.
Your counter ignores jhow the rules actually work
You have to have permission to do anything, and in order to override a restriction you must have specific permission to do so. You are only given permission to fire at units in your front arc Find permission, explicit, to fire at units NOT in your front arc. You can only shoot at unit you have LOS to - you HAVE specific permission to override that requirement.
So your counter doesnt hold, as it gives no permission to fire at units outside front arc. You need to find this permission. Failure to do so means you have to follow the rules for shooting as normal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 04:21:43
Subject: Re:Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
Lodi ca
|
Interesting discussion so as a newer player it seems the Doom wheel must shoot in its front arc only? The wording for who it shoots at is nearest unit that makes no sense it would shoot itself? Really fairly new to the game but thnx for the help. I was hoping that some skaven players would chime in how they handle it :}
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 07:24:39
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I am a skaven player, I was just pointing out the current rules that cover this
If you then decide to alter the rules that is fine, you just need to know that not everyone would play that way
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 07:58:44
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Being "limited" to the forward arc is generally highly beneficial
Not that you'd care about frying a few rats/slaves, but you'd care about wasting those precious zzzaps!
As many things in the Skaven armybook, the rules are not that clear cut and there's a lot of shady areas
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 13:18:21
Subject: Skaven Doom Wheel question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Meh, I would argue the rules ARE clearcut; if you JUST read 8th edition, and the separation of arc from LOS, then without kniwing what you USED to be able to do you would always come to the current RAW conclusion - you just Zzap to the front.
Every edition change brings these questions, especially such an overhaul as 7th to 8th. Similar query with the new Eldar codex with people asking if taking two weapons the same on a wraithlord makes them Twin Linked, whcih was a rule only in the old codex. Without that fore knowledge you would have no reason to think two weapons the same means twin linked.
|
|
 |
 |
|