Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 22:26:12
Subject: Re:Avoiding Terrain when charging.
|
 |
Alluring Mounted Daemonette
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:keltikhoa wrote:if when charging one or more models have to go threw difficult terrain the UNIT must make a difficult terrain test. however to represent the uneven pace of a charge, the unit rolls 3D6 RATHER than 2D6 and uses the two lowest.
Rather than the 2d6 of the normal DT test, yes. Not the 2d6 of the charge roll. You still have to roll that to determine if your unit would be in difficult terrain in the first place.
My apologies for not writing out the complete paragraph.
because you are arguing with the words i omitted you are obviously right.... unless you actually read the book at the points i indicated in which case you would find you are wrong
but since you seem to be unable to do so i will help you by typing the entire thing here.
Charging through difficult terrain.
If, When charging, One or more models have to move through difficult terrain, the unit must make a Difficult Terrain test (see page 90). However, to represent the uneven pace of a charge, the unit rolls 3d6, rather than 2d6, and uses the two lowest results AS ITS CHARGE RANGE
The difficult terrain test and your charge range are one in the same. you do not roll charge range then again roll charge range.
those last 4 words are what tells you not to roll your charge. you do not roll your charge untill after you have looked and seen that if at any point on your charge (no matter what the dice actually show) one or more of your models will be going threw difficult terrain. remember you CAN NOT AVOID TERRAIN so no you cannot go around terrain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/18 22:29:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 22:29:50
Subject: Re:Avoiding Terrain when charging.
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
OK, Home now, so I got my rulebook, which I believe confirms my opinion.
PG. 21: roll for charge range. move initial charger. quote: "Roll for dangerous terrain if necessary, if model is killed by. . . ."
I think where you are getting it wrong is the difference between dangerous terrain and difficult terrain.
page 21 says nothing about difficult terrain other than this sentence: "Charging units must attempt to engage as many opposing models in the enemy unit as possible with as many of their models as possible - no holding back or trying to avoid terrain!"
page 22 however has a definitive answer.
under the paragraph titled: Charging through Difficult terrain.
"If, when charging, one or more models have to move through difficult terrain, the unit must make a Difficult Terrain test."
And then to put the seal on it. take a look at the picture at the bottom left of page 22. That picture is almost the exact same scenario as the op. It clearly states that they have to move through the terrain so must take a difficult terrain test.
I rest my case with page 22.
|
- Moron
1k sons: in progress
Necrons: 3000
deathwing: 8000
ravenwing: 2000
3rd co: 2000
tyranids: 2500
a ton of extra boyz and stuff up for trading/selling
Lizardmen: 2500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 22:52:28
Subject: Re:Avoiding Terrain when charging.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
keltikhoa wrote:Maelstrom808 wrote:keltikhoa wrote:if when charging one or more models have to go threw difficult terrain the UNIT must make a difficult terrain test. however to represent the uneven pace of a charge, the unit rolls 3D6 RATHER than 2D6 and uses the two lowest.
Rather than the 2d6 of the normal DT test, yes. Not the 2d6 of the charge roll. You still have to roll that to determine if your unit would be in difficult terrain in the first place.
My apologies for not writing out the complete paragraph.
because you are arguing with the words i omitted you are obviously right.... unless you actually read the book at the points i indicated in which case you would find you are wrong
but since you seem to be unable to do so i will help you by typing the entire thing here.
Charging through difficult terrain.
If, When charging, One or more models have to move through difficult terrain, the unit must make a Difficult Terrain test (see page 90). However, to represent the uneven pace of a charge, the unit rolls 3d6, rather than 2d6, and uses the two lowest results AS ITS CHARGE RANGE
The difficult terrain test and your charge range are one in the same. you do not roll charge range then again roll charge range.
those last 4 words are what tells you not to roll your charge. you do not roll your charge untill after you have looked and seen that if at any point on your charge (no matter what the dice actually show) one or more of your models will be going threw difficult terrain. remember you CAN NOT AVOID TERRAIN so no you cannot go around terrain.
No, those last four words tell you to substitute the number from your DT test as your charge range. It's not the same thing. As I said, you have to roll your charge range to see if the unit would have to move through DT in the first place. All of these gymnastics with trying to determine if you would charge through DT or not based on what you might roll are completely unnecessary. If you have to move through terrain you take the test, not if you might.
...and I never said you could avoid terrain, kinda said the exact opposite actually.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 23:13:25
Subject: Re:Avoiding Terrain when charging.
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:
No, those last four words tell you to substitute the number from your DT test as your charge range. It's not the same thing. As I said, you have to roll your charge range to see if the unit would have to move through DT in the first place. All of these gymnastics with trying to determine if you would charge through DT or not based on what you might roll are completely unnecessary. If you have to move through terrain you take the test, not if you might.
...and I never said you could avoid terrain, kinda said the exact opposite actually.
Go read page 22 of the new rulebook. specifically the picture that explains this exact situation on the bottom left of the page.
then get back to us.
|
- Moron
1k sons: in progress
Necrons: 3000
deathwing: 8000
ravenwing: 2000
3rd co: 2000
tyranids: 2500
a ton of extra boyz and stuff up for trading/selling
Lizardmen: 2500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 23:17:38
Subject: Re:Avoiding Terrain when charging.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Alright, re-reading that is pretty convincing. I concede my wrongness in this one
It's still a stupid way to do it though
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
|