Switch Theme:

Initiative Steps Pile-in vs Swinging  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





DeathReaper wrote:Except that the right column on P.23 equates the two terms, so the models initiative step is when he is allowed to make attacks.

P.23 right column bold says "Models make their attacks when their initiative step is reached" It also states "Note that certain situations, abilities and
weapons can modify a model's Initiative."

/thread.
Another "OMG GW Y U MAKE RULES LOOPHOLE" that isn't there at all.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Pile in does not reference A MODEL'S initiative step.

I agree that a model's initiative step is when they attack.

But Pile In doesn't care what initiative step a model is.

You pile in when you reach an initiative step EQUAL TO THE INITIATIVE OF THE MODEL.

Once again, NOT THE MODELS STEP,

Thus Unwieldy does not effect pile in.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

Read the page 429 !
Cleary states Initiative VALUE!
- All models with this Initiative value now Pile in
- All engaged models with this Initiative now get to make a number of Attacks ....

Unwieldy, makes you to ATTACK at I1 does not change your Initiative VALUE.

Again Pile in and Attacking are 2 separate rules with different conditions affecting them.

Read page 22. Charging through Difficult terrain, is only referring to attacking at I1 not pile in!



 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Right, they attack at I1 so their initiative step is I1.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut





At each Initiative STEP, you pile in models with an Initiative VALUE.

At each Initiative STEP, you roll attacks for each model attacking at that initiative STEP.

Unwieldy effects STEP, not VALUE.

Thus does not effect Pile In.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:04:52


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Having double checked Unwieldy, it seems you're right.
Models with a Force Halbard would still pile in at I6 though.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The rules on P.22 and 23 equate the two.

From P.22 "a model's Initiative determines when he attacks in close combat."

and of course P.23 "Note that certain situations, abilities and weapons can modify a rnodel's Initiative."

P.23 "Models make their attacks when their Initiative step is reached"

The summary helps clear this up:

Starting at Initiative step 10, count down through the steps towards 1 until you reach anlnitiative value that one or more participants not involved in a challenge have (see page 22).

All models with this Initiative value now Pile In (see page 23).

All engaged models (see page 23) with this Initiative now get to make a number of Attacks equal to their Attacks characteristic plus any bonus Attacks they are entitled to (see page 24).

This shows that the two are synonymous. Pile in moves and striking are done at the same initiative value. So if you strike at I1 you pile in at I1.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:13:34


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




The rules on Pg 23 say differently.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Kiredor wrote:The rules on Pg 23 say differently.

No it does not.

P.23 equates the two.

"Models make their attacks when their Initiative step is reached"

you can't pile in before your initiative step can you?

When is a models Initiative step?
When it makes its attacks.

So you pile in when you make your attacks, and you make your attacks when your Initiative step is reached.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:16:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes, but the rules for Pile In do not reference a models initiative step.

edit: Or rather, the Pile In rules do not occur at a models initiative step, but at the step equal to a models initiative.

In fact, unwieldy does not change a models initiative step at all.

Only the step when a model makes its attacks.

By the rules, a Space Marine Sergeant is I4, even with a powerfist.

Thus anything that references his Initiative uses this value, even Pile In, as it DOES NOT CARE WHEN A MODEL ATTACKS.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:23:19


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kiredor wrote:Yes, but the rules for Pile In do not reference a models initiative step.

You're ignoring his point.

DeathReaper is saying that Initiative Step and Initiative are the same thing.
Therefore anything referencing Initiative Step is also referencing Initiative.

DR - feel free to correct me if I'm misunderstanding you.

Note - I'm not trying to involve myself, just trying to prevent a misconception

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

P.23 and P.22 still equate the models Initiative value as being the same as its initiative step.

Or did you miss P. 22:

P.22 "a model's Initiative determines when he attacks in close combat."

P.22 says it all. attacks are made at the models Initiative value, which is when models Pile in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:24:18


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




The Unwieldy rule does not modify a Models Initiative Step.

Only the point at which the model makes its attacks.

Also Pile In references the model's initiative.

This is not changed by Unwieldy

If Initiative and Initiative Step are the same thing, then a model with an Unwieldy weapon has an Initiative Step equal to its Initiative.

But it resolves its attacks at I1.

Otherwise the way both Pile In and Unwieldy are written is completely unnecessary.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The issue is, DR, that we are applying a more complex rule to the ones you are quoting.

Unwieldy changes SOME aspects of this, not all of them

For a model with no further rules, you are correct.

But when we add Unwieldy to the mix it changes.

An I4 model now has a special rule that means it ATTACKS at Initiative Step 1, this does not change its base Initiative, or even its base Initiative Step. If they wanted Pile In to occur at the point a model attacks, it would have been simple for them to say that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:29:50


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Rigeld, please join the discussion. I beleive you would have valuable input.

DR, please dont take me starting this thread as a slight from our other postings. I believe that if these 3 questions can be answered, it should cover init pile in swinging.

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kiredor wrote:The Unwieldy rule does not modify a Models Initiative Step.

Only the point at which the model makes its attacks.

Also Pile In references the model's initiative.

This is not changed by Unwieldy

If Initiative and Initiative Step are the same thing, then a model with an Unwieldy weapon has an Initiative Step equal to its Initiative.

But it resolves its attacks at I1.

Otherwise the way both Pile In and Unwieldy are written is completely unnecessary.

We know that a model strikes at it's Initiative Step. Agree?
We know an Unwieldy weapon strikes at Initiative Step 1. Agree?
We know that Initiative and Initiative Step are the same thing. Agree?
Pile In happens at your Initiative, which we know is the same thing as Initiative Step. Agree?
Therefore we know that a model using an Unwieldy weapon piles in and attacks at Initiative (Step) 1.

edit: Again, I'm summarising DR's arguments, I haven't tried to put my own thoughts in here yet. DR, feel free to correct me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:32:38


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Rigeld, ill answer in order

A - For a model with no rules modifying this, yes.

B - A model makes its ATTACKS at Initiative Step 1, yes.

C - They are NOT interchangeable.

D - No, because Pile In occurs at the Initiative Step equal to a Models Initiative VALUE. Not a models initiative step.

E - See above.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
"a model's Initiative determines when he attacks in close combat" is not reversable.

The point at which a model makes its attacks DOES NOT DETERMINE ITS INITIATIVE.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 22:38:17


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kiredor wrote:C - They are NOT interchangeable.

Please explain why GW uses them interchangeably on page 22 and 23.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

As I, and rig have stated P.22 and P.23 use Initiative and Initiative Step interchangeably.

The quotes show this to be true:

P.22 "a model's Initiative determines when he attacks in close combat."

P.23 "Models make their attacks when their Initiative step is reached"

Initiative = when he attacks = initiative step.

@imweasel: none taken, it is a complicated issue.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

DeathReaper wrote:The rules on P.22 and 23 equate the two.

From P.22 "a model's Initiative determines when he attacks in close combat."

and of course P.23 "Note that certain situations, abilities and weapons can modify a rnodel's Initiative."

P.23 "Models make their attacks when their Initiative step is reached"

The summary helps clear this up:

Starting at Initiative step 10, count down through the steps towards 1 until you reach anlnitiative value that one or more participants not involved in a challenge have (see page 22).

All models with this Initiative value now Pile In (see page 23).

All engaged models (see page 23) with this Initiative now get to make a number of Attacks equal to their Attacks characteristic plus any bonus Attacks they are entitled to (see page 24).

This shows that the two are synonymous. Pile in moves and striking are done at the same initiative value. So if you strike at I1 you pile in at I1.



no, they are clearly two separate rules, please point out which rule in the book modify the VALUE of Initiative?

Page 22, difficult terrain: ".... must ATTACK at Initiative STEP 1, does not mention Pile in whatsoever.

Page 23, Initiative Step Pile in, Initiative VALUE= pile in step, sure if your I=1 the you pile in and attack with one, but UNWEILDY makes you to ATTACK at Initiative Step 1, does not affect you Initiative Value ! so for SM I4 with PF, you pile in with Initiative value 4 (no modification, even if they did not have grenades and if they charge through difficult terrain) and you ATTACK with initiative 1 due to Unwieldy RAW.

There is no rule, at least as far as i recall in the book which is affecting you INITIATIVE VALUE, there are rules which make you to ATTACK at different Initiative STEPs like Difficult terrain.





 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

godra read my last post that shows:

Initiative = when he attacks = initiative step.

It is all right there.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. GW equate the terms Initiative and Initiative Step

If you are an I4 model with an I1 weapon, you pile in and attack at I1.
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




So we can assume anything that modifies when a model attacks also modifies their initiative?

Edit: Meaning Howling Banshees on the charge with power axes are now both Initiative 10 and Initative 1? so roll off?

Im confused as to why they would use different definitions of Initiative Step and pile in, if there was no way that a model could have different values for them.

Maybe thats where I'm mistaken.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 23:24:48


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No roll off, just I1

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

DeathReaper wrote:godra read my last post that shows:

Initiative = when he attacks = initiative step.

It is all right there.


Again, you have two separate rules

1 is Pile in with Initiative value at Initiative step (there is no rule in the book which is affecting Initiative VALUE)
2 is Attacking with Initiative value at initiative step, and here, your modifications for Difficult terrain or Unwieldy apply,

Unwieldy = Does not change your initiative VALUE, is says :"A model attacking with this weapon does so at Initiative STEP 1...." it does not say "his initiative value =1", thus this is not affecting Pile in! (Initiative Value)

If we follow your logic then every model with Unwieldy if is forced to do Characteristic check (in close combat) based on his initiative Value would have to do it on I1... (Initiative step 1 = when he attacks 1= Initiative1) And that is wrong.
Anyway, I'm going to bed enough of this BS.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 23:34:48




 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




But why?

If Initiative and Initiative Step are the same, both of them do the same thing.

We now have two rules that modify initiative, and two rules that modify the initiative that you attack. Thus we have a conflict.
(if Initiative and Initiative Step are the same).

Why does Unwieldy take precedence, if both rules mean the same thing? (Modify I)

Initiative and Initiative Step have to be different.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

god.ra wrote:Again, you have two separate rules

1 is Pile in with Initiative value at Initiative step (there is no rule in the book which is affecting Initiative VALUE)

Re-read initiative step pile it, it does not mention anything about the models initiative value.

P.23 talks about the value of the current initiative step.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 23:38:47


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

DeathReaper wrote:
god.ra wrote:Again, you have two separate rules

1 is Pile in with Initiative value at Initiative step (there is no rule in the book which is affecting Initiative VALUE)

Re-read initiative step pile it, it does not mention anything about the models initiative value.


It does Page 429!

- ALL MODELS WITH HIS INITIATIVE VALUE NOW PILE IN



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

P. 429 is the summary, read the actual full length rules on P.23

Though initiative value of the current initiative step is equated to the models initiative value that the model strikes at.

P. 429: "All models with this Initiative value now Pile In (see page 23)." Notice the See P.23.

P. 429: "All engaged models (see page 23) with this Initiative now get to make a number of Attacks"

This initiative value and this initiative are equated here on P.429 as well.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/07/09 23:45:50


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

DeathReaper wrote:P 429 is the summary, read the actual full length rules on P.23

Though initiative value of the current initiative step is equated to the models initiative value that the model strikes at.

"All models with this Initiative value now Pile In (see page 23)." Notice the See P.23.


If we follow your logic then every model with Unwieldy if is forced to do Characteristic check (in close combat) based on his initiative Value would have to do it on I1... (Initiative step 1 = when he attacks 1= Initiative1) And that is wrong.
Anyway, I'm going to bed enough of this BS.
Good night.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They only equate the terms for pile in and attacking. they are not equated for anything else. To do so would violate the permissive ruleset.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 23:47:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: