Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 00:00:02
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, if a guy capable of overwatching is being charged at by several different units in the same turn, can he pick and choose who to overwatch?
Lets say...
A player controlling a dreadnaught declares a charge on a group of shoota boyz
The shoota boyz weapons cannot damage the dreadnaught
The dreadnaught rolls high enough to complete the charge distance
Immidiately afterwards, the player controlling the dreadnaught declares a charge with a bunch of spess muhreenz onto da boyz
Can the boyz overwatch the spess muhreenz, or because the dreadnaught charged first, and rolled high enough to complete the charge, they are unable to?
I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
EDIT: Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is a 6th edition question.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/18 00:55:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 00:38:04
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Snoipah wrote:I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.
In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.
Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 00:54:58
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:Snoipah wrote:I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.
In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.
Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.
Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is 6th edition.
Are you positive?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 01:16:15
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It has been argued (rather hotly) back and forth. The majority (of responders) agree that HYWPI is as soon as a unit successfully charges, the unit is locked and no more Overwatch can be fired by the unit (without special rules).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 01:27:13
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Snoipah wrote: grendel083 wrote:Snoipah wrote:I thought all charges are declared before you make any rolls for distance?
The first section of "Charge Sub-Phase" covers that. You declare a charge and resolve it before declaring your next charge.
In your example, once the Dreadnought makes it into combat, the two units are locked.
Overwatch has a restriction on being used when locked.
Oh, sorry, I forgot to mention this is 6th edition.
Are you positive?
Yes, in 6th edition you resolved your charges one by one. The defending player could choose when to overwatch with a unit, the only restriction being a) units can only overwatch once during the assault phase and b) you can't overwatch once you're locked in combat (which is what happens in the OP's example). I don't think this has changed in 7th edition.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 01:27:37
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Ah sorry, assumed it was current edition.
As above there is some debate on this.
7th is a lot more clear on the subject.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 01:29:11
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yeah, it was never really resolved in 6th. The assumption that the first unit that successfully charged 'locked' the target unit in combat was the common one from my experience, though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 02:51:14
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
In 6th, check out this thread, it covers both sides and then discuss with your group how you guys are going to play it:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/584783.page
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 14:17:07
Subject: Declaring charge with several units and overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
remember though that units inside a transport are never engaged or locked in combat. so if the dread charged a wagon full of boys, the boys can still overwatch the mehreens after even if the dread makes it to the wagon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|