Switch Theme:

Kharn vs. Invisibility  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

Gorechild allows Kharn to always hit on a 2+ in close combat. Invisibility makes you only hit on a 6. Which of these set-modifiers is applied?

   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

You must make snap shots at an invisible target. BRB P.33 says that snap shots may be only modified by a rule specifically stating it modifies snap shots, so unless his rule says it specifically modifies snap shots your shooting at a snaps still.

I don't like invisbilty it is broken. Am I going take my GK Paladin star w/ Coteaz and a level 3 Librarian? Probably b/c I am a bad person.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

 Mythra wrote:
You must make snap shots at an invisible target. BRB P.33 says that snap shots may be only modified by a rule specifically stating it modifies snap shots, so unless his rule says it specifically modifies snap shots your shooting at a snaps still.

I don't like invisbilty it is broken. Am I going take my GK Paladin star w/ Coteaz and a level 3 Librarian? Probably b/c I am a bad person.


Because snap shots means anything to HtH attacks?

Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

Invisibility p 198. While in effect the enemy can can only fire SS and in close combat will only hit on a 6. Now you may be right about cc b/c which trumps invso special rule or Gorechild?

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

 Mythra wrote:
Invisibility p 198. While in effect the enemy can can only fire SS and in close combat will only hit on a 6. Now you may be right about cc b/c which trumps invso special rule or Gorechild?


Question is about Close Combat. Kharn has no bonus in the Shooting Phase. Rather, he always hits on a 2+ in Combat. So which takes precedence?

   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate





Advanced rules > Basic rules.

Kharn and Wolftooth necklaces trump invis
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Texarkana TX

i want to say kharn hits on a 2+ because codex trumps rulebook, and because its kharne.

5000+ 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

Good. I'm not crazy. My thoughts exactly.

My only hesitation is that... Invisibility is an 'advanced' rule of a sort as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/31 05:11:01


   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate





It's more of a "Codex > Rulebook"
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



Shropshire

This is annoyingly debatable as the codex trumps when it directly contrivens a rule in the rule book but it is a common misxonception that codex > brb just happens in moat cases.

This particular debate has happened before (on phone so cant find link just go back a page or two for wolftooth) my personal is kharne should go first but follow 'the most important rule' or 'spirit of the game' rule and discuss with opponent of no resolution roll a D6 1-3 invis works 4-6 kharne mullers them

But we kind of need an faq on this

"and with but a little push it all goes BANG!!" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If multiple set modifiers are in effect they are applied last and the person whose turn it is which takes precedence. Karn's turn you get the 2+, psyker's turn you get the 6.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





It is not a case of Codex versus rulebook as there is no rule clash. It is a case of order of operations.

I did look quickly for the order of how we apply postives, negatives set modifers etc but didnt see it. Has anyone else seen it, if so which page?.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

MarkyMark wrote:
It is not a case of Codex versus rulebook as there is no rule clash. It is a case of order of operations.

I did look quickly for the order of how we apply postives, negatives set modifers etc but didnt see it. Has anyone else seen it, if so which page?.


They only ever talk about order of operations for different types of modifiers. Multiplication first, add/subtract next and then finally set modifiers.

There never has been (and still isn't) any information on what to do when you have conflicting set modifiers.

It should be FAQ'd, but until that time going with the codex overriding the rulebook is as good as anything, as these are actually two conflicting rules one of which is from the rulebook and the other is from a codex.

However, nobody should think that is *the* answer because it doesn't cover a situation where you'd have two set modifiers both coming from a codex...so ultimately it is a situation that should be covered by the rules, but isn't and therefore should be FAQ'd by GW (what to do when you have conflicting set modifiers).


My personal house rule is that when you have two conflicting set modifiers like this, they cancel each other out and you'd roll to hit like normal...to me I think that's what GW should put into their rules to clear this kind of thing up without having to FAQ each and every instance separately.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

I'd play it as the two rules have opposite effects and thus cancel out.

 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





cedar rapids, iowa

I would say a roll off here is a better solution. ......

Kind of meets the spirit of the battle occuring between the two models?

Much more fun than just arguing over whose power is better.

 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







I will play it as whoever has the turn has the advantage. Kharn hits on 2+ on his turn, 6+ on the opponent's turn.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 yakface wrote:

There never has been (and still isn't) any information on what to do when you have conflicting set modifiers.


I think the closest thing we have to a solution is the controlling player's choice rule. Since they are both set modifiers, they occur at the same time. When two things occur at the same time, the player whose turn it is decides what order they are resolved. Thus, Kharn's turn he hits on 2+. On the opponent's turn, he hits on 6s.
That makes a lot of sense, I think.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
 yakface wrote:

There never has been (and still isn't) any information on what to do when you have conflicting set modifiers.


I think the closest thing we have to a solution is the controlling player's choice rule. Since they are both set modifiers, they occur at the same time. When two things occur at the same time, the player whose turn it is decides what order they are resolved. Thus, Kharn's turn he hits on 2+. On the opponent's turn, he hits on 6s.
That makes a lot of sense, I think.


I concur.



Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




I don't understand why people are saying 'roll off' is the best option when there is a clear rule for this.

Page 13 of BRB, bottom right, last paragraph:
On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence


There is clearly a conflict here (else we wouldn't be discussing this). The BRB sais Codex rules take preccedence, hence Kharn hits on 2+.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 10:24:51


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




but it also clearly says "You'll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resovled at the same time... when this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resovled first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order." (BRB Pg 17)

Thus both set modifiers are applied at the same time, and the one applied last takes precedence, and since the player gets to choose which... Karn gets priority on his turn, Invis gets priority on the other turn.
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




In my honest opinion, this isn't a modifier at all.

A modifier as written in the BRB:
Certain pieces of wargear or specialm rules can modify a model's characteristics positively or negatively


What characteristic would you say is being modified by Kharn's special rule? His WS? That is not what is written in the book.

Kharn's special rule is not a modifier. So the rule you refer to does not apply.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/01 11:53:46


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

It's a to hit modifier just as invis is a to hit modifier

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






My buddy plays Chaos Marines and loves Kharne, so we have had this talk already. We saw the same rule conflict, and so my friend made a very fluffy point to which I agreed for sake of funsies: Kharne swings wildly in close combat, trying to kill just about anything he can get his hands on. By that, it would stand to reason that he wouldn't care if something was invisible or not, he'd be swinging for the fences regardless, so his rule trumps the Invisibility power.

There you have it, absolutely no page numbers or functional rules to back it up, but I think it's a pretty good answer! I said good day sir!


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut




*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*

As far as order of operations goes I think you sort of have to assume that Invisibility is "going first" since it would effect models at every initiative step. Or you could describe it as an ongoing effect, whatever - ether way it's a persistent effect that applies to all opponents in HtH. Kharn's rule applies just to him and his attacks, which would seem to logically follow invisibility rather than being simultaneous with it.

Of course, Kharn's ability could be described as persistent but only applicable when he actually attacks, but I think that line of reasoning is a bit fatuous. I'm not sure this line of reasoning is actually helpful as far as the RAW is concerned mind you, but it does at least index a certain level of specific over general type reasoning that would lean in Kharn's favor.

He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

well these two modifiers are not resolve at the same time. Kharn hits on 2's before the game even starts. Invis is cast, an can fail or be blocked. so its not simultanious.

this quote answers it perfectly. "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence" there its done. Kharne always hits on 2's. Wolf tooth hits on 3's. Invis is good but isnt a win all spell.

simple. dismissing this rule "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence" . is just wrong and pedantic.

chas

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Lungpickle wrote:
well these two modifiers are not resolve at the same time. Kharn hits on 2's before the game even starts. Invis is cast, an can fail or be blocked. so its not simultanious.

this quote answers it perfectly. "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence" there its done. Kharne always hits on 2's. Wolf tooth hits on 3's. Invis is good but isnt a win all spell.

simple. dismissing this rule "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence" . is just wrong and pedantic.

chas


Resolved only counts when they are used, not when they are initiated.
When is shooting resolved? In the shooting sequence in the Shooting Phase, not when you purchase the gun.

When is to hit in close combat resolved? In the combat step in the Assault Phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 03:29:34


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




You should run a poll, personally I'd vote for they cancel each other out or Kharn's turn 2+, libby's turn 6+
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block






First off, both adding/subtracting from a d6 roll, or replacing the requirements of a d6 roll, are modifiers, as they both modify the rolling of the dice.

Secondly, this isn't a 'conflict', either. Conflict implies, by its definition, two sources giving conflicting descriptions or definitions of the same thing, which isn't what's happening in this case -- we have two completely separate, legitimate and accurate special rules who affect the same thing, so...

This is a matter of priority -- which modifier is applied over the other. In other words, Sequencing, which is described, as chanceafs said above, on Page 17: "...you'll occasionally find two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time... When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then the player whose turn it is resolves the order."

So it's pretty clear. During Kharn's (player's) assault phase, Gorechild's rule takes precedence; during the Invisible model's player's turn, Invisibility takes precedence.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 19:26:48


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I mean... technically the Karn player could choose to apply them the opposite way and roll sixes on his turn... or vice versa. But that would be a rather silly choice to make ;-)
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

chanceafs wrote:
I mean... technically the Karn player could choose to apply them the opposite way and roll sixes on his turn... or vice versa. But that would be a rather silly choice to make ;-)

Unless you wanted to stay in combat...

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: