Switch Theme:

If you put one of Al'rahem's untis in a vendetta does that make the ven outflank?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




As above.

I am interested if we can come to an agreement on this.

Al'rahem does not give the platoon Infiltrate (which only transfers to dedicated transports (pg 38)) or Scout (which confers the Outflank special rule (pg 41) or even the Outflank USR itself (which would give them the option to choose to declare they are ouflanking during the deployent phase (pg 40)).

Al'rahem's rule is simply “Stalk the Enemy: Any unit that is part of Al'rahemn's Infantry Platoon must outflank‘ (IG 64). They have no option to be deployed on the table at the start of the game, and no option to come onto the table in any other way. In fact it wouldn't be legal to put a part of his platoon into a non-dedicated transport in order to avoid the ‘must outflank' rule and come on from the player's home board edge even if the player preferred to do so.

In addition, as the platoon's squads are embarked on a Vendetta they are rolled for separately so don't have to all come on the same edge thanks to the IG FAQ:

Page 96 – Infantry Platoon, second sentence Change to: “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place of a single unit in missions that limit the number units that can be deployed. In addition when making a reserve or outflanking roll, roll once for the whole Infantry Platoon. Any units in reserve that are embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are instead rolled for separately.”


So given this passage of writing it seems as though you can put one of Al'rahem's untis in a vendetta and not only outflank them but also roll seperately.......
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Bristol

Lol, someone has been reading 3++ ...

Armies: Crimson Fists, Orks, Eldar 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Yeah and there is still a debate going on around it. I was hoping to get more clarification on it here. Do you have any input?
   
Made in ie
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Limerick

No it can't Outflank. It isn't their dedicated transport, and it isn't part of Al-Raheem's Infantry Platoon either, so doesn't benefit from his special rule. Rolling for units in reserve in non-dedicated transports doesn't automatically given those non-DTs the ability to use the unit's special rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/17 23:00:03


Read Bloghammer!

My Grey Knights plog
My Chaos Space Marines plog
My Eldar plog

Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/546526.page

Day old, same page. The search is your friend.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

To put it simply, his infantry cannot be deployed any other way, so putting them in a non-dedicated transport that deploys differently would technically be illegal
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




But wouldnt their rule transfer onto the vendetta that they are riding in? Kind of like how a SM Lib imparts his rules onto a unit that he is in?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

No, because Outflank only confers to a Dedicated Transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




One similar instance i guess is with space wolves. I foget which saga but there is a saga that allows for out flanking. I have seen people use this with a Land raider which was HS and not a dedicated transport.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Duplicate thread - please see the previously linked one.

Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: