Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 19:51:19
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Hey all, I was wondering if I put a Librarian w/ a Tele. Homer in a Rhino where would I measure the 6 in. for the Homer from? The hull of the Rhino I assume?
Lucarikx
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:10:11
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
I do believe per the phrasing it's from the model that possess the Teleport Homer. So the Librarian would have to be outside the Rhino, because the Rhino does not physically possess the Teleport Homer.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Correction, looked at my BRB on my Ipad. You would measure it from the hull. It's covered in the Embarking section that for models within a vehicles's measuring purposes you measure from the hull. So yes, you would measure from the Hull of the Rhino. It is also covered in the FAQ, saying that you measure from the hull for Area of effect Wargear.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/10/30 20:29:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 21:54:49
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The teleport homer requires the model to be on the table, and to have been there since the beginning of the player turn. You wouldn't be measuring at all because a homer in a rhino is not on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 21:56:34
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Ah, I must go check the statement for Teleport Homer. But that does raise the question of how a model's Area of Effect Wargear is FAQ'd since most say to measure from the model. Automatically Appended Next Post: It says that the bearer must be on the battlefield. Not the model on the table, so I'm pretty sure the measuring from the hull applies in this case as the bearer is on the battlefield, in the rhino.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/30 22:48:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 22:55:34
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
in the rhino and on the battlefield are not the same thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 22:59:54
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Per the BRB FAQ a model with Area of effect wargear embarked upon a transport measures the range of those items from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon. So wouldn't this include the teleport homer as it is a piece of wargear on a model?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 23:40:57
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
DJGietzen wrote:The teleport homer requires the model to be on the table, and to have been there since the beginning of the player turn. You wouldn't be measuring at all because a homer in a rhino is not on the table.
DJGietzen wrote:in the rhino and on the battlefield are not the same thing.
Can't decide if trolling or really this ignorant.
YES, you would measure from the hull. Per the BRB FAQ a model with Area of effect WARGEAR embarked upon a transport measures the range of those items from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon. Guess what? a teleport homer is wargear.
|
The Emperor Protects
_______________________________________
Inquisitorial lesson #298: Why to Hate Choas Gods, cont'd-
With Chaos, Tzeench would probably turn your hands, feet and face into
scrotums, complete with appropriate nerve endings. Then Khorne would
force you and all your friends to fight to the death using your new
scrotal appendages. Once they get tired of that, you get tossed to
Slaanesh who <censored by order of the Inquisition>, until you finally
end up in Nurgle's clutches and he uses you as a loofah. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 23:43:02
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 02:15:47
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Lobukia wrote:Yes, it actually is.
No, it's really not. In this specific instance there is a rule indicating how one is supposed to treat Wargear with an AoE if the model is embarked, but that is a far cry from blanket permission, nor any explicit indication that the model is considered to be on the table at all. (not to mention that opens up a 'huge' can of worms, rules-wise)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 08:14:41
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Phiasco II wrote:DJGietzen wrote:The teleport homer requires the model to be on the table, and to have been there since the beginning of the player turn. You wouldn't be measuring at all because a homer in a rhino is not on the table.
DJGietzen wrote:in the rhino and on the battlefield are not the same thing.
Can't decide if trolling or really this ignorant.
YES, you would measure from the hull. Per the BRB FAQ a model with Area of effect WARGEAR embarked upon a transport measures the range of those items from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon. Guess what? a teleport homer is wargear.
1) Don't be an ass.
2) The teleport homer has no effect if the bearer is not on the battlefield at the start of the turn. If the bearer is inside a transport he is not on the battlefield. There is no effect and nothing will be measured from the hull. If the teleport homer did not have this very specific restriction then there would be an effect and it would be measured from the hull of the transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:23:23
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yet page 78 states you can measure to the model, if you need to, meaning they are "on" the battlefield.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:32:37
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Norway (Oslo)
|
I will just mention the KFF here for a example, when innside a veichle it's measured from the hull.
|
Waagh like a bawz
-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed
6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 15:01:34
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The "on the battlefield" restriction is there to prevent shenanigans like deepstriking something with a homing beacon to guide the rest of a deep striking force in the same turn.
Also, it's "on the battlefield", not "standing alone and unafraid, disembarked upon the ground/dirt/snow/etc".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 16:07:13
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
So just to confirm, it does radiate from the Rhino?
Thanks,
Lucarikx
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 16:20:26
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it radiates from the Rhino, same as any AoE. Page 78/79 (cant recall which) under embarked passengers states that you measure to the models, meaning they are "on" the tabletop for that purpose
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 03:01:26
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Nos is right. You measure from the hull.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 08:08:11
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yet page 78 states you can measure to the model, if you need to, meaning they are "on" the battlefield.
Page 78 says to remove the models from the table. The errata to page 131 says that embarking onto a transport is form of removing a model from the battlefield.
How can you be on the battlefield and not on the battlefield at the same time?
Page 78 says to measure from the hull if the players need to measure a range from the embarked unit. A teleport homer must be on the battlefield for it to have any range or effect. If its not on the battlefield you don't need to measure from the unit.
If you can find me something that tells me a unit that has been removed from the table/battlefield while embarked in a transports counts as being on the battlefield, or if you can find me something that specifically gives a teleport homers embarked on transports permission to function I'll drop it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 08:39:51
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Page 78 says that DJGietzen. If you can measure range from unit that is embarked for effects or shooting (Fire point) then they are on the battlefield. To say they are not is just silly.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/01 08:40:11
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 10:31:34
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Page 78 says that DJGietzen.
If you can measure range from unit that is embarked for effects or shooting (Fire point) then they are on the battlefield. To say they are not is just silly.
Its not silly at all.
"When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside, making a note that the unit is being transported." It can't be on the table and removed from the battlefield at the same time. To say that they are is just silly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 10:42:47
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
seeing as how its inside the vehicle, it is in fact on the battlefield, even if it has been removed from the table.
Since this has a FAQ telling us to measure from the hull your argument has already been resoundingly thrown out the window.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 16:36:11
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Eihnlazer wrote:seeing as how its inside the vehicle, it is in fact on the battlefield, even if it has been removed from the table.
Since this has a FAQ telling us to measure from the hull your argument has already been resoundingly thrown out the window.
Exactly this.
The models are removed from the table, but they are coexisting within the transport, therefore are on the battlefield and can still be measured to, heck they can even shoot thing out of a fire point...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 17:12:17
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can't we all just get along? DJ Gietz, what if you don't glue the doors shut to your Rhino and then jam all of the models inside? Will they be on the battlefield then? Oh no, probably not, because their feet wouldn't be touching the ground. I guess you'd have to cut out the bottom of the Rhino, kinda like how Fred Flinstone used to drive his car?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/01 17:12:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 19:19:53
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
Super Newb wrote:Can't we all just get along? DJ Gietz, what if you don't glue the doors shut to your Rhino and then jam all of the models inside? Will they be on the battlefield then? Oh no, probably not, because their feet wouldn't be touching the ground. I guess you'd have to cut out the bottom of the Rhino, kinda like how Fred Flinstone used to drive his car?
I think that's what he'll expect you to do
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 19:54:02
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
DJGietzen wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Page 78 says that DJGietzen.
If you can measure range from unit that is embarked for effects or shooting (Fire point) then they are on the battlefield. To say they are not is just silly.
Its not silly at all.
"When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside, making a note that the unit is being transported." It can't be on the table and removed from the battlefield at the same time. To say that they are is just silly.
I suppose you don't let embarked units fire from fire points either. Since the model has to be on the battlefield to fire a weapon.
|
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 20:01:33
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
DJGietzen wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Page 78 says that DJGietzen.
If you can measure range from unit that is embarked for effects or shooting (Fire point) then they are on the battlefield. To say they are not is just silly.
Its not silly at all.
"When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside, making a note that the unit is being transported." It can't be on the table and removed from the battlefield at the same time. To say that they are is just silly.
When you put items in a cardboard box for storage, you remove them from the world as we know it.
Do they cease to exist? No.
Can they still affect things outside the box? Sometimes. (radioactive materials etc)
Can they be affected by things that happen to the box or its surroundings? Yes.
Does this mean that the items are still in the world? Yes.
The same holds true for models in transports in the TT game of WH40k.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 07:17:32
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Guys, just wanna throw 1 thing out there, drops pods can have/do have teleport homers(dont have my codex on me, at work!) and that is a vehicle. surely it would work the same/very similar to that, im sure that I have read that its measured from the hull as being in a Rhino is actually classed as being on the battlefield. The reason for this is because if the Rhino explodes, the models inside can be hurt from the explosion.
If they werent on the battlefield, they couldnt be hurt(aka Necron Night Scythe).
|
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 08:56:58
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the rhino explodes, the models inside can be hurt because page 80 provides us with a rule that specifically tells us they can be, not because the embarked unit is on the table.
Units in the rhino can shoot at enemy units because page 78 provides us with a rule that specifically tells us they can, not because the embarked unit is on the table.
No I don't expect you to cram models inside a transport model with a hole cut in the bottom so they can touch the ground. That hyperbole is bot ludicrous and insulting. I expect you to follow the rules on page 78 remove the unit from the table.
Its a permissive rule set, you don't have permission to count models as being on the table if they are not physically on the table. You have permission to measure to the transport's hull if you need to measure to the unit. The teleport homer's rules require the model with it to be on the able for it to have any area of effect. If the model with the teleport homer is not on the table the TH has no area of effect. If it has no area of effect you don't need to measure to the unit. This is different than any other piece of war gear that I am aware of as no others require the model with the wargear to be on the table.
Automatically Appended Next Post: ahhh, I just found two things in the BRB that work against what I've been saying this whole time. SO I'll acknowledge now that I was wrong. Can any one guess why?
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/11/02 09:42:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 14:11:58
Subject: Re:Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DJGietzen wrote:If the rhino explodes, the models inside can be hurt because page 80 provides us with a rule that specifically tells us they can be, not because the embarked unit is on the table.
Units in the rhino can shoot at enemy units because page 78 provides us with a rule that specifically tells us they can, not because the embarked unit is on the table.
No I don't expect you to cram models inside a transport model with a hole cut in the bottom so they can touch the ground. That hyperbole is bot ludicrous and insulting. I expect you to follow the rules on page 78 remove the unit from the table.
Its a permissive rule set, you don't have permission to count models as being on the table if they are not physically on the table. You have permission to measure to the transport's hull if you need to measure to the unit. The teleport homer's rules require the model with it to be on the able for it to have any area of effect. If the model with the teleport homer is not on the table the TH has no area of effect. If it has no area of effect you don't need to measure to the unit. This is different than any other piece of war gear that I am aware of as no others require the model with the wargear to be on the table.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
ahhh, I just found two things in the BRB that work against what I've been saying this whole time. SO I'll acknowledge now that I was wrong. Can any one guess why?
the fact that embarked models are embarked in the transport, and not is some mythical place off the table.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 14:43:00
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
This is quite interesting, as teleport homers historically have always had to be on the table, I wonder how many other vets still play it this way due to assuming that it should.
I think on the table literally mean not in a transport as this is as its always been, I never considered measuring it from the hull, I will have to discuss this with my gaming group and see how we will play it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/02 14:45:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 16:04:36
Subject: Does a Teleporting Homer "radiate" from a Vehicle?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
It's in the FAQ that area of effect wargear is measured from the Hull of the Transport if you want to show your gaming group Formosa.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|