Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:44:33
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Execpt that you would not be following the rules, as the person who moved the models. You are compelled to move all models into base to base contact, if they are able to get there. At the point where you want a linking model, as I have said multiple times now you can have it, but if you want to multi assault and can stay in coherency while making your move, you are required to. There is no time deleniation, or notation after the first model moves into b2b, after that if you are going to multi assault you are required to follow all the rules as if you are multi assaulting.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:46:14
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
KP, when do you decide to multi-assault?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:49:45
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Right KP - once there is a multi-assault you must follow all the rules.
I've moved the first three models, deciding I disnt want to multi-assault. The 4th model comes and I change my mind.
Where is the rule saying I must re-move the 3rd model?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 20:43:21
Subject: Re:Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
Pacific NW
|
This is a fun thread!
One thing that seems to be getting overlooked by some is the very first rule of the Assault Phase: Declare Charges. If you want to multi-assault, you have to declare what you are primarily charging, plus any additional targets.
Thus you are already "assaulting" the other unit. So you move the first model, closest to closest, to your first target. Then you get the charge distance for that unit to move the other models wherever you like with a few exceptions:
1) Must maintain coherency
2) Must get into base to base with the enemy in the declared units, if at all possible.
To be frank, the order in most circumstances I'm picturing doesn't even factor into it. Coherency is the only thing that matters. He could be the last model moved and he wouldn't have to get into base to base, so long as he's the one making sure the unit is still in coherency at the end of the charge.
Now I don't know how things were positioned, heck the OP might not even remember. But the 40mm Terminator Base is 1.6" wide. Coherency is another 2". That means for him to have been able to do this the Rhino and the Tactical Marine Squad would have to have been over 5.34" apart, at least from the point that his first Terminator charged. That's a hefty distance. Its hard to picture how he would have been able to dodge a difficult terrain test if a crater was anywhere nearby.
So its conceivable the guy pulled a fast one. Without pictures there's no way to be 100% sure.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 20:48:17
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Wrong. The only target you declare is the first one. Any additional units just get moved into b2b with.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 20:49:58
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cowmonaut - you dont declare all your targets THEN move. Thats exactly the opposite of what the rules say.
KP "You are compelled to move all models into base to base contact, if they are able to get there. "
WITH THE UNIT YOU ARE ASSAULTING. The "linking" model could not get achieve btb, so was free to move to the position the OP indicated. At this point it is a single assault
I THEN find, AS i move models (the 3rd model) that the 4th model CAN make btb with another unit - so i move them into base contact
Arey ou now saying that I must go back and replay the 3rd models move? Because that isnt how the rules work, as has been proven over an over and over, with you being the only one who seems to think otherwise...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 22:27:36
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Not to throw a monkey wrench in the mix but how does the following work.
5 TH/SS Termies are 3" from a rhino and Termie ,D and E are within 5" of a tac squad but D blocked by difficult terrian.
Assult is declared on the Rhino
Termie A moves into BTB
Termie B moves into BTB
Termie C "Floats" within 2" bridging the gap because he couldn't get into BTB with the Rhino
So far, legal. Now I choose to muli-assult, Because I have to go thru Difficult terrian I roll, and get a 4. What happens?
(Edit)
Does the floater have to be re-positioned because it couldn't move the 6" to be the bridge?
Does B have to be pulled back from BTB it it couldn't make the distance?
Does the entire assult fail even though 4" is enough for the initial Rhino assult?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 22:37:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 22:35:55
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You fail to multi-assault as you cannot reach another unit, therfore, you can only assault the rhine.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 07:49:20
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
Wherever Arses Need Severing
|
I tremble at the fury I have unleashed. I quit. I'm just gonna play with Legos. They always make it into combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 09:05:28
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Cowmonaut - you dont declare all your targets THEN move. Thats exactly the opposite of what the rules say.
KP "You are compelled to move all models into base to base contact, if they are able to get there. "
WITH THE UNIT YOU ARE ASSAULTING. The "linking" model could not get achieve btb, so was free to move to the position the OP indicated. At this point it is a single assault
I THEN find, AS i move models (the 3rd model) that the 4th model CAN make btb with another unit - so i move them into base contact
Arey ou now saying that I must go back and replay the 3rd models move? Because that isnt how the rules work, as has been proven over an over and over, with you being the only one who seems to think otherwise...
Here's the thing, as the owning player and assaulting player, you are required after the first models move into base contact to move any and all models that can reach base to base with a model in any units you are/will be assaulting.
As per the rules on page 34: moving assaulting units, follow bullet points. Check if you want to multi charge, before movement, follow all rules under assaulting multiple enemy units, follow rules on page 34, which reference moving assaulting units. Primary and most importantly there is no major stop sign and check, no big this is how you do it, other then move first model into unit you declared as the target. After that if you are/will be multi-charging you must follow all the bullet points from moving assaulting units. Which after the first says,"If possible, you MUST move into base contact....." This but they are not the unit declared is a red herring. It says in the first paragraph in moving assaulting modelslast sentence, " This means... and may not move into base contact with enemy models they are not assaulting." This means that if you charge in second or last the units that are being charged are being assaulted, which means they are, and always will be a legal target once you the moving player decided that you wanted to assault them.
So my question to you all who think you can move outside the way I suggest is the proper way, why are you all of a sudden able to hold back a guy in a unit which is going to assault another unit that is not the target unit?
Your unit is going to be assaulting the other unit. At this point you are required to follow all the rules under moving assaulting units and assaulting multple enemy units, which are the same. Which means you have to follow them when you are going to multi-charge at any point, otherwise you are in fact holding back.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 13:23:17
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
KP wrote:Here's the thing, as the owning player and assaulting player, you are required after the first models move into base contact to move any and all models that can reach base to base with a model in any units you are/will be assaulting.
Actually no, you are not. That is a chronic misreading, again, of the rules. YOU CHOOSE the *order* in which you move models, and when you move a model only THEN are you required to follow the bullets - because they refer strictly to the moving models. Not moving units. Read it again and understand your mistake. When you pick a model to move, it must follow the bullet points - not before.
KP wrote:Check if you want to multi charge, before movement,
WRONG
Explicitly stated that you may find you can multicharge AS you are moving. You repeatedly ignore this very, very simple rule that entirely destroys your argument, again and again.
Meaning that AS you move each model you can determine if you can multicharge. Not before you move anything - unless you want to - but during, if you want to.
Stop making rules up. You are wrong on this. 100% wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 16:34:55
Subject: Confused by Judge Ruling on Multi-charge
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
This thread seems to have gone circular. I don't see any new arguments in the last page or so. Locking. If someone has something new to add, you can start a new thread or PM a moderator to ask for this to be reopened.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|