Switch Theme:

Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Germany

Let's say you have a SM Tac Squad with a MissileLauncher and 9 Bolters.

IF what you said was true, then after you hit 2 units with the Missile, you could shoot your bolters freely at 2 different units (since you already would have targeted both).
And thats just wrong.
You declare 1 target unit and then resolve each weapon type one after another against that unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Using the term cop out could be interpreted as flame baiting.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Die toten hosen,
If that sentence was removed then the only timing left for when Jink can be declared would be the moment it is targeted, because the line before it contains the following: is selected as a target for a shooting attack. The inclusion of another sentence informing us the decision must be made before To Hit rolls are taken grants permission for the 'defending player' to hold back on their decision to Jink or not to Jink. When used in conjunction with other Rules that modify the Shooting Sequence, it can create some very unusual situations. Best to avoid the entire mess by simply deleting the offending, and 100% useless, sentence....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/03 00:19:46


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Co0n wrote:
Let's say you have a SM Tac Squad with a MissileLauncher and 9 Bolters.

IF what you said was true, then after you hit 2 units with the Missile, you could shoot your bolters freely at 2 different units (since you already would have targeted both).
And thats just wrong.

You declare 1 target unit and then resolve each weapon type one after another against that unit.


Yes and no. Both the rules for selecting and firing with weapons and the rules for hits generated by Blast weapons use the exact phrase of 'target unit', which is the problem. Following the Blast weapon rules then we have the potential to have multiple target units.

It seems to me the intention is that all models in a unit must fire at the declared target (per choosing a target in the shooting rules) and that this should possibly be the same single target when deciding whether a 'secondary target' is (not) allowed to Jink if also hit by a Blast weapon's marker. But it's also written clearly in the rules that units hit by the marker take a number of hits, and that said hits are allocated to the target unit as normal.

Conundrum!
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
Die toten hosen,
If that sentence was removed then the only timing left for when Jink can be declared would be the moment it is targeted, because the line before it contains the following: is selected as a target for a shooting attack. The inclusion of another sentence informing us the decision must be made before To Hit rolls are taken grants permission for the 'defending player' to hold back on their decision to Jink or not to Jink. When used in conjunction with other Rules that modify the Shooting Sequence, it can create some very unusual situations. Best to avoid the entire mess by simply deleting the offending, and 100% useless, sentence....


when you are targeted is the only time you can declare jink. period. i fail to see how removing the offending statement changes that.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Mr. Shrine,
Or are restricted to wounding only one Unit, that targeted, even if multiple are hit.
Either way, the word 'targeted' should never be there because it causes problems.

Die Toten Hosen,
Why have a sentence informing us the decision must be made before To Hit rolls?
What exactly does this sentence actually do?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/09/03 04:21:14


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





JinxDragon wrote:
Mr. Shrine,
Or are restricted to wounding only one Unit, that targeted, even if multiple are hit.
Either way, the word 'targeted' should never be there because it causes problems.


It is actually funnier than that as targetted unit does effect anything until wound allocation. So let say I target a Wraithknight with my Plasna Cannon and scatter and hit 4 Eldar Guardians 2 of ky own Marines I roll to wound those guardians and marines and roll all 2+ so wound with all the hits, however when allocating those wounds I must allocate them to the nearest model in the target unit. Thus the Wraithknight takes 6 Ap2 wounds...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






RAW, Only one target (The declared unit) can jink.


However, it is worth noting that many large events rule that any unit under the intial blast template, before scatter, is considered targeted for the purpose of jinking/flinkerjump, etc.

Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, same as many large events present house rules for no apparent reason.

DOnt want to be hit by a blast with no chance to jink? Dont be too close to units that cannot jink, etc.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




What exactly does this sentence actually do?


I think the whole point of the sentence is to emphasize that you can't wait to see the results of the To Hit rolls to make your decision.

To avoid the "Since you rolled your dice and none of the attacks hit then I guess I am not jinking." type of situation.

Some players don't necessarily play a lot of Jinking armies so they move through the process fairly quickly and go from Choosing a target, picking a weapon and rolling in a short amount of time. As a White Scar player I make it my best effort now to to try and stop people once I see them pick up dice to verify they are not shooting AP 3 or better weapons before they do anything so I can get the jink out of the way without knowing the results.

So with Blast templates, you have to declare the jink before you know the results of how many of those are actually hit by the marker, so before you roll scatter. You can't change your mind once it scatters onto a completely different unit and make that unit jink instead.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Lusiphur,
Please allow die toten hosen to answer the question, as they are the one arguing that you can only choose to Jinx during Step 2.
I want to know what they believes a sentence telling the decision has to be made before the To Hit process actually means.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
Lusiphur,
Please allow die toten hosen to answer the question, as they are the one arguing that you can only choose to Jinx during Step 2.
I want to know what they believes a sentence telling the decision has to be made before the To Hit process actually means.


The sentence prevents waiting to make the decision to jink till after your opponent makes their to hit rolls.

And you can only declare jink once you have been selected as the target of a shooting attack, i fail to see how that is contentious.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

So we have a rule preventing us from waiting to make the decision till Step 4...
So what stops me from waiting till Step 3 to make the decision?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
So we have a rule preventing us from waiting to make the decision till Step 4...
So what stops me from waiting till Step 3 to make the decision?


the rules do.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

So the sentence telling us The decision must be made before any To Hit rolls have been made , which occurs at Step 4, means we have to make the decision before step 3?
You could simply accept that this sentence is a problem, it should never exist within the Jink Special Rule as it is pointless at best and capable of creating loopholes at worse....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/05 00:03:09


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Lol so true my friend - so true.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Jinx, how does it create a loophole?

Do we agree that the declaration to Jink must be made at some point between being declared as a target and rolling To Hit (Steps 2 and 4 of the shooting sequence)?

Do we agree that the placing of a blast marker and rolling for scatter happens at step 4 (instead of rolling To Hit)?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

HappyJew,
I had it as an open ended possibility, Rule interactions being what they are something granting permission to wait till just before the To Hit Rolls could be problematic in a hypothetical situation... then we remembered this little line:
When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit.
- Blast Special Rule

Even if it occurs at Step 4, it is not a To Hit roll because Blast tells us it is done instead of To Hit after specifically stating this is not a To Hit roll.
Several arguments in other threads are also based on the concept that it is not a To Hit roll, such as those dealing with To Hit of 1.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/09/05 02:38:19


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Blast being a to hit or not doesnt factor in.

The only time a unit may declare jink is when they are a declared target.

"Before and to hit rolls..." is just a clarifier.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

die toten hosen wrote:
Blast being a to hit or not doesnt factor in.

The only time a unit may declare jink is when they are a declared target.

"Before and to hit rolls..." is just a clarifier.


Agreed. Jinx's point is that it's a pointless one that has caused many people in this forum to misunderstand, or try to loophole their way into declaring after the blast has scattered. (it has happened more than once)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/06 07:56:44


"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: