Switch Theme:

Can my power affect units in transports?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





TX

Here, here what Gornall said.

If they do fail their leadership from said wounds and have to fall back but can not, because there is no way to disembark from a perfectly good vehicle during the shooting phase, then would they fall under the rules for being traped which would see the unit destroyed?

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Gornall wrote:BTW, Yakface, since you seem to favor it affecting units in transports, do you plan on addressing those issues?


INAT has already ruled that units inside transports never have to take Morale tests.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

The DoM has 83.333 percent chance of being in range to leech when you spod it in a spore with a diameter equal to 4" assuming the average scatter on 2d6 is 7" since the super Zoie can disembark up to 2" away from the base of the spod:

7" - 2" - 2" = 3"

Thus the spore can scatter back up to 10" (10/12 = 83.333%) and the DoM is still within 6" range of the enemy battleline.

Odds of failing the leadership test on 3d6 and wounds allocated:

3d6 on average is 9 - 12, let's assume a combined roll of 11:

Ld10 - 11 = 1 wound
Ld09 - 11 = 2 wounds
Ld08 - 11 = 3 wounds
Ld07 - 11 = 4 wounds

The rule says every non vehicle unit within 6" must test so I do think this includes embarked units and this was probably the intention.

The best way to counter this power is to keep your units spread out and to me it's not that big a deal. DoM might be able to rock you with one S8 AP1 blast the turn he drops if he is in range of one Ld7 unit. It's your own fault if you clump your units closer together.

I noticed that the word wounds is capitalized under the description of the Cataclysm power... You rules lawyers might be able to figure out how to have some fun with that one.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Gornall wrote:Yeah... my problem with Doom is the whole "what happens next aspect". TBH, if it affects units in transports that's fine. But then do you get cover saves? And then if you lose too many guys and fail your leadership, what happens? It's just a mess. Can't wait for the FAQ.


By the cover save rules, you can't claim cover against the Doom of Malantai.

The question of breaking a unit in a transport isn't new - it's been possible for some time, but has never been addressed. Template weapons fired into buildings have the same effect, as can plasma weaponry inside a transport, or small unit with an attached psyker.

While checking how to handle it, I noticed there's nothing preventing a unit that's falling back hopping into a transport, provided their fall back roll stops them within embarkation range.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

forkbanger wrote:While checking how to handle it, I noticed there's nothing preventing a unit that's falling back hopping into a transport, provided their fall back roll stops them within embarkation range.


That one's been debated before, with opinions divided. Some feel that it's perfectly legal (although returns you to the question of what happens next turn...) whilst others feel that as the Fall Back replaces your normal movement, a unit is restricted to only doing those things that the Fall Back rules specifically state that they can do. Which doesn't include embarking into a transport.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I like how the INAT FAQ addresses fallback whilst inside a transport, it doesn't happen.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Hey guys I am still new here and don't know the terminology much, what is INAT please.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





INAT FAQ is the Adepticon guy's FAQ. We use it in ATL for our tourneys. Some other places use it. You can download it for free after a quick google search if you like.

I saw a Nid player gloating about this. He was up against a SM player with a gunline list. All game long "wait till the DOOOM! gets here". It finally showed up. Mystics pointed to a Dev squad, missile launchers ended it (though that occasioned another round of the Spod vs. Mystics debate). Just thought I'd share an anecdote.

All in all, fact is that Warhammer 40K has never been as balanced as it is now, and codex releases have never been as interesting as they are now (new units and vehicles and tons of new special rules/strategies each release -- not just the same old crap with a few changes in statlines and points costs).

-Therion
_______________________________________

New Codexia's Finest Hour - my fluff about the change between codexes, roughly novel length. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Here is one anecdote of mine. Doom Pods in right behind a Grey Hunter unit that has a Rune Priest and a WGT with CML in it.

Tries to Spirit Leech, I pass the Ld Test. Tries to Cataclysm, my Rune Staff nullifies it. Next turn, tries to Leech again, I roll a 9 on 3D6. Then, I fire 8 Bolters, 2 Plasma Guns, a Storm Bolter, 2 Krak Missiles and Living Lightning (which I passed by rolling a 7 on 3D6). The end result was one very dead Doom of Malan'tai and one dead Grey Hunter.

Yes, I killed more of my own men with Plasma Overheats than the Doom Killed.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Its not like it's not going to do some damage some of the time. I've seen people roll 3+ like crazy.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







Green Blow Fly wrote:Its not like it's not going to do some damage some of the time. I've seen people roll 3+ like crazy.

G



Like that one game my wolf guard battle leader made 26 out of 27 3+ invul saves over the course of 7 rounds of combat at that doubles tournament.

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

40kenthusiast wrote:Mystics pointed to a Dev squad, missile launchers ended it (though that occasioned another round of the Spod vs. Mystics debate)


Isn't it clearly spelled out in the DH FAQ that you can choose whether to shoot at a Pod or the Unit inside of it?

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Monster Rain wrote:Isn't it clearly spelled out in the DH FAQ that you can choose whether to shoot at a Pod or the Unit inside of it?


The DH FAQ specifically addresses Drop Pods. Whilst it can be extrapolated to apply to other Deep Striking vehicles, the Mycetic Spore is not a vehicle, so some feel that the Mystic ruling doesn't apply.

Personally, it comes to the exact same situation, so it's good enough for me... but YMMV.

 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Not like it's hard to avoid the mystic's range... unless someone literally has their army climbing on top of each other. At which point they have other problems.

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

If you're avoiding the Mystics' range you are also too far away to use the DoM so the advantage goes to the Imperial Player anyway.

In a mech army it's pretty easy to have the Mystics placed to provide coverage to your whole force.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Just thinking about all the other game mechanics that get affected by DoM affecting units in transports I think the ruling will come down very easy,

"Spirit Leech is considered a psychic attack which does not require a psychic test."

That will come in line with the FAQ of psychic attacks not affecting embarked units and prevent GW devs from having to address a plethora of other issues that would result of allowing it to affect embarked units.
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




DFW, Texas

So vibro cannons can hit transports and the units in them now? Cool.

Edit: Nevermind read the rest of the thread

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/11 20:07:19


“A general that fights a hundred battles and wins a hundred battles in not a great general. The great general is one who finds a way to win without fighting a single battle. Unless of course you play mechdar. Then you're just another brand of cheddar." -Sun Tsu, The Art of War

 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





A Rune Priest can only use some of his powers if he has a fire point, a "hatch" that can be opened to call to the spirits of the great wolf, "wind spirits" and "wolf spirits" If they cant hear my "spirit" unless my heads stuck out the Rhino then I'll be surprised if Spirit Leech can suddenly suck it out regardless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/16 19:15:19


 
   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

Sure the spirits can hear you, it's just the difficult concept of left and right, so you need to point out who thery are going to attack ;-)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: