Switch Theme:

How many grenades can be used in close combat per unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Kap'n Krump wrote:
 Matt.Kingsley wrote:
Actually hang on, would this FaQ now mean that a unit can't use Assault Grenades & Krak Grenades in the same Assault Phase.

Or Defense & Haywire, etc, etc?

Any grenade, be it assault, blind, blight, haywire, or melta bomb, or anything else that is considered a grenade, can be used exactly once per unit per phase, according to the new FAQ. This includes the assault phase.

So, 15 tankbustas charge a imperial knight, exactly one is allowed to attack with a melta bomb.

Not quite. Assault Grenades are the status of "equipped" for their Assault use, so are able to provide their Assault bonus even when the weapon is not being used, just like the Khorne Great Axe would keep the Bloodthirster at I1 even when using another Weapon.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






 Kap'n Krump wrote:
 Matt.Kingsley wrote:
Actually hang on, would this FaQ now mean that a unit can't use Assault Grenades & Krak Grenades in the same Assault Phase.

Or Defense & Haywire, etc, etc?


Any grenade, be it assault, blind, blight, haywire, or melta bomb, or anything else that is considered a grenade, can be used exactly once per unit per phase, according to the new FAQ. This includes the assault phase.

So, 15 tankbustas charge a imperial knight, exactly one is allowed to attack with a melta bomb.


So now you'll bring 3 x 5 Tankbustas, with a mix of PK Nobs, Killsaw Meks, Squigs, and Tank hammers. Not pretty, and more expensive, but it'll get you there. I guess. We'll see what the final FAQ looks like.


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Well it's a good thing they took Haywire grenades from Wyches, otherwise they'd now be useless. Oh wait...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Its just the reasoning used is wrong.

THere are some "wrong" calls in the FAQ - so hopefully the feedback will get through

(stomp causing a 25% causalty check, when Assault phase is explicitly called out as an exception to the rule)
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord






 Cleatus wrote:


So now you'll bring 3 x 5 Tankbustas, with a mix of PK Nobs, Killsaw Meks, Squigs, and Tank hammers. Not pretty, and more expensive, but it'll get you there. I guess. We'll see what the final FAQ looks like.


So... forgive dumb question but I have lost rule book (!) - would the nob get to chuck a grenade in addition to the unit? Or is it simply that the Nob can use his PK on the Imperial knight, along with the Mek's Killsaw and the Tank Hammers etc. Should the Nob have a Rokit as well?

... you can tell who's just finishing a new Tankbusta squad

Maybe I will model up that Killsaw Mek now...

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The reasoning is wrong, but the answer is clear. One per unit. THats it.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 Cleatus wrote:


So now you'll bring 3 x 5 Tankbustas, with a mix of PK Nobs, Killsaw Meks, Squigs, and Tank hammers. Not pretty, and more expensive, but it'll get you there. I guess. We'll see what the final FAQ looks like.


So... forgive dumb question but I have lost rule book (!) - would the nob get to chuck a grenade in addition to the unit? Or is it simply that the Nob can use his PK on the Imperial knight, along with the Mek's Killsaw and the Tank Hammers etc. Should the Nob have a Rokit as well?

... you can tell who's just finishing a new Tankbusta squad

Maybe I will model up that Killsaw Mek now...


No, under the new interpretation it's one grenade per unit. The Nob is part of the unit. Even if you were to join an IC to the unit, that unit could still only get 1 grenade per phase. You can upgrade one Tankbusta to a Nob, so he has a rokkit launcha base; the codex says he can replace his melee weapon with a PK (or BC), so I think he could have a PK, or a rokkit launcha, but not both. (Pretty sure this has been discussed in YMDC before.) Actually, now that I think about it, he doesn't have a melee weapon to trade, so technically the only way to give him a PK is to upgrade a Tankbusta with a Tankhammer first, then make him a Nob, then give him a PK. Which is silly. You might as well just keep the rokkit launcha, give the nob a BP, and take a Killsaw Mek.

So yeah, if this ruling sticks, Ork players will need to get more creative with their anti-tank options.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/06 13:31:59



My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Has no effect on demolition charges. They are just ranged weapons.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





 Cleatus wrote:
 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 Cleatus wrote:


So now you'll bring 3 x 5 Tankbustas, with a mix of PK Nobs, Killsaw Meks, Squigs, and Tank hammers. Not pretty, and more expensive, but it'll get you there. I guess. We'll see what the final FAQ looks like.


So... forgive dumb question but I have lost rule book (!) - would the nob get to chuck a grenade in addition to the unit? Or is it simply that the Nob can use his PK on the Imperial knight, along with the Mek's Killsaw and the Tank Hammers etc. Should the Nob have a Rokit as well?

... you can tell who's just finishing a new Tankbusta squad

Maybe I will model up that Killsaw Mek now...


No, under the new interpretation it's one grenade per unit. The Nob is part of the unit. Even if you were to join an IC to the unit, that unit could still only get 1 grenade per phase. You can upgrade one Tankbusta to a Nob, so he has a rokkit launcha base; the codex says he can replace his melee weapon with a PK (or BC), so I think he could have a PK, or a rokkit launcha, but not both. (Pretty sure this has been discussed in YMDC before.) Actually, now that I think about it, he doesn't have a melee weapon to trade, so technically the only way to give him a PK is to upgrade a Tankbusta with a Tankhammer first, then make him a Nob, then give him a PK. Which is silly. You might as well just keep the rokkit launcha, give the nob a BP, and take a Killsaw Mek.

So yeah, if this ruling sticks, Ork players will need to get more creative with their anti-tank options.


According to the 'no specified close combat weapons' rule in the Weapons section of the main rules any model with no close combat on their profile is considered to have a close combat weapon. So a tankbusta nob can have both klaw and rokkit launcha.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

StrikerTommy wrote:
According to the 'no specified close combat weapons' rule in the Weapons section of the main rules any model with no close combat on their profile is considered to have a close combat weapon. So a tankbusta nob can have both klaw and rokkit launcha.

The 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule does not give you a weapon to trade during list construction.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord






 Ghaz wrote:
StrikerTommy wrote:
According to the 'no specified close combat weapons' rule in the Weapons section of the main rules any model with no close combat on their profile is considered to have a close combat weapon. So a tankbusta nob can have both klaw and rokkit launcha.

The 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule does not give you a weapon to trade during list construction.


Thanks for the info Cleatus, that's what I assumed.

The Ork Codex says specifically thatthe Nob CAN take an item from the melee weapon list. Altho the list mentions replacing a CC weapon, the more specific "can take a weapon from Mellee lit" surely over-rides it so I can't see why he can't take both Rokkit and PK (or BC).

Interesting, the Mek/killsaw options altho of course he's weaker than a Nob but the AP2 Armorbane is a plus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/06 20:43:42


   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
StrikerTommy wrote:
According to the 'no specified close combat weapons' rule in the Weapons section of the main rules any model with no close combat on their profile is considered to have a close combat weapon. So a tankbusta nob can have both klaw and rokkit launcha.

The 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule does not give you a weapon to trade during list construction.


Thanks for the info Cleatus, that's what I suspected.

The Ork Codex says specifically thatthe Nob CAN take an item from the melee weapon list. Altho the list mentions replacing a CC weapon, the more specific "can take a weapon" surely over-rides it so I can't see why he can't take both Rokkit and PK (or BC).

Interesting, the Mek options altho of course he's weaker than a Nob.

It doesn't override the restrictions of the list, it simply allows you access to the list in the first place. You still need to replace an existing melee weapon.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord






 Ghaz wrote:

It doesn't override the restrictions of the list, it simply allows you access to the list in the first place. You still need to replace an existing melee weapon.


tankbustas entry: "the Nob may take weapons from the melee weapons list".


   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:

It doesn't override the restrictions of the list, it simply allows you access to the list in the first place. You still need to replace an existing melee weapon.


tankbustas entry: "the Nob may take weapons from the melee weapons list".


And it does not say "The Nob may take weapons from the Melee Weapons list without replacing an existing weapon." The wording gives you access to the list, nothing more.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






 Ghaz wrote:
 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:

It doesn't override the restrictions of the list, it simply allows you access to the list in the first place. You still need to replace an existing melee weapon.


tankbustas entry: "the Nob may take weapons from the melee weapons list".


And it does not say "The Nob may take weapons from the Melee Weapons list without replacing an existing weapon." The wording gives you access to the list, nothing more.


Right. Although the Tankbusta entry says that the Nob can take weapons from the Melee Weapons list, when you look at the Melee Weapons list on the Orks Wargear page, it says "A model may replace its melee weapon with one of the following". That's where the restriction comes in. The Nob doesn't have a melee weapon to trade.


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





So the "no cc weapon" only happens once the game has started? It is ambiguous when they begin to be treated as having a cc weapon if none was listed. Surely GW intended the no cc weapon listed to auto-apply to units during list building.

If someone can prove that it doesn't come into play during list building it would be appreciated, otherwise it seems fair to read it as an all-the-time condition.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

GW's intention was to give models without a specific close combat weapon a way to fight in close combat. It most definitely wasn't done to give the model a potentially never-ending supply of close combat weapons to trade out for other weapons (e.g., get free close combat weapon, trade out for ranged weapon, get free close combat weapon, trade for ranged weapon...).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/07 13:23:40


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





 Ghaz wrote:
GW's intention was to give models without a specific close combat weapon a way to fight in close combat. It most definitely wasn't done to give the model a potentially never-ending supply of close combat weapons to trade out for other weapons (e.g., get free close combat weapon, trade out for ranged weapon, get free close combat weapon, trade for ranged weapon...).


I see what you mean but in this case it is traded for another cc weapon. It is just strange to have this kind of oversight writing the entry for tankbustas unless they were copy-paste crazy.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






StrikerTommy wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
GW's intention was to give models without a specific close combat weapon a way to fight in close combat. It most definitely wasn't done to give the model a potentially never-ending supply of close combat weapons to trade out for other weapons (e.g., get free close combat weapon, trade out for ranged weapon, get free close combat weapon, trade for ranged weapon...).


I see what you mean but in this case it is traded for another cc weapon. It is just strange to have this kind of oversight writing the entry for tankbustas unless they were copy-paste crazy.


The 2014 Ork Codex has many editing, erm, "oversights". The worst example is probably Mad Doc Grotsnik, who both has Cybork Body (was 5+ Invlun, now 6+ FNP) and has a 5+ FNP for himself and any unit he joins. They don't stack. Completely useless.

Anyway, come on GW, don't nerf my Tankbustas! They love clamping their melta bombs on the sides of vehicles. Whether the Ladz survive the ensuing explosion or not, it's good for a larf! Har har har.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 02:49:11



My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Georgia

Same goes for having stikk bomb chukkas as an optional upgrade on trukks, which gives any unit disembarking from it stikkbombs for that round. Except every unit in our codex that can embark on a trukk, save for gretchin, has stikkbombs for free, unless 6th ed iirc, and I don't think I've heard of anyone sticking gretchin in a trukk, much less assaulting with them.

"The undead ogre believes the sack of pies is your parrot, and proceeds to eat them. The pies explode, and so does his head. The way is clear." - Me, DMing what was supposed to be a serious Pathfinder campaign.

6000 - Death Skulls, Painted
2000 - Admech/Skitarii, Painted 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

StrikerTommy wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
GW's intention was to give models without a specific close combat weapon a way to fight in close combat. It most definitely wasn't done to give the model a potentially never-ending supply of close combat weapons to trade out for other weapons (e.g., get free close combat weapon, trade out for ranged weapon, get free close combat weapon, trade for ranged weapon...).


I see what you mean but in this case it is traded for another cc weapon. It is just strange to have this kind of oversight writing the entry for tankbustas unless they were copy-paste crazy.

Except its not another close combat weapon. Its a power klaw. So you're trying to make a unit that's focused on long-ranged tankbusting just as effective in close combat as well. You're looking for the best of both worlds. IMHO its not an oversight, but a deliberate design choice. When FAQed, its just as likely to remove the Melee Weapon option from the Nob as it is to grant him a melee weapon to trade.

 Cleatus wrote:
The 2014 Ork Codex has... many editing "oversights". The worst example is probably Mad Doc Grotsnik, who both has Cybork Body (was 5+ Invlun, now 6+ FNP) and has a 5+ FNP for himself and any unit he joins. They don't stack. Completely useless.

Sometimes its a decision based on the character's existing fluff. Just like its fluff for Lysander to have three Invulnerable saves (Terminator Armour, Storm Shield and Iron Halo).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/09 03:05:25


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob





United States

*Shrug* Melta Bombs are a melee only weapon, lets pretend he turned that in for a Power Klaw. An ork would do it.

I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: