Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 04:40:55
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator
|
So this came up. I hope i can describe the situation.
Unit A.) is targeted by a large blast template, centered over a model, and can touch (let's say two) models from unit B.)
Can unit B elect to jink? The blast hits. No scatter.
Now, since unit B was targeted before shooting does it get to jink? Or is only unit A allowed to jink being the main target.
We are aware about scatters that hit a different unit being unable to jink as it didn't declare to jink before hand, but if two units are targeted at the same time, do both get the option to jink?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/01 04:41:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 04:49:35
Subject: Re:Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
A unit can only decide to junk when targeted. The targeted unit can jink. The unit that happened to get scattered on cannot. Just because a unit is also under the blast prior, it still is not considered targeted. So therefore can not jink
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/01 04:50:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 06:42:02
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
The unit should declare whether they are jinking before the template is even placed. the unit firing the blast declares a target before deciding which weapons to shoot with first.
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 11:51:03
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator
|
*smacks head* ah, of course!
We tend to be so focused on centering the blast, we BOTH forget to verbally declare the target first.
I've pulled this blast template trick on a few Ravenwing players that were not too happy with this, just wanted to make sure I wasn't cheating them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 12:49:51
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you purposely cover two units you're targeting both of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 12:52:02
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No you are not. You declare your target before you even place the blast marker
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:29:36
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Purposely is the active word.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:32:55
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
It's not a relevant one though. You can only target one unit, and that's the one that the blast marker is targeted at.
I don't have the rules handy so I have to ask. Do the blast markers have the same rule that you must cover as many models as possible in the target unit that flame templates do?
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:39:52
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you drop large blast centered on a drop pod and say it covers a couple nearby Marines that is collateral damage.
Suppose you can drop blast on a squad of Marines (X) - you can place for the most five models but one position clips another enemy unit - noting you could cover five from unit X without clipping any other units... That is targeting two units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:45:46
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Dozer Blades wrote:If you drop large blast centered on a drop pod and say it covers a couple nearby Marines that is collateral damage.
Suppose you can drop blast on a squad of Marines (X) - you can place for the most five models but one position clips another enemy unit - noting you could cover five from unit X without clipping any other units... That is targeting two units.
The Shooting Sequence in the rules clearly disprove this.
Step 2 is Choosing a Target. This is when you have to declare you are Jinking
Step 3 is Choosing a weapon. Now you get to declare you firing a blast weapon.
So you will have already targeted an enemy unit before you even picked to shoot a blast weapon, much less actually placing the template.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:48:10
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
Canada
|
The unit you are targeting needs to cover as many models as possible before it can be used to cover another unit.
|
3000 Points Tzeentch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:48:12
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can select multi targets with blast and templates.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:50:36
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Can you give a page reference for that.
Because otherwise you are just making stuff up
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:52:26
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Don't have my rule book but you given my example you can't say the player is not choosing to target two units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:54:19
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Dozer Blades wrote:Don't have my rule book but you given my example you can't say the player is not choosing to target two units.
I gave you a rule source on why that isn't the case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:56:13
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Like I said you can choose multiple targets with blasts and templates.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:58:03
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 13:59:14
Subject: Re:Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
Until you show a rule you have no credibility.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:05:42
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Konrax wrote:The unit you are targeting needs to cover as many models as possible before it can be used to cover another unit.
That applies only for Templates Weapons, not Blast weapons.
Dozer Blades wrote:You can select multi targets with blast and templates.
No you can't, you can target only one Unit and place the blast so that the Centre of the blast is on target unit, it doesn't matter where the area of the blast ends as longs as it does not touch any of your models.
Unless it's a weapon with split fire or a Super heavy, or POTMS, or Gargantuant...
If you could select multiple targets for a blast weapon, then an a unit of IG can fire bolters to one unit and Heavy Weapon to another.
Also, this was already discussed a lot.
as CrownAxe said:
2) Select a Target -> Target unit declare if Jinking.
3) Select a Weapon -> Fire it
4) Place the marker and resolve scatter (insted of rolling to hit)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:14:45
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I showed how a player can purposely target more than one unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:18:58
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Your example doesn't mean anything as far as the rules are concerned. The BRB clearly define what targeting is in game, how you do it, and when you do it. Your example and conclusion ignore that.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/01 14:19:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:23:35
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
I can place a each termie in a 5 man squad in base to base contact with up to 5 different squads. Doesn't mean it's allowed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:24:42
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
CrownAxe wrote:
Your example doesn't mean anything as far as the rules are concerned. The BRB clearly define what targeting is in game, how you do it, and when you do it. Your example and conclusion ignore that.
The Nova power in the Excess Discipline (Pavane of Slaanesh?) seems to imply that all the units hit are targets.
RAW only the initial unit can Jink.
RAI, I think anyone under the initial placement should be able to Jink.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:29:55
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Jimsolo wrote: CrownAxe wrote:
Your example doesn't mean anything as far as the rules are concerned. The BRB clearly define what targeting is in game, how you do it, and when you do it. Your example and conclusion ignore that.
The Nova power in the Excess Discipline (Pavane of Slaanesh?) seems to imply that all the units hit are targets.
RAW only the initial unit can Jink.
RAI, I think anyone under the initial placement should be able to Jink.
Cacocphonic Choir was also written for 6ed
And Novas specifically say that Target all enemy units in range. So its not applicable in this situation
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/01 14:31:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 14:33:35
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Stratford on avon
|
The targeted unit contains the model which the center of the blast template was placed on, no other unit was chosen as the target and no other can be. (unless your a Mc or have a rule for it)
The normal run of the mill model can only TARGET one unit - thiss is the same with 90% of all wepons in 40k (68% of all stats are made up on the spot) - however a blast can HIT multiple units (10" apoc blast only hitting 1 unit is a bit farfeched).
the confusion i think your having is between hit and target.
|
Careful I have CDO it’s like OCD but in alphabetical order LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!!!!
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
4000Pts
3000Pts
1000Pts
2000Pts
1500Pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 15:05:52
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So for the example I gave you would say the player does or does not want to hit both units ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 15:15:31
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Dozer Blades wrote:So for the example I gave you would say the player does or does not want to hit both units ?
Its not about what the shooting player wants. It's about what the rules give you permission to do. The rules only give you permission to target a single unit and to do so before you place the blast marker.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/01 15:16:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 15:19:00
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Dozer Blades wrote:So for the example I gave you would say the player does or does not want to hit both units ?
The player has purposefully hit both units, but as far as the rules are concerned he has only targeted one - in the subsequent assault phase that unit can only charge the unit declared as the original target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 15:20:52
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Choosing a target could be more than one. Some are advocating for what is basically a loop hole.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/01 15:27:41
Subject: Large blast hitting two units, who can jink?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Dozer Blades wrote:Choosing a target could be more than one. Some are advocating for what is basically a loop hole.
7ed BRB Pg 30 Choosing a Target
"... choose a single enemy unit for them to shoot at."
No it literally can not be more then one target (unless a rule specifically stats otherwise which blasts do not)
|
|
 |
 |
|