Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 00:47:44
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
Chicago, USA
|
In reference to the Orbital Bombardment, the new SM Codex does not have the following line from the 5th codex: "providing that the Chapter Master did not move in the preceding Movement phase".
What the new codex does say is "this counts firing a ranged weapon with the following profile ... Ordnance 1, barrage". (Barrage, yay can now fire without LOS)
The BRB states the following for Ordnance: "A non-vehicle model carrying an Ordnance weapon cannot fire it in the Shooting phase if he moved in the preceding movement phase".
Since the Chapter Master is not carrying an ordnance weapon, can he now move and fire the orbital bombardment (or is that wishful thinking)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 00:54:57
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
5th edition did not have rules for non-vehicles using Ordnance weapons, so they had to throw some rules in.
6th edition has specific rules forbidding moving and firing, so you still cannot move and shoot (unless in Terminator armour).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 00:56:59
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That's how I'd classify it. "Counts as" is not there for people to pick and choose which relevant rules they'd like to obey.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 01:40:26
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
FromAbove wrote:What the new codex does say is "this counts firing a ranged weapon with the following profile ... Ordnance 1, barrage".
The profile you just quoted says otherwise.
Yes, fluff-wise he isn't 'carrying' the weapon (although cookies for the first person to model a Chapter Master running around with an orbital bombardment cannon...) but rules-wise it's just a piece of his gear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 02:00:03
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Stick him in TDA or give him the Armour Indomitus.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 02:51:57
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Or give him a bike.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 04:52:37
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Also as a question for this orbital Bombardment. Is it a weapon I could Master craft using the Salamander Chapter Tactics?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 06:36:24
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Technically, yes.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 07:23:50
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Happyjew wrote:5th edition did not have rules for non-vehicles using Ordnance weapons, so they had to throw some rules in.
Not true, even 4th Edition already had an infantry-mounted ordnance weapon, the SAG
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 09:14:06
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
icefire78 wrote:Also as a question for this orbital Bombardment. Is it a weapon I could Master craft using the Salamander Chapter Tactics?
Kommissar Kel wrote:Technically, yes.
...that's so brutal...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 11:34:50
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Jidmah wrote: Happyjew wrote:5th edition did not have rules for non-vehicles using Ordnance weapons, so they had to throw some rules in. Not true, even 4th Edition already had an infantry-mounted ordnance weapon, the SAG  That did not have rules associated with non-vehicles using Ordnance, which is why there is a note that it is treated as a Heavy Weapon for movement and assault purposes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 11:35:23
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 13:16:04
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Even if the Chapter Master has a Bike or Termie armor for the Relentless, I thought non-vehicle models could still not move and then fire Ordnance. Weren't people arguing successfully that even Monstrous Creatures (like the Riptide) had to stay still to fire their Ordnance weapon?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 13:34:54
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Lord Krungharr wrote:Even if the Chapter Master has a Bike or Termie armor for the Relentless, I thought non-vehicle models could still not move and then fire Ordnance. Weren't people arguing successfully that even Monstrous Creatures (like the Riptide) had to stay still to fire their Ordnance weapon?
The Relentless rule quite clearly says that they can move and fire, as well as charge. I don't know how it could be argued otherwise tbh.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 13:42:11
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Lord Krungharr wrote:Even if the Chapter Master has a Bike or Termie armor for the Relentless, I thought non-vehicle models could still not move and then fire Ordnance. Weren't people arguing successfully that even Monstrous Creatures (like the Riptide) had to stay still to fire their Ordnance weapon?
The argument for the Riptide was that it couldn't fire any other weapons (it can't). Relentless doesn't change that aspect of the Ordnance rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:14:40
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Jimsolo wrote:icefire78 wrote:Also as a question for this orbital Bombardment. Is it a weapon I could Master craft using the Salamander Chapter Tactics?
Kommissar Kel wrote:Technically, yes.
...that's so brutal...
I had this idea a long time ago with GK. Unfortunately (for me), the GK FAQ this spring forbid Master-crafting an OSB.
Precedent? No, you can't.
RAW? Yes, I think you can.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:17:07
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So how would a mastercrafted orbital bombardment work anyway?
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:22:24
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Jimsolo wrote:icefire78 wrote:Also as a question for this orbital Bombardment. Is it a weapon I could Master craft using the Salamander Chapter Tactics?
Kommissar Kel wrote:Technically, yes.
...that's so brutal...
Are you sure about that? IIRC the orbital bombardment is a special rule and not a weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:58:06
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I'd say no. They moved the Bombardment from Wargear to special rule. He doesn't carry its as a weapon to mastercraft.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 15:03:30
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
wait so, what was the general concensus on relentless and OB? is that a yay or nay? I was wondering about this the other night as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 15:11:43
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Baldsmug wrote:wait so, what was the general concensus on relentless and OB? is that a yay or nay? I was wondering about this the other night as well.
Relentless special rule is pretty clear. If you have it, you can move + OB
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:31:52
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Pyriel- wrote:So how would a mastercrafted orbital bombardment work anyway?
You would re-roll the scatter dice.
GK can do the same thing, taking an orbital strike on a grandmaster and MC-ing it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 18:03:49
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
It seems kind of fishy to say that is IS an ordnance weapon (when it being a weapon prevents you from moving and using it) but that it's not when you want to mastercraft it. I'm fine with it being one or the other, but doing it both ways seems like trying to do two things at once.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 18:04:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 18:11:14
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There's nothing fishy about a special rule which is only a weapon while you're firing it. It's not even particularly unusual anymore. Witchfire. Serpent Shields.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 18:26:39
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
But if the character can mastercraft one of his weapons, then he should be able to mastercraft one of his weapons. If it's ever a weapon, then how is it not eligible to be mastercrafted? RAI I think you're absolutely right, and when a real FAQ comes out I'm sure they'll address that. But RAW that doesn't seem like a solid argument.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 20:03:09
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Jimsolo wrote:If it's ever a weapon, then how is it not eligible to be mastercrafted?
Why is this a question? What does "ever" have to do with anything? You don't get to be eligible because you might, at some point in the future, become eligible.
RaW, you seem to be arguing that a 5 year old should be able to vote, drive, and buy alcohol right now because he'll eventually be old enough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 21:39:26
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Also he can only move and fire if he has a bike, that special relentless armor, or is attached to centurions.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 22:12:33
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
icefire78 wrote:Also as a question for this orbital Bombardment. Is it a weapon I could Master craft using the Salamander Chapter Tactics?
No as it is a special rule not a weapon per say directly on the model
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 23:55:36
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
 Well, if it's not a weapon, then it isn't bound by the rules for firing Ordnance weapons, is it?
(And yes, if there was some hypothetical way to apply the Salamander rule to Eldar tanks, then the Serpent Shield would be just as eligible as any weapons. If it has a weapon profile, then it's eligible.)
If it's only a weapon SOMETIMES, then it's clearly only going to benefit from the mastercrafted rule when it's busy being a weapon. (Not that it matters, really, since the mastercrafted rule wouldn't do it any good when it's not being a weapon anyhow.)
Until Games Workshop FAQs it, the Orbital Bombardment is treated as a weapon. (It has to be, otherwise the Chapter Master could drop pod in and still fire it.) Until GW FAQs it (and they should!) it is still eligible to be the character's master-crafted weapon. Is it RAI? No. Is it how I would play it? No. Would I let it fly in a tournament? No. But it IS correct according to the rules as written.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 00:53:10
Subject: Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
It is not a weapon
A chapter master may call down...
Not fire or use
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 00:58:05
Subject: Re:Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Jimsolo wrote:If it's only a weapon SOMETIMES, then it's clearly only going to benefit from the mastercrafted rule when it's busy being a weapon.
I see you can understand the fundamental concept. So, let's put it in your own words and see if it makes sense to you now:
"If it's only a weapon SOMETIMES, then it's clearly only going to benefit from the I-can-buy-mastercrafting-for-it rule when it's busy being a weapon."
See?
|
|
 |
 |
|