Switch Theme:

Declaring charge with several units and overwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So, if a guy capable of overwatching is being charged at by several different units in the same turn, can he pick and choose who to overwatch?

Lets say...
  • A player controlling a dreadnaught declares a charge on a group of shoota boyz

  • The shoota boyz weapons cannot damage the dreadnaught

  • The dreadnaught rolls high enough to complete the charge distance

  • Immidiately afterwards, the player controlling the dreadnaught declares a charge with a bunch of spess muhreenz onto da boyz

  • Can the boyz overwatch the spess muhreenz, or because the dreadnaught charged first, and rolled high enough to complete the charge, they are unable to?


  • I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?

    EDIT: Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is a 6th edition question.

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/18 00:55:21


     
       
    Made in im
    Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





    Liverpool

    Snoipah wrote:
    I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
    The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.

    In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.

    Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.
       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut




     grendel083 wrote:
    Snoipah wrote:
    I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
    The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.

    In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.

    Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.

    Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is 6th edition.

    Are you positive?
       
    Made in us
    Powerful Phoenix Lord





    Buffalo, NY

    It has been argued (rather hotly) back and forth. The majority (of responders) agree that HYWPI is as soon as a unit successfully charges, the unit is locked and no more Overwatch can be fired by the unit (without special rules).

    Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
    Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
    Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
       
    Made in pr
    Longtime Dakkanaut




    Minneapolis, MN

    Snoipah wrote:
     grendel083 wrote:
    Snoipah wrote:
    I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
    The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.

    In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.

    Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.

    Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is 6th edition.

    Are you positive?

    Yes, in 6th edition you resolved your charges one by one. The defending player could choose when to overwatch with a unit, the only restriction being a) units can only overwatch once during the assault phase and b) you can't overwatch once you're locked in combat (which is what happens in the OP's example). I don't think this has changed in 7th edition.
       
    Made in im
    Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





    Liverpool

    Snoipah wrote:
    Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is 6th edition.
    Ah sorry, assumed it was current edition.
    As above there is some debate on this.

    7th is a lot more clear on the subject.
       
    Made in au
    [MOD]
    Making Stuff






    Under the couch

    Yeah, it was never really resolved in 6th. The assumption that the first unit that successfully charged 'locked' the target unit in combat was the common one from my experience, though.

     
       
    Made in us
    Captain of the Forlorn Hope





    Chicago, IL

    In 6th, check out this thread, it covers both sides and then discuss with your group how you guys are going to play it:

    http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/584783.page

    "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

    I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

    We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
     
       
    Made in gb
    Longtime Dakkanaut






    remember though that units inside a transport are never engaged or locked in combat. so if the dread charged a wagon full of boys, the boys can still overwatch the mehreens after even if the dread makes it to the wagon.

    12,300 points of Orks
    9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
    I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

    I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

    I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: