Switch Theme:

Start of librarians movement phase...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

time wizard wrote:Okay, page 4 says start of turn or movement phase actions must be taken before "voluntary actions".

Isn't using the Gate of Infinity a "voluntary action"? You certainly are not required to use the power.

It's a voluntary action, but one that happens at the start of the phase.


And there is nothing on page 83 that says a Librarian must use the GoI power before moving any other units.

If you have moved other units, it is no longer the start of the phase.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

insaniak wrote:
time wizard wrote:Okay, page 4 says start of turn or movement phase actions must be taken before "voluntary actions".

Isn't using the Gate of Infinity a "voluntary action"? You certainly are not required to use the power.

It's a voluntary action, but one that happens at the start of the phase.


So I have to use GoI before a voluntary action, but it is a voluntary action that I must take at the start of the phase before I take any voluntary action, except for this voluntary action that must be taken before any other voluntary action because after I take a voluntary action I can't take any actions that takes place at the start of the phase except for those voluntary actions that must take place at the start of the phase.

Yeah.......I got it now!

{Above was tongue in cheek, of course! } {Well, kind of! }

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Or, for the uncomplicated version, when they say 'voluntary actions' they simply mean 'voluntary actions with no specific activation time'...

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

biccat wrote:
Mannahnin wrote:So the only sensible way (to my mind) to resolve that is to say that all things which happen at "the start of the movement phase" must be resolved before anything else which happens during the movement phase.

Coincidentally, this also happens to be the way the INAT rules it, which answers Tirumbar's original question.

So it's the position of INAT that "the start of the Librarian's movement phase" is the same as "the start of the Movement phase"?


The INAT is not explicit about Gate of Infinity & The Summoning, but that is my read. I agree with your reasoning that it's a bigger leap to think that individual units have their own movement phases, and the more likely conclusion is that it's referring to the owning player's movement phase.

Time Wizard wrote:Okay, page 4 says start of turn or movement phase actions must be taken before "voluntary actions".

Isn't using the Gate of Infinity a "voluntary action"? You certainly are not required to use the power.

And there is nothing on page 83 that says a Librarian must use the GoI power before moving any other units.


Yes, start of turn actions must happen before voluntary actions. GoI is voluntary, but is specifically denoted as taking place at the start of the phase. The only inference which needs to be made is that "Librarian's movement phase" means the owning player's movement phase.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Happyjew wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Occam's Razor tells us that the simpler explanation should be the one we select.


This isn't necessarily true. It is explained in full why "Simplest is best" is not always right, here:

http://stardestroyer.net/Empire/Essays/Occam.html


He seems to leave out a crucial notion (unless I missed it) in the theory, in that "other things being equal. . ."

Meaning, substitute known values for unknown values, and if you insert those known values into all equations, the simplest answer (that also gives you the desired result, as in the 'creates the curve' in his first example) is most often the correct one.

However, all semantics aside, it should simply be remembered as this:

"Don't multiply beyond necessity."

Meaning, if you have two rules that could both function, but one of them requires you to create a new "phase" that doesn't exist, you are, by definition, multiplying beyond necessity.



This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/04/05 03:56:39


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

puma713 wrote:However, all semantics aside, it should simply be remembered as this:

"Don't multiply beyond necessity."

Meaning, if you have two rules that could both function, but one of them requires you to create a new "phase" that doesn't exist, you are, by definition, multiplying beyond necessity.

And one of them makes more than one thing happen 'At the start of the movement phase'

When clearly once you have done anything it is no longer the 'start of the movement phase' and by definition, multiplying beyond necessity.

I thought "The Librarians movement phase" was clear. but it clearly is not.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

When clearly once you have done anything it is no longer the 'start of the movement phase' and by definition, multiplying beyond necessity.


Under this interpretation, where "start" or "end" of a phase is a discrete instant during which only one thing can happen, you can only make one Reserve roll in a turn. And only one Morale test from shooting. This is not a functional interpretation.

Clearly the start and end of a phase are periods during which only things which happen at the start or end of a phase can take place.

All events which take place at the start of a phase must be resolved before moving on to other events which take place in that phase, but are not specifically designated as taking place at the start of the phase. All events which take place at the end of a phase must be resolved AFTER resolving all events which take place in that phase but are not specifically designated as happening at the end of that phase.

In the movement phase, you frequently have events which must be resolved at the beginning of the phase- Gate or Summoning, Reserve Rolls, Summoning Lesser Daemons or Possession by Greater Daemons, etc. You must resolve these before moving on to other events which take place in the movement phase. Units moving on from Reserves are not explicitly designated as moving on at the start of the phase, just before other units can move. So the correct sequence is to resolve all "Start of Turn/Start of Movement Phase" events, then move units on from Reserves, then move other units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 11:48:08


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: