Switch Theme:

Mycetic Spore Shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Please Read the thread, any refrain from posting things that have either been covered or are off topic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 20:38:58


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Got a quote for that?
Not that I'm arguing. I agree turn = player turn. Shooting phase = Shooting phase.

Also, you're missing what I said on the force weapons. They get one Psychic power per player turn. If they choose one of thier main abilities during the shooting phase (most psychic abilities are PSA, lets at least agree on that), they may NOT use the force weapon during their own assault phase. When I say that they get an ADDITIONAL power that TURN, I mean game turn. Because during the opponents assault phase, they will be able to utilize the force weapons ability. Now, since Psykers normally get only one power per TURN, thats where the additional power comes from (unless the psyker can use more than one power).
Either a PSA and a force weapon during the opponents phase or two force weapon attacks, one per phase, thats still two psycic powers a game turn, and one of them happens during your opponents player turn.

But thats not my main point at all, and I would appreciate if you would stop nagging about minor details like how some obliterator weapons are assault. I don't care anymore, since the army list entry says one per turn. Even if anything else I said about relentless is hugely wrong, it doesn't matter to my main point anymore. And so please don't contribute anything further unless it isn't about something I've already covered.

You're right though. Correcting mistakes IS worthwhile.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

Well back to my MC argument, I'll agree that Codex>BGB but that only allows it to fire in your opponents "phase". it doesn't give you permission to fire more weapons than a MC is allowed in a normal game "turn". My conclusion to this is you may fire 1 in your "phase", and 1 in your opponents, or 2 in either turn and 0 in the opposite.


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I'm confused by all of the back pedaling and giving up on arguments that you're doing now, Doomthumbs.

My first contention has been, and continues to be, that any interpretation which would allow the Mycetic Spore to shoot during the opponent's turn ALSO must allow the Obliterators and Lash Princes to fire. Are you still trying to dispute that? This same mechanism would also, by the way, have to allow Land Raiders with Power of the Machine Spirit to fire one shot each during the opponent's turn.

The other contention, naturally, is "each X phase" does not constitute permission to act beyond the normal turn sequence, and in the normal turn sequence a unit CAN only fire during the controlling player's turn.

Which parts are you still trying to argue?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 21:34:46


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So when you say turn you mean game turn, despite that not being the convention?

Brilliant.

No, you may not shoot the Spod in your opponents turn.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

@ Hallowed . Page 103 of the BRB Tyranid section, last words on the page. I've been saving this quote. This one is like a fine cigar, and I'm going to take a moment to type that one out. Won't you share it with me later?

But first, I'd like to arrange for a tutor to bring nosferatu into the world of people who can read. I've quoted it like 4 time now for you man. Page 9, GAME TURNS AND PLAYER TURNS. Read it have fun. Then tell me what a turn is.

@


Automatically Appended Next Post:

@ Hallowed . Page 103 of the Tyranid codex, last words on the page. I've been saving this quote. This one is like a fine cigar, and I'm going to take a moment to type that one out. Won't you share it with me later? It is so good.
But first, nosferatu, learn to read. I've quoted it like 4 times now for you man. Page 9, GAME TURNS AND PLAYER TURNS. Read it have fun. Then tell me what a turn is. Review it against my posts. You'll get it, eventually.

solkan wrote:I'm confused by all of the back pedaling and giving up on arguments that you're doing now, Doomthumbs.

My first contention has been, and continues to be, that any interpretation which would allow the Mycetic Spore to shoot during the opponent's turn ALSO must allow the Obliterators and Lash Princes to fire. Are you still trying to dispute that? This same mechanism would also, by the way, have to allow Land Raiders with Power of the Machine Spirit to fire one shot each during the opponent's turn.

The other contention, naturally, is "each X phase" does not constitute permission to act beyond the normal turn sequence, and in the normal turn sequence a unit CAN only fire during the controlling player's turn.

Which parts are you still trying to argue?


Ok, I'll try a metaphor. You know how a rocket going into space has fuel tanks that burn up getting it to the upper atmosphere, and are then ejected to make the shuttle lighter for the final push into outer space? My "backpedaling and giving up" is just that. The relentless argument? Forget I ever said that. Its gone, a crutch to my argument that I no longer need. Obliterators have an army list rule that makes anything you said invalid. So my relentless argument, which I admitted was extremely thin, is ejected. I no longer need it, so wave goodbye to it as we float on out amongst the stars. Thats how I do that. I'll go on if you're still confused.
Also, the demon Prince. How can he shot an assault weapon in my turn again? You still havn't given me a page number to look up.
My other answer for you is still under TURN SEQUENCE EXCEPTIONS and beyond that, I don't know what to tell you other than it says I must shoot every phase. (So I will).


Now, I think I'll let Hallowed bring this one home. Everyone go three posts up and read that again. No, wait, I'll post it here.
Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:Well back to my MC argument, I'll agree that Codex>BGB but that only allows it to fire in your opponents "phase". it doesn't give you permission to fire more weapons than a MC is allowed in a normal game "turn". My conclusion to this is you may fire 1 in your "phase", and 1 in your opponents, or 2 in either turn and 0 in the opposite.

Welcome back., if it was too late to catch you.

Now, Page 103 of the BRB, the last words on the page. "Note: If a Monsterous Creature fires two identical weapons, it counts as firing a single twin linked weapon."
How freaking great is that? That quote is like awesomely useful to my argument. You can't know how hard it was to wait until someone else asked specifically that question.

So based on what you said, and backed up by that quoting the rulebook thing I keep doing, I can fire the two shots I'd get as a single twin linked weapon. Or a carnifex armed with two sets of twinlinked devourers could fire them both, twin linked as a single weapon, one in mine, one in my opponents.

Kaboom.

Does that do anything for ya?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/19 01:24:49


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Page 103 of a codex that only has 96 pages?
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Not the Tyranid Codex, The Big Rule Book.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Page 103 of the 5th edition big rulebook? So, you mean the An Empire Among the Stars background material?
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

An interesting counter, but what weapons can the spod twin link? it only comes with ripper tetacles and it can not buy an additional set.
With that, all you are left with is 2 weapons that you can fire each round.


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:An interesting counter, but what weapons can the spod twin link? it only comes with ripper tetacles and it can not buy an additional set.
With that, all you are left with is 2 weapons that you can fire each round.
Deathspitters.

Really. They have options.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

kirsanth wrote:
Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:An interesting counter, but what weapons can the spod twin link? it only comes with ripper tetacles and it can not buy an additional set.
With that, all you are left with is 2 weapons that you can fire each round.
Deathspitters.

Really. They have options.

Ok bad wording on my part.
They only get a TL deathspitter, they don't get two. The wording is that if they have two identical, they may fire it as TL weapon, but as it is already TL, and no weapon may be fired in the same turn, returning me to my argument, you can only fire a max of 2 weapons in the turn.


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:They only get a TL deathspitter, they don't get two. The wording is that if they have two identical, they may fire it as TL weapon, but as it is already TL, and no weapon may be fired in the same turn, returning me to my argument, you can only fire a max of 2 weapons in the turn.
They could fire the TL deathspitter and the ripper tenticles, since the TL deathspitter counts as one.

Or am I missing your point?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

My point is that under MC in the BGB, it says you may fire two weapons instead of one per turn. per turn is my point, and that's the only one that doom hasn't disproved.
if it can only fire 2 weapons per turn, it has to divide those up between your shooting and opponents shooting phase. Now you might say "then i'll shoot each weapon once each phase" but you can only fire a weapon once per turn.
Therefore, as the spod can only purchase 1 additional weapon, it stands that, yes, it can fire in opponents phase, but you have to take your 2 max shots in any combinations but only 2.


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

But an unqualified turn is a player turn.

Firing two weapons per turn falls easily into allowable by both sides--each turn has a shooting phase.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

Oh no. Looks like i disproved my point then?


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Doomthumbs, quoting from the unit summary in the rulebook as authoritative? That's pure comedy gold. It would be even more entertaining if the Mycetic Spore pod was capable of duplicating any of its weapons, instead of having weapons that fire multiple shots.

The Prince and Obliterator arguments are better than yours because their rules say that they may shoot and are thus given permission to shoot, compared to your "automatically fires" which doesn't mean that it necessarily can.

Do you plan on resigning the next time one of your Mycetic Spore pods gets into a situation where it can't draw line of sight to the nearest enemy, since you claim that "automatically fires" means that it must fire and you would therefore be breaking the rules by not firing when you must? Or when the nearest enemy unit is locked in close combat? Or any other situation in which the nearest enemy unit can't actually be shot by the spore pod?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/19 03:11:10


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:Oh no. Looks like i disproved my point then?
Err. . .maybe?
I was really asking.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
solkan wrote:stuff regarding targeting
So are you saying it is impossible to target if it is not your shooting phase? That would be more worth investigation than the. . .random(?) assertions.

Time to read!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/19 03:13:12


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




N Nevada

kirsanth wrote:
Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:Oh no. Looks like i disproved my point then?
Err. . .maybe?
I was really asking.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
solkan wrote:stuff regarding targeting
So are you saying it is impossible to target if it is not your shooting phase? That would be more worth investigation than the. . .random(?) assertions.

Time to read!

My now moot point was that they can only fire a 2 weapons in a turn instead of in a phase.
But since an unqualified turn is a player turn...erm...ok I guess i was a little drunk between posts and lost the train of thought. Back to my original point then, I suppose, it says that they can only fire in the player turn. hmm... Yeah. that.


"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:My now moot point
Then we should carry on with the discussion!

It is the bits that most ignore that makes looking (trolling?) through the rules exciting instead of banal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/19 03:36:48


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

solkan wrote:Doomthumbs, quoting from the unit summary in the rulebook as authoritative? That's pure comedy gold. It would be even more entertaining if the Mycetic Spore pod was capable of duplicating any of its weapons, instead of having weapons that fire multiple shots.

The Prince and Obliterator arguments are better than yours because their rules say that they may shoot and are thus given permission to shoot, compared to your "automatically fires" which doesn't mean that it necessarily can.

Do you plan on resigning the next time one of your Mycetic Spore pods gets into a situation where it can't draw line of sight to the nearest enemy, since you claim that "automatically fires" means that it must fire and you would therefore be breaking the rules by not firing when you must? Or when the nearest enemy unit is locked in close combat? Or any other situation in which the nearest enemy unit can't actually be shot by the spore pod?



The prince and oblits may shoot each turn. Specified as your turn by rules of page 9. Not each phase Is there someone else that understands that difference that can maybe explain it better than I can? I've tried a few times now and its just not getting through.
Not gonna resign if my shooting is out of range, no. I wear big boy pants. And I see stuff through to the end, with quotes.

Since the spore technically must shoot at the nearest unit once per Shooting phase (not turn. Solkan, this is you wake up), it is technically shooting TWO ripper tentacles and TWO of whatever other gun. Since the rule on page 103 ( little rule book? the rule book with no extra pictures in it.) says that if a TYRANID Monsterous Creature fires two identical weapons, it counts as firing a single twin linked weapon.
Twin linked Ripper tentacles and Cluster spines, once a turn on my turn as a compromise? That would also solve the problem of me doing anything in your turn, which apparently angers some ancient god, even though it says I can on Pg 9.
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






kirsanth wrote:
Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:My now moot point
Then we should carry on with the discussion!

It is the bits that most ignore that makes looking (trolling?) through the rules exciting instead of banal.



Accurate usage and bonus points for increasing obscurity +3up

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Doomthumbs - unqualified turn == player turn. Yet for you it meant game turn. Your turn to read, me thinks.

Page 103 of the BRB is fluff. If you are talking about the unit summary at the end of the books, which details stats for units, then it has NO bearing on the Tyranid codex, because you are entirely ignoring the rules at the start of the section which state....wait for it...that where the codex disagrees (and the nid codex does) then you ignore it. Sorry, your fine cigar crumbled to ash in one pull.

If that section held any weight at all (it really, really, REALLY, doesnt, you know. Hilarious that you are relying on it) Wave serpents have Armour 2.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/19 07:22:27


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Before the rebuttal, a note on the turn sequence and the turn...

Page 15, paragraph two of the rulebook: Each player's force fires during the Shooting phase of his own turn. And during that shooting phase, any and all of the player's units may fire. Those two statements establish all of the permission to fire during each player's shooting phase, and most weapon related rules involve conditionally removing that permission to fire.

As a permissive rules set, that means that each player's force has absolutely no permission to fire during the opposing player's turn, and reduces "each Shooting phase" to mean "each player's own Shooting phase" when dealing with shooting. The Doom of Malantai's Spirit Leech is an example of the specificity required to do something in the opponent's shooting phase.

According to page 9, the use of 'turn' without qualification means 'player turn', and one game turn is composed of two player turns, one for each player. The result: Any rule which states that something is allowed once per turn therefore means once per player turn--once in the controlling player's turn, and once in the opposing player's turn. The Librarian using a Force Weapon to inflict Instant Death using his Force Weapon on an enemy model during the opponent's player turn is using a 'once per player turn' psychic power test to do so without hindering preventing him from using the 'once per player turn' psychic power test in the his controlling player turn that game turn.

Now, back to the argument ad absurdum in progress...

You claim that the Mycetic Spore Pod must shoot in each Shooting phase because it says "automatically shoots at the nearest enemy unit each Shooting phase". I'll assume that you'll agree that what it actually means is "automatically shoots at the nearest enemy unit each Shooting phase if possible" to avoid attempting to shoot at things in melee, in reserve, out of line of sight, etc.

40K is a permissive rule set. The Chaos Space Marine codex says that the Obliterators may fire one weapon from their list in each shooting phase. That's permission to fire, if it is possible to do so.

For the Daemon Prince, the rulebook specifies that a Psyker can use one psychic power test per player turn. The Lash of Submission is a psychic power that may be used in each Shooting phase. There is some room for argument whether the Lash of Submission is actually a psychic shooting power, but I'll stipulate that it is, and as a result it defaults to being an assault weapon. In the rulebook for Monstrous Creatures, a Monstrous creature can fire two weapons per player turn. So, the Lash Prince clearly has the capacity (excess capacity, even) to use the power if it is possible to fire a weapon during the enemy's shooting phase.

If you want to claim that page nine let's the Mycetic Spore Pod fire, then allow me to return the favor and say that it would also allow Obliterators and Lash Princes to fire as well. It spells out like this:

Here's my Obliterator. It has a rule granting it permission to fire, it has a rule that allows it to choose one weapon per player turn, and here's this nice opposing player's player turn in which it hasn't chosen a weapon yet. All of that adds up to: Here's my Obliterator who gets to take advantage of "There are times when a player is allowed to perform actions during their opponent's turn..." to shoot during the opposing player's turn.

Likewise for the Lash Prince, there's the rule allowing it to use one psychic power per player turn, the power that it can use in each Shooting phase, and the opposing player's player turn in which it hasn't used its psychic test yet. So, that means that it's allowed to perform an action during the opponent's turn, using Lash, according to the same statement.

So, once more with feeling: In order for the Mycetic Spore Pod to fire during the enemy shooting phase, it must be possible to fire during the enemy shooting phase, and if that's possible then the Lash Prince and Obliterators get to join in on the fun. And also the contrapositive, if it's not possible for the Obliterators to shoot or Lash Prince, then it isn't possible for the Mycetic Spore Pod to fire.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nice, succint argument fully summing up the failure in logic from the other side....

I wouldnt bother much further - you'll now probably get something about "phase, not TURN" or "try reading" as a response.
   
Made in us
Hierarch




Pueblo, CO

solkan wrote:Here's my Obliterator. It has a rule granting it permission to fire, it has a rule that allows it to choose one weapon per player turn, and here's this nice opposing player's player turn in which it hasn't chosen a weapon yet. All of that adds up to: Here's my Obliterator who gets to take advantage of "There are times when a player is allowed to perform actions during their opponent's turn..." to shoot during the opposing player's turn.


Perhaps it's just me, but judging by the wording, they don't actually have any ranged weapons in the opponent's shooting phase... or at all outside of the owning player's turn, when they're selected. That being said, I don't have the codex in front of me, so I'll have to check this one out when I have the chance.
   
Made in eu
Alluring Sorcerer of Slaanesh






Reading, UK

It shoots in it's own shooting phase, not every shooting phase, unlike the Doom of Malan'tai which states in the codex

'at the beginning of every shooting phase, even the foes'

suggesting that there are 2 separate shooting phases one for you and one for your enemy. If the spod was going to shoot in every phase, even your foes, then it would say that in the codex.

I understand where you are saying 'each', but this is in reference to your own shooting phases as generally, you would have more than 1 shooting phase.


No pity, no remorse, no shoes 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

To Hallowed with his new business before I feed the trolls:
Don't give up on your point so easily, the MC unit entry on page 51 of the BRB doesn't ever say turn EITHER. It says "Monsterous Creatures can fire two of their weapons one per shooting phase." Combined with the rule about MCs shooting 2 identical weapons and it counting as a single twin linked weapon, that could get pretty ugly pretty quick. Again, because it says Shooting phase only, with no mention of turn.
Thats kinda interesting too, but I'm going to rehash parts from the whole thread into a more concise argument in another thread once this one comes to a close, and I'll bring up this point there. I think I'll name the thread Phase instead of turn. Think that will stave off people who still think it says turn anywhere NEAR the spore? Me either but its worth a shot.

From Solkan's long post with no quotes:
"40K is a permissive rule set. The Chaos Space Marine codex says that the Obliterators may fire one weapon from their list in each shooting phase. That's permission to fire, if it is possible to do so."

Again, No, it says turn, not shooting phase. "One per turn from..." Thats not permission. Also you seem to be laboring under the impression that I'm going to be really put out if the spore can't shoot at something. No, if its out of range its out of range and cant shoot. That is spelled out. Oblits have a rule that gives it permission to fire once per turn. Any time turn even gets mentioned it means player turn, and so only once per game turn. Because the oblits say turn, you are limited to just a player turn, which only has one shooting phase.
Like the mouthbreather below points out,
@Nosferatu.
Its too bad that the nice succinct argument brings up over and over again points already made. Like yours! "Doomthumbs - unqualified turn == player turn. Yet for you it meant game turn. Your turn to read, me thinks. " I have NEVER misunderstood this distinction in the post, but its one you're jumping up and down over like a jack russel terrier. Please go back and read, I'm not feeding your trollish arguments anymore. I've always said that any mention of turn AT ALL means player turn. Otherwise it says game in front of it. Thats etched in STONE man.


Back to Solkan, with another quote from him. " Here's my Obliterator who gets to take advantage of "There are times when a player is allowed to perform actions during their opponent's turn..." to shoot during the opposing player's turn. " So you're AGAIN claiming your oblits get to fire using MY argument. Thats when my SPORE gets to fire because the spore doesnt say turn it says phase.
Dronze gets it. Ask him. You'll come around eventually too. Because this is another point I tire of making over and over and over. I want to discuss new topics on the subject, like Hallowed brings up. This is just repetitive garbage. If you make another really long post detailing why oblits and lash princes get to do something during my phase because of the rule that says they can shoot one per turn, I'm gonna laugh and ignore it unless theres something new.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Now I'm gonna askyou to PLEASE show (quotes would be nice) where it says turn in any way for the spore or Monsterous creature shooting.

Ok, now you see where it says turn for yours?

That makes them different, and special.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If the oblits are doing something each turn, it doesnt mean the opponents turn. If the spore does something each phase, it WOULD because it isn't tied to a single turn by any rule.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pilau Rice wrote:I understand where you are saying 'each', but this is in reference to your own shooting phases as generally


Says who? I can find the rule that says that if it mentions turn at all it means just yours. But if it says shooting phase? This is STILL my main point.

Wheres the QUOTE thats says shooting phase means just mine?
Once per turn = once per player turn, therefore only once per game turn.
Once per phase = once on each players turn, therefore twice per game turn.

Unless theres a quote that says otherwise. Because I can back up the above with a rulebook.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2010/10/20 04:59:15


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Dronze wrote:
solkan wrote:Here's my Obliterator. It has a rule granting it permission to fire, it has a rule that allows it to choose one weapon per player turn, and here's this nice opposing player's player turn in which it hasn't chosen a weapon yet. All of that adds up to: Here's my Obliterator who gets to take advantage of "There are times when a player is allowed to perform actions during their opponent's turn..." to shoot during the opposing player's turn.


Perhaps it's just me, but judging by the wording, they don't actually have any ranged weapons in the opponent's shooting phase... or at all outside of the owning player's turn, when they're selected. That being said, I don't have the codex in front of me, so I'll have to check this one out when I have the chance.


The Chaos Space Marine codex has two bits for the Obliterator. The first bit says that they can choose from the list of weapons when the fire each Shooting phase, that's on page 35.
The second bit is in the army list entry, which says that it's "once per turn from ..." on page 100.

See the main rulebook for the fact that turn means player turn and the codex is in fact stating that they have a weapon choice during both player turns of the game turn.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Nice, succint argument fully summing up the failure in logic from the other side....

I wouldnt bother much further - you'll now probably get something about "phase, not TURN" or "try reading" as a response.


I'm not worried. That's what the "Report this post as trolling" button is for.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/20 05:37:19


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Doomthumbs wrote:To Hallowed with his new business before I feed the trolls:


Ironic, really, that you would say this.

Doomthumbs wrote:Combined with the rule about MCs shooting 2 identical weapons and it counting as a single twin linked weapon, that could get pretty ugly pretty quick. Again, because it says Shooting phase only, with no mention of turn.


There IS NO SUCH RULE. It is not in the Tyranid codex and, as you appear to have deliberately yet again ignored the rules for the summary - where the codex disagrees the summary in the BRB loses.

Doomthumbs wrote:From Solkan's long post with no quotes:
"40K is a permissive rule set. The Chaos Space Marine codex says that the Obliterators may fire one weapon from their list in each shooting phase. That's permission to fire, if it is possible to do so."

Again, No, it says turn, not shooting phase. "One per turn from..." Thats not permission.

Nope, there are two entries for the obliterator, and one states each phase. Given that this is the section which describes their weapon (which you laughingly dismiss as a fluff section) you canot ignore it.

WEll, apparently you can, but it destroys you argument yet further.

Doomthumbs wrote:Also you seem to be laboring under the impression that I'm going to be really put out if the spore can't shoot at something. No, if its out of range its out of range and cant shoot. That is spelled out.


Actually you are claiming it is forced to shoot, and this is extraordinary permission to do so in your opponents turn. This MUST would, in your fantasy world, as a necessary conclusion also override other restrictions (because if youre going to override one rule without it explicitly stating you can, as you are believing you can, then you should at least be vaguely consisten)

Doomthumbs wrote: Oblits have a rule that gives it permission to fire once per turn.

COrrection: per phase.

Doomthumbs wrote: Any time turn even gets mentioned it means player turn, and so only once per game turn.

Incorrect.
Each player turn == twice per game turn
Your player turn == once per game turn.
This is where you are "confused" I guess.

Doomthumbs wrote: Because the oblits say turn, you are limited to just a player turn, which only has one shooting phase.

Incorrect, see above. Also you REALLY dont like that it states phase, do you?

Doomthumbs wrote:Like the mouthbreather below points out,


aaaaaand reported. Well done.


Doomthumbs wrote:Its too bad that the nice succinct argument brings up over and over again points already made. Like yours! "Doomthumbs - unqualified turn == player turn. Yet for you it meant game turn. Your turn to read, me thinks. " I have NEVER misunderstood this distinction in the post, but its one you're jumping up and down over like a jack russel terrier. Please go back and read, I'm not feeding your trollish arguments anymore. I've always said that any mention of turn AT ALL means player turn. Otherwise it says game in front of it. Thats etched in STONE man.


Yet you stated, quite clearly, that you believed "turn" meant game turn.

Doomthumbs wrote:Back to Solkan, with another quote from him. " Here's my Obliterator who gets to take advantage of "There are times when a player is allowed to perform actions during their opponent's turn..." to shoot during the opposing player's turn. " So you're AGAIN claiming your oblits get to fire using MY argument. Thats when my SPORE gets to fire because the spore doesnt say turn it says phase.
Dronze gets it. Ask him. You'll come around eventually too. Because this is another point I tire of making over and over and over. I want to discuss new topics on the subject, like Hallowed brings up. This is just repetitive garbage. If you make another really long post detailing why oblits and lash princes get to do something during my phase because of the rule that says they can shoot one per turn, I'm gonna laugh and ignore it unless theres something new.


The point is:

YOUR argument contains no permission to fire in your opponents turn. However if we believe your argument to be true by dint of the same permission you have made up out of whole cloth Oblits and MCs can fire in the opponents turn.

It is a reductio ad absurdum: show you that your illogic argument has some wonderful conclusions.

Doomthumbs wrote:Ok, now you see where it says turn for yours?

That makes them different, and special.


No, it really doesn't. It contains no permission for you to break the turn rules. Nice try though.

Doomthumbs wrote:If the oblits are doing something each turn, it doesnt mean the opponents turn. If the spore does something each phase, it WOULD because it isn't tied to a single turn by any rule.


Incorrect. See above.

Doomthumbs wrote:Says who? I can find the rule that says that if it mentions turn at all it means just yours. But if it says shooting phase? This is STILL my main point.


Incorrect, see above.

Doomthumbs wrote:Wheres the QUOTE thats says shooting phase means just mine?
Once per turn = once per player turn, therefore only once per game turn.
Once per phase = once on each players turn, therefore twice per game turn.


Incorrect, see above.
Doomthumbs wrote:Unless theres a quote that says otherwise. Because I can back up the above with a rulebook.

No you cant, as you rely on a quote fromt he BRB summary which is overridden by the rules in the summary section, you dont understand the difference between each turn and own turn, and so forth.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: