Switch Theme:

Can I charge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Auburndale FL

If this is the set up can the Horde unit charge under the rule of enemy closing the door when you can not by wheeling the left front into the enemy and having the enemy close door bringing along its own combat or can it not.



Thanks

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/18 06:50:35


 
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

The enemy unit's already in CC, so it shouldn't have to move to accomodate your charge, thus if your initial wheel (from the front right corner, trying to avoid your engaged unit) bumps into your own engaged unit, you fail your charge

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Auburndale FL

I think that is probably the way it works but it seems odd

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

If that is to scale, no the charge could no be completed.

If you were farther away you could as you could wheel and move forward to contact.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

Charges are already stupidly easy to complete in 8th edition as you only measure closest to closest and then "teleport" into CC without taking into account the 15" wheel that your big horde needs to complete
It's the only small thing you have to plan for, obstructions

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The one wheel makes them very tricky. You plop a sad little gnoblar with a tummy ache in between 5000 screaming ogres and 10000 screaming Daemons then neither one can get at each other for a round.

I like the concepts of redirectors and feingts and such, but some armies simply can't do it.

   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Yes you can, the free wheel you get does not have to be forward, so just wheel back until the angle takes your other unit out of the way then move in
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

Page 14, "Units are not allowed to wheel backwards"

 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




i stand corrected
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

i agree with the no.

if you have range, then you can charge and ignore range and distance of your wheel, but are still restricted to following normal movment rules.

as such, you would have to wheel piviting on the left side, but the right side would clip into the friendly unit, thereby stopping the charge. worse, as a failed charge your unit will now move forwards by the amount shown on the highest dice, placing you in an even more tricky location.

(question: if your highest dice was a 5 and the friendly unit is 4" away, do you 'bouce' out the back of the combat and take DT checks? or stop 1" away?)

i think the only thing to do here, is instead of declaring a charge, declare a reform into something like a 5 front with a ton of ranks. then next turn make your charge. if you win combat you can reform to maximize your front ranks (providing you dont get charged in the side or rear after you charge in)

if both units declared the charge in the same turn, it DOES matter who moves first. so next time move your gigantic horde into posistion first, then move the MC. he may only get into a corner or something, but at least that way both units get in.

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

You stop 1" away from the intervening unit
If both units declare a charge at the same time, the big unit might still possibly be blocked, especially if it's something like 1" behind the blocker and the blocker is only 1" away from the target (and the target is not very wide, so you have to stay in the middle to maximize), the wheel might still not be possible

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you declare at the same time you maximise *both* units that are charging, not just the first one to move.
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

True that, but it might still happen that you're blocking yourself, rarely, but it might happen

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Oh indeed, however I was pointing out that you cannot fail just because the first unit moved has taken up all the room (i.e. 7 wide 20mm charging 5 wide 20mm) through maximising.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
If you declare at the same time you maximise *both* units that are charging, not just the first one to move.


Same turn you mean. You can't declare 2 charges at the same time.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gah, true, true - declare two charges during the same declare charges subphase
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: