Switch Theme:

Purposely Failing Morale Checks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Georgia, US

I was wondering you could do this even if your weapons can hurt the enemy. And a citation of the rule. Thanks to anyone who contributes.

My blog!
 cincydooley wrote:
It don't want none unless you got buns, hon.
1,500 Points II 1,500 Points II 125
Have a nice day. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Only smurfs can to the best of my knowledge.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






You have to actually roll the dice. If you were able to voluntarily just fail when you wanted to, it would be too easily abused. of course,You dont need a citation saying that you cant voluntarily fail it. If you want to voluntarily fail it, you would need a citation saying you can. Pretty sure, your not going to find one except as some sort of exception or special rule..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/04 03:59:32


clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Georgia, US

Ok, thank you for you're responses.

My blog!
 cincydooley wrote:
It don't want none unless you got buns, hon.
1,500 Points II 1,500 Points II 125
Have a nice day. 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

There is no rule that generally allows this. As the rule does not exist, I cannot cite it.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





Purgatory... aka Ohio

Nevermind. Unnecessary post.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/05 10:40:55


3000+. 2000+.
"I have no enemies, only topographies of ignorance." - JC Denton (Deus Ex)

The One True Way to Strip Paint:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/365067.page 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





As an example of what such a rule does look like (from the new inquisition codex): "...Dread Reputation: Inquisitor Karamazov can always choose to pass or fail Morale and Pinning tests as he wishes..."

Given that such exists, I'd say there is reasonable precedent for: 'it doesn't say you can normally, so you cannot' (permissive ruleset) to apply here as well.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The only time you can choose to fail a morale check (without some unit or army specific special rule) is if you are locked in combat with an enemy you can't harm, and you are not fearless.

For example, a tactical squad with a sgt with a chainsword is locked in combat with a furioso dreadnought. The tac squad can't hurt the dreadnought as the highest str weapon in the unit for assault is a str 6 krak grenade (against front av 13), so they can choose to fail the morale check. Roll for sweeping advance as normal. If the dreadnought rolls higher after adding his init value than the tac squad, he keeps them in combat, otherwise they get away and immediately fall back 2d6 inches.

However, in this same scenario, let's say the tac squad sgt had a meltabomb equipped, then no, the tac squad cannot choose to break because they do in fact have a weapon that can hurt the dreadnought in close combat. Once the sgt dies, however, they can then use the rule to get away.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Dozer Blades wrote:
Only smurfs can to the best of my knowledge.


I've looked though the new codex briefly looking for this but can't find it. In the 5th edition codex wasn't this part of what got replaced with chapter tactics?
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

I think you have to take Calgar to get it now.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: