Switch Theme:

Crypteks Technomancer stacking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

So does the Technomancer rule stack with multiple Crypteks?
It is a modification to the roll not the requirement to pass, so you don't pass on a 4+ instead of a 5+, your roll of 4 gets +1 and becomes a 5.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I'm just a bit worried that 4 Crypteks make a unit unkillable

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/05 23:45:59


For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut





According to 1d4chan the unit gets 1+ to the required roll so a 4+.

5115 points
2000 points 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One




 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
So does the Technomancer rule stack with multiple Crypteks?
It is a modification to the roll not the requirement to pass, so you don't pass on a 4+ instead of a 5+, your roll of 4 gets +1 and becomes a 5.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I'm just a bit worried that 4 Crypteks make a unit unkillable


Reanimation Protocols can never be improved to be better than 4+.

ref pg. 112, 7th ed Necron codex
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

I know that it cannot be improved to better than a 4+ But the Crypteks rule does not improve reanimation protocols just the dice result. Look a Modifying Dice Rolls in the BRB.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One




 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
I know that it cannot be improved to better than a 4+ But the Crypteks rule does not improve reanimation protocols just the dice result. Look a Modifying Dice Rolls in the BRB.


That doesn't matter if the result can never be better than a 4. RP makes reference to cumulative modifiers to the dice result and immediately follows that it cannot be improved to be better than 4+.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

From RP:

"Certain special rules and wargear items can provide modifiers to this dice roll; these are cumulative, but the required dice roll can never be improved to be better than 4+."

Does Technomancer provide a modifier to the dice roll?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/06 00:02:35


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Ok , I haven't seen the RP rule so I was unsure


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Happyjew wrote:
From RP:

"Certain special rules and wargear items can provide modifiers to this dice roll; these are cumulative, but the required dice roll can never be improved to be better than 4+."

Does Technomancer provide a modifier to the dice roll?

Yes it does.

"...+1 bonus to Reanimation Protocol rolls."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 00:35:45


For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

There is literally a RP discussion which covers this on the first page.... The.... First..... Page.......

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

To bad Crypteks don't affect the Reanimation Protocol at all, they affect the roll.

This is the same reason Nightmare Doll and the Cronos Pain engine work together.

One modifies the save.

One Modifies the roll.

100% Rules as Written Crpyteks add 1 to the roll.

So if you have a Cryptek in the Decurion Detachment attached to a unit that unit would have a 4+ but when it went to roll if it rolled a three that would be a 4+ and the roll would pass.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Hollismason wrote:
To bad Crypteks don't affect the Reanimation Protocol at all, they affect the roll.

This is the same reason Nightmare Doll and the Cronos Pain engine work together.

One modifies the save.

One Modifies the roll.

100% Rules as Written Crpyteks add 1 to the roll.

So if you have a Cryptek in the Decurion Detachment attached to a unit that unit would have a 4+ but when it went to roll if it rolled a three that would be a 4+ and the roll would pass.


See that's what I was thinking, but what about stacking? If you have 4 Crypteks in unbound they give +4 to the roll making a roll of 1 a 5 and therefore a pass

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Again this is all covered in the RP discussion.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
See that's what I was thinking, but what about stacking? If you have 4 Crypteks in unbound they give +4 to the roll making a roll of 1 a 5 and therefore a pass


Still doesn't work, though. Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once. Since Technomancer does not specify otherwise, a model can only get +1 regardless of how many Technomancers are in th unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Happyjew wrote:
 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
See that's what I was thinking, but what about stacking? If you have 4 Crypteks in unbound they give +4 to the roll making a roll of 1 a 5 and therefore a pass


Still doesn't work, though. Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once. Since Technomancer does not specify otherwise, a model can only get +1 regardless of how many Technomancers are in th unit.


True, but don't forget the named Cryptek with a similar rule. It has a different name, so it would stack with Technomancer.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Hollismason wrote:

100% Rules as Written Crpyteks add 1 to the roll.


Tell me where it says you get a bonus to the dice value. It only says that there is some kind of "bonus". The term "Bonus" itselfe is afaik not connected to any rule. Thus you have to determin on which way this kind of bonus is applayed which is to the required number, not to the virtual dice value (see this post for further arguments: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/633728.page#7570172)
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

theProgramm wrote:
Hollismason wrote:

100% Rules as Written Crpyteks add 1 to the roll.


Tell me where it says you get a bonus to the dice value. It only says that there is some kind of "bonus". The term "Bonus" itselfe is afaik not connected to any rule. Thus you have to determin on which way this kind of bonus is applayed which is to the required number, not to the virtual dice value (see this post for further arguments: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/633728.page#7570172)


In the Technomancer rule itself. Technomancer gives a ""...+1 bonus to Reanimation Protocol rolls." What Technomancer DOESN'T do is reduce the required RP dice roll by one. I think everyone knows what GW MEANT to do, but sloppy rules writing has given us this situation.

I have RP (5+). I have a Cryptek present. The Cryptek DOES NOT change my RP (5+) to an RP (4+). I still have RP (5+). The required dice roll is still 5+. What the Cryptek does is add +1 everytime I roll a die for an RP roll. If I roll a 4, the Cryptek adds +1 to it and I'm able to satisfy the 5+ requirement.

GW wrote the 4+ restriction wording poorly. It should have said something like "Reanimation Protocols can never be passed with anything less than an unmodified 4+".

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




As i sait: "...+1 bonus to Reanimation Protocol rolls." Referes to something they call "bonus" and that is not a rule saying you have to modify your rolled dice value - it in fact is never specified. So you have to look at the "surrounding" rules on how to use this bonus - which leads to my conclusion. Show me why "Bonus" means "add +1 to the value of the dice youve just rolled" and you are right.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

theProgramm wrote:
As i sait: "...+1 bonus to Reanimation Protocol rolls." Referes to something they call "bonus" and that is not a rule saying you have to modify your rolled dice value - it in fact is never specified. So you have to look at the "surrounding" rules on how to use this bonus - which leads to my conclusion. Show me why "Bonus" means "add +1 to the value of the dice youve just rolled" and you are right.


Agree to disagree. At best we can both say this is ambiguous and that we have different interpretations of what "+1 bonus" means. I interpret it as add one to the current dice roll. You (forgive me if I'm putting words in your mouth) interpret it as subtract one from the required dice roll.

The reason I interpret it as I do is because the bonus applies to "Reanimation Protocol rolls", which is plural. It must apply to the actual dice you are rolling and not to the "target", i.e. the 5+ requirement. So, I roll a 3. Apply the +1 bonus to that roll of a 3. What is the result? In my mind, it has to be a 4.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
I know that it cannot be improved to better than a 4+ But the Crypteks rule does not improve reanimation protocols just the dice result. Look a Modifying Dice Rolls in the BRB.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/633728.page
We already have a discussion on that.

Technically: Yes.
But the RAI is so clear that you will probably, and rightfully, get banned from your FLGS if you are trying to push it.
Don't, just don't try to actually argue this anywhere outside a RAW-talk.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

A Mod should probably close this, since it is a redundant thread. This is a nice summary though, I might bookmark it to refer others too as soon as they ask the question again.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: