Switch Theme:

5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Astalado wrote:Okay... you all will probably get angry at me. I have three different GW people answering me on this question. I would love a FAQ on this matter.


Can a unit with Fleet disembark from a transport and run and therefore Assault?

I am asking this question now because of the new space Marine Ravensgaurd army. Space Marines with the fleet rule. I would like a real answer on this.

GW people have told me that if you can run you can fleet. therefore assault out of transports. I know we had a huge discussion on this topic. but this needs to be in a General FAQ. I played a game with a player telling me he can do it out of a rhino because he has fleet.


No, you cannot. Fleet overrides the may not assault if you run bit but does not override the may not assault after disembarking from a closed vehicle that moved bit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Bothell, WA

I agree with Don_mondo

Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list.
 
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




So this will sound really stupid, but I figure I should ask as it's not really covered in the rule book.
The Question is as follows.
Who can run?
The book only explains infantry running, it says nothing about jump infantry, or walkers.


~3,000 7/2/2 (since 5th ed came out.)
~6,000 2/1/0
~1000 (still under construction, and may not continue this until new codex comes out...I'm going to be waiting a while)
"Can't Understand Normal Things" -Robert Bjornson.

92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your sig! -not that I'm a teen anymore but I still don't listen to rap 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Just in case this isn't on a list somewhere...

Issues from Codex: Daemonhunters:

1. Page 20. 'Daemons' Terminology. Is the list of things which count as 'Daemons' supposed to include the units from Codex: Chaos Daemons? Is this list supposed to include the Summoned Lesser Daemons and Summoned Greater Daemons in the Codex: Chaos Space Marines?
2. Page 18. Teleport homer. What should the text be replaced with, since the wargear entry is trying to incorporate 3rd edition deep strike rules?
3. Page 8. Daemonic Infestation. Should the list of units which are subject to this rule be expanded to include units from the current Codex: Chaos Daemons and Codex: Chaos Space Marines? What rules should be used for the 'Sustained Attack' rules which are referenced?
4. Page 49. Daemon Summoning. Should the text for Daemon Summoning be replaced with the appropriate text from Codex: Chaos Space Marines to keep the summoning and reserve rules consistent?

Issues from Codex: Chaos Daemons:

1. Page 54. How many times can the Changeling's ability be used per turn?
2. Page 54. Does the Changeling's ability allow triggering optional abilities of the misdirected unit? For example, can the misdirected unit be forced to use, for example, Bladestorm, single use weapons, or be forced to choose between various heavy weapons at the discretion of the Changeling's player?
3. Page 53. What's the proper timing for determining the second gift and target for the Blue Scribes? Do you roll to determine the second power before determining the target for the second power?

Issues from Codex: Chaos Space Marines:

1. Page 102. Can Summoned Lesser Daemons claim objectives even though they don't take up a Troop slot?
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Chicago

I can't find this question anywhere else on the forum:

An Ork Weirdboy rolls "Ere we go" for his power. He is allowed to teleport somewhere else on the board "per the deep strike rules"

If he's subsequently forced to roll on the mishap table and rolls the "delayed" result then what happens?

"Delayed" states that the model goes back into reserve. The WB was never in reserve so he can't really go "back." Does he go into reserve as if he had somehow been delayed or does he simply remain in his original position as if the teleport had not happened?

I could make a case for either one of those options.
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




Does the hive tyrant (MC) gain a cover save if his three tyrant guards are in area terrain cover?

Actually I think this should be expanded into "How are the monstruous creature rules of a hive tyrant in a retinue affected exactly ?". Since the FAQ implies the monstruous creatures rules do not behave normally in that case, quoting :"at which point the Hive Tyrant reverts to the normal rules for monstrous creatures".

That triggers the question of cover save indeed.
But also the "go to ground" ability of the unit.
And this could stretch to the ability to penetrate 2d6...and even canceling saves in hth...since after all the Prince in that particular set-up does not seem to be following the "normal rules for monstruous creatures" by RAW.

Chairman - ETC 2010
France Blondest Player - 40k ETC 2009
Head Referee - 40k ETC 2008
France 40k Team Captain - ETC 2007
Cold Steel Mercenary [Burgundy Division]
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





don_mondo wrote:
Aristotle wrote:Transport question 1
can multiple units embark into a transport. Eg 5 space marines get in a land raider can another 5 space marines from another unit also get in, also does this work in the same way for dedicated transports


No, only a single unit plus any joined/attached ICs can ride in a transport at one time.

PeterWelzien wrote:The IG FAQ states that an independet commissar that joins a unit adds one to the commander's leadership and will execute him if a morale test is failed. What happens if an independet commissar joins a unit of conscripts (who doesn't have a commander)?


He executes a regular trooper. Was in the old IG FAQ and needs to be added back into the current FAQ.


agreed needs readded... current FAQ explanation is not a clarification.

A True Humanitarian Understands it is Sometimes Necessary to Cull the Herd.
R.J.M.P. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Question: Do Summoned Lesser Daemons count as a scoring unit?

The rulebook states that troops are the only unit type that count as scoring. More specifically it says that anything from your troops allowance counts as scoring.

To me, the word allowance would imply anything that takes up a troop slot in your force organization chart.

Daemons do not take up a force organization slot but otherwise get treated as troops.

Most everyone at my local store has been playing them as scoring units, and though it would benefit my Chaos army greatly if they could score, this seems incorrect to me.

Thanks for any help!
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Western United States

On initial deployment (not reserve deployment), does a vehicle/unit count as having moved, and if so, how far?

We've typically played that initial deployment counts as a full movement but the 5th ed BRB says absolutely nothing about it.

Second related question; if forced to deploy in the open, can a vehicle pop smoke immediately (as the smoke rule mentions movement but not the movement phase)?

There is no such thing as over-engineering, there's only "there it is," and "oh crap!" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





In the new codex for Space Marines, it states that captains can have command squads, including Captain Shrike.
My question is that since Shrike is a Jump Infantry, wouldn't it make sense for his command squad to also have the capability to have jump packs? It seems kind of silly and dangerous to give them bikes just so they can keep up.
I can see it now..
Company Champion: "No capt'n, you go ahead, we'll be right behind you." *turns to command squad and winks*
*Apothecary pulls out the poker cards*

Ok, so second question about command squads. It states the squad doesn't count against your HQ allowance, but what do they count as? Do they count against another category like elites or troops?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/18 16:10:39


 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

pavonis wrote:In the new codex for Space Marines, it states that captains can have command squads, including Captain Shrike.
My question is that since Shrike is a Jump Infantry, wouldn't it make sense for his command squad to also have the capability to have jump packs? It seems kind of silly and dangerous to give them bikes just so they can keep up.
I can see it now..
Company Champion: "No capt'n, you go ahead, we'll be right behind you." *turns to command squad and winks*
*Apothecary pulls out the poker cards*

Ok, so second question about command squads. It states the squad doesn't count against your HQ allowance, but what do they count as? Do they count against another category like elites or troops?


They are an HQ unit that doesn't take up a FOC slot. Also they are not a retinue but a separate unit that functions independently of the captain.

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DH/WH: Melta Torpedos are Ordinance and listed as 2d6 armor penetration. Do you roll each d6 and take the highest (as you would for Ordinance with 1d6 AP) or do you just roll the 2d6?
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Tau Questions:

How do Target Locks on battlesuits function in 5th edition? Specifically, do they function at all? and who is the unit restricted to Assaulting?

Marker Drones: Do they have the Relentless rule if attached to a Fire Warrior or Broadside squad?

Stealth suits: Do enemies assaulting Stealth Suits still count as being at I1? and do Frag grenades remove this bonus if assaulted?

Disruption Pods: Are they really that awesome?

Pathfinders: The re-roll allowed by the Marker Beacon - does this mean the Scatter Direction, the distance, either or both?

Piranahs: All drones disembarking into a single squad - this could involve drones moving 24" in a single turn if you have your piranhas spread out enough. Is this intended? Is the entire unit of Piranhas worth one Killpoint and all drones worth another killpoint?

Drones on Vehicle: Does each squad of 2 drones count as a separate unit (ie, giving an additional Killpoint?).

Devilfish: May a unit of firewarriors that numbers more than 12 models including drones still select a transport, if they do not ride inside it?



Skimmers Tank-Shocking: A skimmer may always move over terrain.
A tank shock must be in a straight line, stopping if it reaches an enemy vehicle.
A skimmer may move over enemy units and vehicles.

May a skimmer then: tank shock a unit in terrain?
The rules seems to imply that a skimmer may move over enemy units during a tank shock. Is this correct? If so, can the skimmer move over enemy vehicles during a tank shock? And can the skimmer 'selectively' tank shock enemy units -ie 3 enemy units in a line, the skimmer shocks the first and third units but skims over the more dangerous middle unit?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/08 03:08:31


 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Columbus, Oh

How about dealing with the Ork Dethrolla being able to ram vehicles question.. That would be great to have your input on a FAQ....

-Porkuslime

2+2=5 for sufficiently large values of 2.

Order of St Ursula (Sisters of Battle): W-2, L-1, T-1
Get of Freki (Space Wolves): W-3, L-1, T-1
Hive Fleet Portentosa (Nids/Stealers): W-6, L-4, T-0
Omega Marines (vanilla Space Marine): W-1, L-6, T-2
Waagh Magshak (Orks): W-4, L-0, T-1
A.V.P.D.W.: W-0, L-2, T-0

www.40korigins.com
bringing 40k Events to Origins Game Fair in Columbus, Oh. Ask me for more info! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Other Armies using your Locator Beacon, Teleport Homer, Icon, etc. etc. etc. for all time anywhere and everywhere as far as anyone can see into the future.

On a related question: How many times are they going to write these items up to leave this open to interpretation?

As a further follow-up, If my opponent continues to insist he can do this, can I reply with an assault from the terminators forced to disembark from the landraider in his shooting phase?

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Ooh yeah. And a further real question:

Are weapons with a status difference different weapons?

For example the 10 Sternguard with 10 Combi-Meltas, half of which have been fired, how does one allocate 7 wounds to that squad? Is it 1 wound pool (Assuming the Sgt doesn't have a different load out), 2 wound pools (Assuming the Sgt doesn't have a different load out) with 1 pool being charged combi-meltas and one being discharged? Or as my third question brings up, Three wound pools: 1 being the charged combi-weapons, 1 being the discharged combi-weapons, and 1 being the sgt because his stat profile is different as he's a Sternguard Sgt- even though his weapons and equipment (in this example case) are the same.

How would this interact with temporary status changes? i.e. while I can't think of anything currently that can "jam" ala 2nd Ed Sustained Fire Dice, or non-vehicle apoc weapons that have to skip a turn after firing this stuff could show up in another codex.

As an adjunct to make sure the previous question doesn't get skipped. What if the only difference in statline is the model's "name"? If I have 5 Assault Terminators all with TH/SS, Is the Terminator Sergeant a seperate wound pool because his name is different in his stat line?


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




Red_Lives wrote:
pavonis wrote:In the new codex for Space Marines, it states that captains can have command squads, including Captain Shrike.
My question is that since Shrike is a Jump Infantry, wouldn't it make sense for his command squad to also have the capability to have jump packs? It seems kind of silly and dangerous to give them bikes just so they can keep up.
I can see it now..
Company Champion: "No capt'n, you go ahead, we'll be right behind you." *turns to command squad and winks*
*Apothecary pulls out the poker cards*

Ok, so second question about command squads. It states the squad doesn't count against your HQ allowance, but what do they count as? Do they count against another category like elites or troops?


They are an HQ unit that doesn't take up a FOC slot. Also they are not a retinue but a separate unit that functions independently of the captain.


so...by that same token, one could choose to not have the captain ride with his retinue?

~3,000 7/2/2 (since 5th ed came out.)
~6,000 2/1/0
~1000 (still under construction, and may not continue this until new codex comes out...I'm going to be waiting a while)
"Can't Understand Normal Things" -Robert Bjornson.

92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your sig! -not that I'm a teen anymore but I still don't listen to rap 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




LordPagus wrote:so...by that same token, one could choose to not have the captain ride with his retinue?
Yes - it's a unit unlocked by the captain that doesn't take up a FoC slot. And remember it's not a retinue. You can attach the captain, but you're not required to. It just counts as an additional unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/11/26 18:07:28


 
   
Made in us
Mindless Spore Mine




Greensboro, MD

The Tyranid codex states "only one tyranid warrior per brood may take a barbed strangler or venom cannon" is this to be interpreted as "only one tyranid warrior per brood may take a single barbed strangler or venom cannon" or is it plausible for one warrior to take a twin-linked version of either or one of each?

These next two have little to do with the rules themselves, just requests for minor alterations:
Genestealers now get re-rolls to hit at the low, low cost of 1 point per model. Will this be changed in the near future? I don't want to waste my time converting feeder tendrils onto my models if its going to change my army lists drastically.

Can anything be done about ork players in tournaments? Their movement phase alone takes about twenty minutes. Two different players in the Baltimore GT never got past turn 3 in any game.

 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







can non-dedicated transport start the game with a unit embarked? if no why do dedicated transport get listed as being 'limited' to being deployed carry the unit that selected it? (quick ref pg67)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/28 08:13:22


 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Sheffield, UK

Dark Eldar Hellions. How does the Hellglaive work in 5th edition (or 4th for that matter). In regard to the +1 Strength on the charge even if they shoot.

Spain in Flames: Flames of War (Spanish Civil War 1936-39) Flames of War: Czechs and Slovaks (WWI & WWII) Sheffield & Rotherham Wargames Club

"I'm cancelling you, I'm cancelling you out of shame like my subscription to White Dwarf." - Mark Corrigan: Peep Show
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yes, non-dedicated transports can start with units and/or ICs embarked. They're more flexible than dedicated transports. And dedicated are limited because the rules say so, sorry, best answer I can give you.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

don_mondo wrote:Yes, non-dedicated transports can start with units and/or ICs embarked.


Got a page reference for that?

 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







insaniak wrote:
don_mondo wrote:Yes, non-dedicated transports can start with units and/or ICs embarked.


Got a page reference for that?


no he can't which is why i put it here ... RAI they must be able to ... but since there is no rule stating you can, they can't ... with friends i don't think any one would fight about this ... on the other hand how many people would fight this in a tournament to gain an advantage?
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

Can a Space Marine Captain calling down an orbital bombardment on a unit only assault that unit, since the rule states that it counts as firing a weapon for all intents and purposes?
Also, if he fires it indirectly he doesn't need line of sight (as it is barage) can he fire it from a vehicle that has no firing points (such as a land raider?)

Not sure if someone has put this here already, but can you deploy or disembark ontop of another model (ie disembarking ontop of the tank)? The rule says you can't move into space occupied by another model, but it never says you can't simply exist there if you got there some other way.

Also, on page 3 the rules state that a model is considered to occupy the area of the base, but area is only two dimensional, how does this work for 3 dimensions?
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

Q: Does a Landspeeder (and Attack Bike) purchased as part of a Ravenwing Attack Squadron count as a scoring unit as stated on Pg. 27 of the Dark Angel's Codex.

Note this has NOT been addressed in an Errata document.

Yes, I realize that this violates the usual restrictions on what the BRB says, but so do Sternguard Vets (as they are not a Troops unit). Codex is supposed to override the BRB when a direct contradiction occurs. In this case, it is not labeling the Landspeeder as "Troops" (which would then be shot down by being a vehicle), but outright declaring it to be scoring which is a direct contradiction between the two books.

Also keep in mind that to meet the criteria of pg. 27, you must purchase a full six-man bike squad at 220pts, then another 100pts to get the scoring Landspeeder.

DA have suffered enough really, I'd like to think we don't lose the Codex>BRB status as well.

Q: Can DA bikes turbo-boost during their scout move? (Pg. 27 as well)

In 4th Ed. it is my understanding that indeed nothing could make a scout move and use turbo-boost at the same time.

DA Codex says: Scouts: Not that no model may make a Turbo Boost move whilst using the Scouts Special Rule.

The Codex however, does not list the full rules for the Scout USR, which means you use the BRB for it. So in this case, is Pg. 27 a reminder of an out-of-date rule, or a restriction that now applies specifically to Ravenwing?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

By RAW, yes indeed, the landspeeder and attack bike both count as scoring units, as they have a codex specific rule that says so, overriding the main rulebook restrictions on what is and isn't scoring. Expect lots of disagreement.
By that same standard, DA bikes cannot turboboost in their Scout move, as they have a codex statement saying they can't, again overriding the main rulebook statement that bikes can turboboost during Scout moves.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

Thanks don_mondo,

That is how I interpret it as well, however my point in posting the question was at least to get it included (yea, I know people will hate the scoring Landspeeder), but also to make sure that the ruling is consistent.

i.e. If I don't have a scoring Landspeeder despite my Codex saying I do, then I better not have non-Turbo Boosting bikes because of my Codex as well.

On the same note, if I don't have scoring Landspeeders because of the BRB, then I shouldn't have restricted Scout abilities either.

Just want it consistent either direction.
   
Made in us
Plaguebearer with a Flu



Virginia Beach

A vehicle is considered to have a leadership of 10 for the purpose of the Changeling's special rule. How does that interact with said vehicle if there is a Culexus assassin standing next to the vehicle? The vehicle itself doesn't have a stat line to reduce to 7 normally but it does when it applies to the Changeling's ability.

Is a Nemesis Force Weapon considered a force weapon when used by any model as it applies to Blessing of the Blood God?

If a Daemon Prince uses Aura of Decay to do a shooting hit on every model within 6 inches and then shoots at a unit with a targeted shooting attack (Daemonic Gaze or Breath of Chaos) is he restricted to only assaulting the second target as Aura of Decay doesn't target anything or does the broad area hit allow him to assault anything within 6 inches?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/12/19 23:08:59


 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

DA.27A.01 – Q: Can Ravenwing Bikes Turbo-Boost
during their Scout move?
A: No [RAW].
DA.27C.01 – Ravenwing Combat Squads:
Ignore the reference to “scoring units” as the definition of
a scoring unit has since been changed [clarification].

Consistency, anyone?

The Scout USR has since been changed so that Scout bikes MAY Turbo-Boost.

What justification do you have for enforcing one but not the other? You believe it is appropriate to keep a restrictive old rule, but remove a beneficial one, when both should either be thrown out as outdated, or kept in as RAW?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: