Switch Theme:

Hunters From Hyperspace Special Rule Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




So I just want to clarify something from the newest updated 7th edition Necron FAQ. The rule in the codex states that when a Deathmark unit deploys, pick a non vehicle unit to be their prey and then "any Deathmark unit that shoots at, or strikes blows against, a unit marked in this fashion will score a wound on a roll of 2+".

The newest FAQ states that "also add: each unit of Deathmarks may only mark a single enemy unit during the course of the game".

So before I read the FAQ I was under the impression that when a Deathmark unit deploys first game turn (assuming you're not deploying first) or later by reserves, you can mark any enemy unit to be their prey, an example being two Deathmark units being deployed and one choosing a hive tyrant, and the other one choosing something different like a unit of tyranid warriors to be the units preys. Then I was under the impression that both units of Deathmarks could benefit from the rule when shooting at either of the targets, even if the unit who targeted warriors was shooting at hive tyrant, and vice versa.

My question is basically did the new FAQ statement even change the original rule at all? Or is it just saying that you can literally only mark one enemy unit when a Deathmark unit deploys, as opposed to marking like two? Were people trying to do that? Or is the FAQ stating that each unit of Deathmarks can only mark a single enemy unit such as tyranid warriors. Like if my opponent has multiple warrior units, then those are all i'm allowed to target? I'm just confused on what the FAQ actually means I guess. Still fairly new, would appreciate any clarification if anyone is familar with Deathmarks thank you!
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My guess is that since most people run them with a Veiltek, they would Veil and since they are deploying via DS mark another unit.

Not saying everybody did this, just enough that it was brought to GWs attention.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ohhhhh. So like, they were teleporting around and marking new targets with the same existing Deathmark unit. Never knew about that haha. Clever. Yeah that makes sense then, pretty sure that's it, thank you.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Sounds unfair

I swear every other faction has some cool loophole to exploit but the Tyranids.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/11 02:14:29


In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 Happyjew wrote:
My guess is that since most people run them with a Veiltek, they would Veil and since they are deploying via DS mark another unit.

Not saying everybody did this, just enough that it was brought to GWs attention.


The newest FAQ states that "also add: each unit of Deathmarks may only mark a single enemy unit during the course of the game".
Deep Strike all you want, you only mark 1 enemy per game, per unit of death marks.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Huh. That's actually an interesting bit of precedent for a different argument we were having a while back.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 Lobomalo wrote:
Sounds unfair

I swear every other faction has some cool loophole to exploit but the Tyranids.


Sadly, it seems that Necrons are at the heart of a lot of these exploit discussions, both old and new. Right now, we have debates on the CCB retaining it's IC USR and joining units and Jink Saves versus Tesla arcing and Death Rays. Old classics involve such things as MSS and force weapons (7th actually fixed that), the OPs question (again, 7th edition fixed that), the various fiddly bits involving Royal Court members, and the always hotly debated Everliving versus Sweeping Advance issue that was not resolved with the new edition. It doesn't help that GW reset the FAQs that cleaned up some of the questions about the Necron Codex, and nobody knows if it was because the changes were incorporated into more recent copies or if GW just decided to change their minds. Maybe this is a sign that Necrons are going to be redone sooner than expected?
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller




Colorado

More likely a sign that GW, can't be bothered with minor things like rule confusion.

I suspect that the next Necron Codex will still come out as planned, meanwhile we still have to bumble around as best we can until someone manages to put together a major cheese combination that dominates and only then will we see an update before the codex.

Tho' much is taken, much abides; and tho'
We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are;
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I still have issues with using deathmarks in nightscythes with crypteks attached that have that AP 1 template. Oh look we show up out of the plane that can fly 24" with no repercussion and mark that unit. Now our cryptek hits you with his AP 1 flamer that wounds on 2+. That flyer has absolutely no downside to it now.
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





Perth, Australia

Actually, the Scythe can move up to 30" and deploy the unit.

@OP, as I see it, there was no change. Each unit of deathmarks can mark a different enemy unit, all units get 2+ when shooting at a marked unit.

Also, I don't think it was ever possible to mark multiple units, because the veil doesn't allow you to "deploy" again, iirc. I think you just place the veiltek "using the rules for deep strike". It can't be a deep strike cos the veiltek doesn't have the Deep Strike rule.


   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




California

Scythe can move 36" and deploy, just with snap shots (<24" to not)


DA: 8-2-0 in 7th Edition
Dwarfs: 1-0-0
Dark Elves: 3-0-0
Brets: 1-1-0 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





Perth, Australia

IIRC the codex restricts the deployment of embarked troops to less than 30".

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MarkCron wrote:
IIRC the codex restricts the deployment of embarked troops to less than 30".

The codex has no rules on this, only the FAQ does, as the codex was written prior to the restrictions on disembarking from a Zooming Flyer were written.

36" for snapshots, 24" for no snapshots. FAQ available here, page 3, first column, 2nd entry for errata
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





Perth, Australia

Right you are! Cool!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: