Switch Theme:

Is the Neuroweb System Jammer "shot"?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




The NSJ is a Support System targets a unit in the shooting phase, but doesn't have strength or AP, and doesn't roll to hit. If I put it on a suit with a CnC node and/or an MSS would I be able to use all of them, as they are only allowed if the model doesn't shoot? This is mostly for a non-expansion Farsight Bomb.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is a weapon, so ye s it is "shot"

Markerlights similarly have no strength or AP, doesnt by itself preclude them from being a shooting attack
   
Made in gb
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




What about the fact that you buy it in support systems?

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Post full rules here.

Iirc It happens at the start of your opponents shooting phase, you nominate a unit within 12 inches.

As it happens on your opponents turn it doesn't matter during your own shooting phase.
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

It is an ability not a shot. You nominate a single enemy unit to be affected.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







My understanding is that it produces a non-damage effect and it doesn't preclude the firing of any other weapons, so it is not a shooting attack.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I don't see any reason it would be considered a weapon. Seems pretty clear cut that you can use the other two systems as well as the jammer.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

As others have pointed out, it is just a piece of war-gear that grants you the ability to do something. The only way it would be disallowed is if the special rule clearly stated that it could only be used if you did or didn't do something during the previous phases or turn. Given that no such wording exists in the rule, there is no grounds to disallow it's use just because you used a piece of war-gear that substitutes it's own special rule for shooting a weapon during your shooting phase. This is not unique either as there are many instances of rules that have limitations along the lines of 'you can not use this rule if you did X during the previous phase.'

The lack of such wording, right after giving you permission to do an action outside of your turn at that, means it matters not what you did during your turn.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/10 20:45:51


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: