Switch Theme:

outflank and assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Hey all had a bit of a issue in a local tourny.

Orcs vs Marines

Orc player outflanked with the deff choppas? (Orc helicopters). And assaulted a land raider and popped it. The TO was busy and I recall reading that outflanking or scouts can't assault 1st turn and or arriving from reserve. Please correct me if I am wrong just trying to help a friend out.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Partially wrong.

Relevant rules (you'll need to look them up yourself):
Deep Strike
Infiltrate
Scout
Reserves

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Not sure why Happy has referenced the Deep Strike rule here...
Anyway, the answer is in the reserves section, I think the second page second paragraph (in bold)? Going from memory so you'll need to find reserves in the index for a page reference.
   
Made in us
Courageous Silver Helm



Rochester, NY

No you can't, there are currently only 2 things that can arrive from reserve that can assault and that is because it says so in their codex, Ymgarls from tyranids can arrive from area terrain and move and assault, and the blood angels vanguard veterans can deep strike with jump packs and assault on that same turn because their codex says so.

Yeah...it's kinda like that. 
   
Made in gb
Gavin Thorpe




Also Ork Stormboyz can do it with Zagstruk in the lead. In fact Stormboyz are also one of the only units that can charge more than 24" and so get a first turn assault.

WarOne wrote:
At the very peak of his power, Mat Ward stood at the top echelons of the GW hierarchy, second only to Satan in terms of personal power within the company.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...

Back on topic your opponent made a number of mistakes. Check the reserves rules for assaulting when arriving from reserve.

Also how did he wreck your Landraider in assault? A Deffkopta is S3 even with a buzzsaw he can only get to S7 on the charge so how did he do ANYTHING to your Landraider in assault?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 FlingitNow wrote:
Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...


I'm confused. I thought you could only get out if the vehicle moved 6" or less. So 6" vehicle move, disembark within 6" of the vehicle and then max of 12" charge. Have I missed something?

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





@Flinty: no you haven't

@FlingitNow: the Nob can be given a power claw at the very least....but thats alot of 6's....

@OP: as stated abovecheck the reserves rule and ask the opponent to proove he can contradict the reserves restrictions (he wont be able to)
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





@Flinty you've obviously missed the pivot trick. I start my battle wagon sideways on at the 12" line I pivot 90° the front of my BWis now about 2"-3" over the line I move 6" (7" with red paint job) disembark and assault.

@Nutty there is no such thing as a deffkopta nob.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

 Flinty wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...


I'm confused. I thought you could only get out if the vehicle moved 6" or less. So 6" vehicle move, disembark within 6" of the vehicle and then max of 12" charge. Have I missed something?

A long vehicle, placed sideways at the limit of the deployment zone, can gain a couple of inches by turning. It still relies on a very lucky roll for charge distance to be successful.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Flinty wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...


I'm confused. I thought you could only get out if the vehicle moved 6" or less. So 6" vehicle move, disembark within 6" of the vehicle and then max of 12" charge. Have I missed something?

You've missed the 15 year old pivot "trick"

Deploy sideways, turn and move forwards. You gain distance if the vehicle is longer than it is wide, as the displadcemnt generated by pivoting is not movement.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Works for me thanks! I knew I saw it some where.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





land of 10k taxes

 Flinty wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...


I'm confused. I thought you could only get out if the vehicle moved 6" or less. So 6" vehicle move, disembark within 6" of the vehicle and then max of 12" charge. Have I missed something?


You are correct, except it has to be an assault vehicle and Orks with red paint can move 7", get out then assault.

was censored by the ministry of truth 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 FeindusMaximus wrote:
 Flinty wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Lots of units can charge more than 24" on turn 1 for instance anything in a battlewagon or Landraider...


I'm confused. I thought you could only get out if the vehicle moved 6" or less. So 6" vehicle move, disembark within 6" of the vehicle and then max of 12" charge. Have I missed something?


You are correct, except it has to be an assault vehicle and Orks with red paint can move 7", get out then assault.

Except for the aforementioned pivot trick.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Pivot trick aside I do find it funny no one else has pointed out it was impossible for the deffkoptas to hurt the Landraider in combat so whether he could charge or not is fairly irrelevant. Just so much wrong with the scenario posted.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

I know it's a moot point, but A deffkopta with a Klaw is only Str 7 on the charge IIRC. VS an AV of 14 all around it can never penetrate?

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: