Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:06:03
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
New York
|
Good afternoon guys and gals - I have a few simple questions, which are managing to confuse the ever-loving heck out of me. I didn't quite know if this was the right place to ask, but it seemed better than any. If it's not, please move?
Questions ahoy!
1. As the title states, just how many Combined Arms Detachments can I take, anyway?
In the rule book it states that you can make a Combined Arms Detachment so long as the Units for this Detachment come from the same Faction, where Faction = Codex or Supplement. So how many of these CADs can I take? Is this number Unlimited? So long as I fill the requirements for the Force Organization Chart for each one, can I take as many Combined Arms Detachments as I'd like?
For instance, if I was building a Tau army, could I write this as ...
CAD1: HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors
CAD2: HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors
CAD3: HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors
and so on?
Or something like this for Tyranids ...
CAD1: HQ: Hive Tyrant || Troops: 2 x 10 Termagants
CAD1: HQ: Hive Tyrant || Troops: 2 x 10 Termagants
CAD1: HQ: Hive Tyrant || Troops: 2 x 10 Termagants
Thus effectively getting 3 Tyranid HQ choices in one army?
2. If I can take as many Combined Arms Detachments as I'd like, is the full Army Composition considered my "Primary Detachment"? Does this now mean each of those Troops Choices have Objective Secured? Or do I have to nominate one particular CAD as my Primary Detachment and then only those Troops Choices have OS?
Thanks for your time and attention.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:12:02
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
As many as you want - unlimited. (so long as you're still within the points limit of course).
Example #1 = Correct.
Example #2 = Correct
No, you pick your Warlord and whatever CAD he's in becomes the Primary Detachment.
Yes, they will all have Objective Secured.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:12:02
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Selecting Detachments begins by stating the following: You can include any number and type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units. Primary Detachments states the following: If you organise your army using the Battle-forged method, whichever Detachment contains your Warlord is your Primary Detachment. Command Benefits begins by stating the following: This section of the Detachment lists any special rules or benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that Detachment. I do not like the digital version as I can't just hand out page and paragraph so people can review these things for themselves, but I hope those Rule snips help and keep in mind those Sections will explain things in a lot more detail.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/14 19:13:10
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:21:43
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
As a side note, if you are looking for more HQs you do not need to bring 3 CAD, you can do it in 2:
CAD1: HQ: Hive Tyrant x 2 || Troops: 2 x 10 Termagants
CAD2: HQ: Hive Tyrant || Troops: 2 x 10 Termagants
Since you are allowed the "old" FOC for a CAD you can have the 3 HQs
|
DT:80S++++G+++M++B++IPw40k96#+D++A++++/mWD179R+++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:35:57
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
New York
|
Just want to clarify here -
This is correct:
CAD#1 HQ: Cadre Fireblade (Warlord) || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Wariors (Objective Secured)
CAD#2 HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors
CAD#2 HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors
This is incorrect:
CAD#1 HQ: Cadre Fireblade (Warlord) || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Wariors (Objective Secured)
CAD#2 HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors (Objective Secured)
CAD#2 HQ: Cadre Fireblade || Troops: 2 x 6 Fire Warriors (Objective Secured)
?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:40:12
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
the 2nd one is correct. They'll all get ObSec.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 19:58:43
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Also you could this in a legal battleforged army:
CAD1: Fireblade, 2 x Fire Warriors (objective secured)
CAD2: Farsight, O'Vesa, 2 x Crisis teams (objective secured)
CAD3: Flyrant, Flyrant, 2 x termagants (objective secured)
So in short you can take as many CADs or indeed any other detachments as you want. Each detachment can be from a different codex or supplement. You pick 1 to be your primary and that must include your Warlord. All detachments get the command benefits regardless of whether they are your primary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:29:05
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
New York
|
FlingitNow wrote:Also you could this in a legal battleforged army:
CAD1: Fireblade, 2 x Fire Warriors (objective secured)
CAD2: Farsight, O'Vesa, 2 x Crisis teams (objective secured)
CAD3: Flyrant, Flyrant, 2 x termagants (objective secured)
So in short you can take as many CADs or indeed any other detachments as you want. Each detachment can be from a different codex or supplement. You pick 1 to be your primary and that must include your Warlord. All detachments get the command benefits regardless of whether they are your primary.
I thought that the Combined Arms Detachments had to come from the same Faction (eg. Codex or Supplement). If the above is accurate and possible, then what would be the point in taking an Allied Detachment?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:30:13
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Mostly if you are building up an army and only have a single Troops choice.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:43:59
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Indeed, the benefit comes from the fact the Allied Detachment has one less Mandatory Troop Choice.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:47:09
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
All the units within a Combined Arms Detachment must be from the same faction. However each CAD can be a different faction. The Allied Detachment is largely redundant but allows you access to a Detachment with a requirement for only 1 troops choice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 22:47:07
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As far s the *BRB* is concerned, you can even mix and match units from the various supplements in a single CAD
HQ: from CSM
Troop: From Black Leagion
Troop: From Crimson SLaughter
(NOTE: The BRB allows this, you need to check with the specific supplements to see if they allow it.)
You also *dont* have to have a CAD at all.
A Nid Battle Forged army:
Skyblight
Skyblight
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 23:01:18
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
As far s the *BRB* is concerned, you can even mix and match units from the various supplements in a single CAD
HQ: from CSM
Troop: From Black Leagion
Troop: From Crimson SLaughter
(NOTE: The BRB allows this, you need to check with the specific supplements to see if they allow it.)
Note that this is not possible with any current supplement due to the rules contained within each. I would be very surprised if this was to change in the future.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 23:02:41
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
over there
|
All of them
|
The west is on its death spiral.
It was a good run. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 01:12:28
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote: As far s the *BRB* is concerned, you can even mix and match units from the various supplements in a single CAD
HQ: from CSM
Troop: From Black Leagion
Troop: From Crimson SLaughter
(NOTE: The BRB allows this, you need to check with the specific supplements to see if they allow it.)
Note that this is not possible with any current supplement due to the rules contained within each. I would be very surprised if this was to change in the future.
Except that the way the supplements are currently worded... the game doesn't quite work. There is some credible debate about how to resolve that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 01:29:06
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
coredump wrote: FlingitNow wrote: As far s the *BRB* is concerned, you can even mix and match units from the various supplements in a single CAD
HQ: from CSM
Troop: From Black Leagion
Troop: From Crimson SLaughter
(NOTE: The BRB allows this, you need to check with the specific supplements to see if they allow it.)
Note that this is not possible with any current supplement due to the rules contained within each. I would be very surprised if this was to change in the future.
Except that the way the supplements are currently worded... the game doesn't quite work. There is some credible debate about how to resolve that.
The best way to avoid the debate is doing what I do (assuming this is legal with other supplements, though I don't see why it wouldn't be)
CAD1 (Primary): Clan Raukaan
CAD2: Iron Hands
One wouldn't be able to take both in one CAD as Raukaan replaces the relics available to that detachment.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 01:44:36
Subject: Re:Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
hq1- tyranid prime
gaunt gants
hq2 - tyranid prime
gaunt gant
hq3 - tyranid prime
gaunt gant
hq4 - tyranid prime
gaunt gant
hq5 - tyranid prime
gaunt gant
hq6 - tyranid prime
gaunt gant
and then add 54 biovores.
sum total no add ons 3450.
i guess you could ya.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 05:42:41
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
So if I take a CAD of armies of the imperium faction CAD of orks. Do I have to deploy them 12 inches from each other or no? Cuz of the come the apocalypse allied thingy mabobber
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 05:45:25
Subject: Re:Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
i don't have the chart in front of me... ut if its come the apocalype then yes. thats not a very friendly alliance, and i personally wouldn't ally anything other than brothers and convenience.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 05:48:57
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
I ask because I play DA and orks and since some orks(blood axes I think) are known to work as mercenaries for the imperium. It would be nice to play both with out having to worry about rolling g 1's
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 06:11:45
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
coredump wrote: FlingitNow wrote: As far s the *BRB* is concerned, you can even mix and match units from the various supplements in a single CAD
HQ: from CSM
Troop: From Black Leagion
Troop: From Crimson SLaughter
(NOTE: The BRB allows this, you need to check with the specific supplements to see if they allow it.)
Note that this is not possible with any current supplement due to the rules contained within each. I would be very surprised if this was to change in the future.
Except that the way the supplements are currently worded... the game doesn't quite work. There is some credible debate about how to resolve that.
Except that The Space Marine FAQ reinforces the Idea that a detachment(any Type of detachment) from a given Book is a that detachment. Case in point: " Page 77 - Chapter Tactics The First sentence should read: 'When choosing a Space Marines Detachment, choose one of the Chapters listed in this section.'"
So since the Codex has been changed to only allow, and demand Chapter Tactyics in a Space Marines detachment, A Space Marines Detachment must be any Detachment you make of Space Marines. Clan Raukaan Detachments would be the exact same thing, as Would a Farsight Enclaves Detachment and a Crimson Slaughter detachment.
The rules are clear and supported, you can only have supplement "units"(units with the requirements, restrictions, and benefits found in the supplement) in a supplement detachment, going both ways(If you have a supplement detachment you may only have supplement units, in order to have supplement units you must have a supplement detachment)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 09:16:02
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Except that the way the supplements are currently worded... the game doesn't quite work. There is some credible debate about how to resolve that.
The game works fine the way it is currently worded if you take the term "X Detachment" to mean a detachment using X supplement/codex, you know l just as you would in normal use of English. As Kel points out they are consistent in using this type of Terminology.
The only debate is with Waaagh Ghazghul. RaW it gives us a definition of a Waaagh Ghazghul Detachment, which can be taken as a full definition or an addition. The former means only detachments in Waaagh Ghazghul can be WG Detachments, the later means that all the Detachments contained in WG are WG detachments but you may also choose to nominate a CAD or AD (or possibly even an Ork Horde) as a WG Detachment. The later being less close to the RaW but IMHO closer to the RaI.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/16 01:27:59
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
FlingitNow wrote: Except that the way the supplements are currently worded... the game doesn't quite work. There is some credible debate about how to resolve that. The game works fine the way it is currently worded if you take the term "X Detachment" to mean a detachment using X supplement/codex, you know l just as you would in normal use of English. As Kel points out they are consistent in using this type of Terminology. The only debate is with Waaagh Ghazghul. RaW it gives us a definition of a Waaagh Ghazghul Detachment, which can be taken as a full definition or an addition. The former means only detachments in Waaagh Ghazghul can be WG Detachments, the later means that all the Detachments contained in WG are WG detachments but you may also choose to nominate a CAD or AD (or possibly even an Ork Horde) as a WG Detachment. The later being less close to the RaW but IMHO closer to the RaI. Waaagh Ghazghul rules are even better written, they are not "Waaagh Ghazghul detachments" that use the restrictions, requyirements, and Benefits; but rather "Detachments and Formations found in this book". So the Only "Waaagh Ghazghul detachment" that uses the supplement rules is the one specified in that supplement, not a CAD declared a WG Detachment. Edit: Sorry it is specifically the Great Waaagh Detachment in that book, not just Detachments found in this book. So Only the great Waaagh Detachment, which is a specific Detachment. The core of my post remains unchanged, just updating for correctness.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/16 16:40:02
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 00:08:30
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
How many Codex: Inquisition CADs can be taken?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 00:54:59
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Byte wrote:How many Codex: Inquisition CADs can be taken?
There's no such thing.
Or do you mean a CAD (the Combined Arms Detachment from the Rulebook) using the Inquisition book? In which case none.
Inquisition forces have no Troops, so can't fufill the minimum 2 Troop requirements.
They can however use the Inquisitorial Detachment found in their codex. And you may take as many as you wish.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 01:48:59
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
So to answer all the questions:
Yes, yes, no, no, no, because Allied Detachment only need one Troops, yes, none since Inquisition has no troops which are mandatory in a CAD.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/608505.page
I now have two great images that would probably answer most questions.
If you ever get confused, print them out and hang them above your bed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 12:45:49
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine
|
FlingitNow wrote:Also you could this in a legal battleforged army:
CAD1: Fireblade, 2 x Fire Warriors (objective secured)
CAD2: Farsight, O'Vesa, 2 x Crisis teams (objective secured)
CAD3: Flyrant, Flyrant, 2 x termagants (objective secured)
So in short you can take as many CADs or indeed any other detachments as you want. Each detachment can be from a different codex or supplement. You pick 1 to be your primary and that must include your Warlord. All detachments get the command benefits regardless of whether they are your primary.
I thought the Tyranid detachment would not get objective secured as it doesn't share the same faction as the warlord. Thus the only way to get objective secured ona different faction is to use an Allied detachment?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 13:49:35
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Objective Secured is a bonus you get for having a CAD.
That has nothing to do with Warlord/Primary Detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 16:12:54
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Slaanesh-Devotee wrote: FlingitNow wrote:Also you could this in a legal battleforged army:
CAD1: Fireblade, 2 x Fire Warriors (objective secured)
CAD2: Farsight, O'Vesa, 2 x Crisis teams (objective secured)
CAD3: Flyrant, Flyrant, 2 x termagants (objective secured)
So in short you can take as many CADs or indeed any other detachments as you want. Each detachment can be from a different codex or supplement. You pick 1 to be your primary and that must include your Warlord. All detachments get the command benefits regardless of whether they are your primary.
I thought the Tyranid detachment would not get objective secured as it doesn't share the same faction as the warlord. Thus the only way to get objective secured ona different faction is to use an Allied detachment?
What makes you think that? What in the rules ties ObSec to your Warlord's detachment?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 20:46:37
Subject: Just How Many Combined Arms Detachment Can You Take?
|
 |
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine
|
Just a mistaken assumption I guess. Huh. So there is truly no good reason to take an allied detachment then...
|
|
 |
 |
|