Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 21:43:41
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The BRB is a touch unclear on the order of saves for D weapons, do you roll for each wound caused, or for the D wound as a whole for saves?
Example:
D blast hits a TH/SS terminator and rolls a 3 for the D table, and rolls a 2 on the D3, so 3 wounds total. Does the terminator roll one 3++ to save for the whole shebang, or 3 3++ saves?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/18 22:06:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 22:31:34
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I'm inclined to say 3 seperate saves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 22:49:06
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
They do not cause multiple wounds they cause "Multiple Wounds". The fantasy version explicitly states that a save ignore all wounds from a multiwound attack (cannon ball, etc).
For the a touch of RAW support see the Destroyer weapon section for:
" Multiple Wounds/Hull Points inflicted by a Destroyer hit do not carry over to other models in the unit (any excess are lost)."
Note the singular tense of "hit". This indicates that you are doing a single hit that can happen to remove multiple wounds from the same guy, not multiple hits to the same guy, each of which would need a save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 22:51:56
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Glorious Lord of Chaos
The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer
|
You save wounds, though, not hits.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 23:03:25
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I totally understand they don't carry over to other models, the question is with X many wounds, would they take X many saves or one save? I believe in 6e it was vs the D hit, but this edition seems kinda funky.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 23:07:21
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My reading and the explicit WHFB writing is that if you take d3 or d6 wounds from a multi-wound attack, then you avoid all the damage if you make your 1 save.
It's not 40k canon, but it should handle the RAI for HYWPI.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332066.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 23:36:39
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
WHFB and 40k aren't similar enough to use as a basis for an argument.
You get one save per wound. 3 wounds, 3 saves. Because in 40k you can only save on wounds, not hits.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 23:50:48
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:
WHFB and 40k aren't similar enough to use as a basis for an argument.
You get one save per wound. 3 wounds, 3 saves. Because in 40k you can only save on wounds, not hits.
You sound very authoritative on that, but I didn't see any rules quote stating it as such. Does it exist or is that just HYWPI?
Edit:
Here's another (inconclusive) thread:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/606737.page#7050728
I'm in the 1 save = 0 wounds camp for HIWPI unless there is actual rules evidence stating otherwise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/18 23:56:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/18 23:56:25
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
The destroyer hit explicitly states that the wound causes a loss of d3/6 wounds. If a single model gets hit from a deeper weapon and the destroyer weapon didn't roll a 6 then the model looses d3 wounds if they fail their save. They don't have to make d3 saves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 00:20:13
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If the model was the last man in the squad, and got shot by five enemy models. Three hit and two wound, the player would have to take 2 saves - at least, that's how I've been playing it for as long as I can remember.
I don't see how or why a D type weapon is different. 3 wounds given, three saves needed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 00:54:31
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I state it every time something along this vain occurs; Why do we have a process for resolving Wounds and a Wound Characteristic, with both simply called 'wounds...?' In this situation I side with Mulletdude however, as the Rule is: The model suffers a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to lose D3 Wounds instead of 1 When does a Model loose Wounds in the Shooting Sequence? This rule targets that part, replacing 1 with D3.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/19 01:14:24
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 07:46:39
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
One save for every autohit wound, so one save for every hit.
This is not wound pool, hist is wound than may inflict D3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 12:39:20
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
What does the shooting section state about taking saves?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 12:51:55
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Can't have put it better myself: (I amaze myself sometimes lol) BlackTalos wrote:D weapons is an automatic wound (which is what is allocated), but that 1 automatic wound "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1". you are not "causing D3 wounds" you are "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1". Which is the "reduce that model's Wounds by 1" from the Saves rule. So: The model gets to make a saving throw, if it has one. If it fails, reduce that model's Wounds by D3 Wounds instead of 1. D weapon hit: Roll a Save. Failed your save? D3 Wounds taken down. Passed your save? No wounds from the D
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/19 12:52:54
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 13:51:22
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
BlackTalos wrote:Can't have put it better myself: (I amaze myself sometimes lol)
BlackTalos wrote:D weapons is an automatic wound (which is what is allocated), but that 1 automatic wound "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1".
you are not "causing D3 wounds"
you are "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1".
Which is the "reduce that model's Wounds by 1" from the Saves rule.
So:
The model gets to make a saving throw, if it has one. If it fails, reduce that model's Wounds by D3 Wounds instead of 1.
D weapon hit: Roll a Save. Failed your save? D3 Wounds taken down. Passed your save? No wounds from the D
So you can show permission to roll saves against hits (and I'm not referring to Pens or Glances)?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 13:57:01
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, here's the ordering of the D weapon result 2-5:
"The model suffers a hit..."
Good so far.
"...that wounds automatically..."
Okay, so here is where we would make a save, because we have a wound.
"...and causes it to lose D3 Wounds instead of 1."
The fact that it's saying "lose D3 instead of 1" means we've gone past the time for taking saves. We're at the unsaved stage where models actually lose (or reduce as in the rulebook) the wounds. Make one save per destroyer hit (since it's an auto wound). Failed save is then multiplied into the appropriate number of wounds. My read of it anyway.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/09/19 14:01:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 14:53:58
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I believe its one wound, which if unsaved, is multiplied into D3.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 18:24:41
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Roll to hit with D weapon
Roll to wound
Target unit rolls saves where applicable
Unsaved wounds are then rolled for and applied
Don't forget you can't take FNP against D weapons
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 18:55:14
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
juraigamer wrote:Roll to hit with D weapon
Roll to wound
Target unit rolls saves where applicable
Unsaved wounds are then rolled for and applied
Don't forget you can't take FNP against D weapons
And what do you need to roll To Wound?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 19:28:52
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
A 2-5 causes 1 automatic wound. Then if that wound is unsaved, it is then multipled into D3.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/19 19:30:43
Subject: Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Grey Templar wrote:A 2-5 causes 1 automatic wound. Then if that wound is unsaved, it is then multipled into D3.
Correct, there is no roll to wound.....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 09:28:38
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapon Save Ordering
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Happyjew wrote: BlackTalos wrote:Can't have put it better myself: (I amaze myself sometimes lol)
BlackTalos wrote:D weapons is an automatic wound (which is what is allocated), but that 1 automatic wound "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1".
you are not "causing D3 wounds"
you are "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1".
Which is the "reduce that model's Wounds by 1" from the Saves rule.
So:
The model gets to make a saving throw, if it has one. If it fails, reduce that model's Wounds by D3 Wounds instead of 1.
D weapon hit: Roll a Save. Failed your save? D3 Wounds taken down. Passed your save? No wounds from the D
So you can show permission to roll saves against hits (and I'm not referring to Pens or Glances)?
Why do i need to show that? Are you taking the short "D weapon hit: Roll a Save." literally?
Of course, as others pointed out, you are not rolling a save against Hits. The D weapons Hits, automatically wounds, and you then Roll to Save the wound.
When you follow the Saves rule ( "The model gets to make a saving throw, if it has one. If it fails, reduce that model’s Wounds by 1."), you apply the wording from D Weapons:
"The model gets to make a saving throw, if it has one. If it fails, reduce that model’s Wounds by D3.",
Because you are "causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/22 09:29:21
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
|