Switch Theme:

Can blast and ordnance go through a skyshield landing pad ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Had a game with a bit of a cheeser who stated what the topic says. We could not come to an agreement so he left his team. They did not agree with him either btw.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

The rules appear to support it. The only requirement is that the models be under the blast marker, not that they actually be visible from the "sky".

I don't play this way. I don't know anyone who does. I think this is another stupid rules thing.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Floating Firefly Drone



Canada

I'm in the middle of downloading stuff so I can't look at my BRB yet, but I'm pretty sure it depends on whether the weapon is direct fire or not. A missile launcher can but say a barrage mortar can't. I'll edit later after I look at the rules, but even if it isn't supported in rules, I think that using that as a house rule adds depth to the game.

5000pts Necrons
5000pts Salamanders
Battle for Zycanthus box set
Bunch of old Heroscape stuff 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

GW supports house rules.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

By the rules, blasts and templates hit everything underneath them.

If you want to add a house rule to only hit the top of the skyshield, or only hit specific floors in ruins, or whatever else, then that's totally fine... but is something that ideally should be discussed before the game starts.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

The issue is that Barrage weapons ignore LoS when determining what got hit by the blast coupled with the lack of rules for levels/floors in 7th. It makes no sense, and did not work in 6th.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Floating Firefly Drone



Canada

Wait, I'm a tad confused, is he saying that it hits all floors or just that it can shoot below a covering? Hitting all floors is not okay but direct fire weapons I can see hitting a floor that isn't the top.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, Kriswall, I visited your website and the star wars codex's are freackin' awesome! thanks for sharing those!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 00:01:39


5000pts Necrons
5000pts Salamanders
Battle for Zycanthus box set
Bunch of old Heroscape stuff 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Szeras wrote:
Wait, I'm a tad confused, is he saying that it hits all floors or just that it can shoot below a covering? Hitting all floors is not okay but direct fire weapons I can see hitting a floor that isn't the top.

There are no 'floors' within the rules. Everything under the blast marker is hit by it, even if they're standing on different floors within the terrain.

 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

RAW, EVERYTHING is hit regardless of common sense, ballistics and LoS. So he was right, however with that said, Everyone in my Local area plays that if you cant be seen from either over head or from where the blast hits, you either dont get hit or you get cover.

If I read what you posted originally correct, this guy got into an argument, when nobody agreed with him he got up from the game and left? WAAC players bug me sometimes :-p

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend



Maine

See this is where 'common sense' doesn't always work. There are different types of weapons that can fire a 'blast'. A rocket launcher, for instance, can fire under a platform (potentially), but uses a blast template. We can't always assume that every weapon using a Blast is shooting something into the air to land on their heads. A tank doesn't exactly fire up into the air for the shell to land on stuff. Artillery tends to do that.

Not saying the rules aren't wonky, but...yeah. Something that needs to be cleared up by GW.
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

Crunch: The rules of older editions limited hits from blast weapons to individual "levels" of a ruin. 7th edition does not. 7th edition hits everything under the marker. Everyone I know has made the switch, since they play 7th edition and it's just one of many rules that are different from previous editions. Like, you know, allies. Psychic phase. Vehicle Damage table. Formations that aren't CAD. I dunno, I think there might be a couple more, but I'm not a scholar of 40k, just an enthusiastic amateur.

Fluff: A Blast weapon isn't a 2 dimensional burst, but a 3 dimensional explosion that you're representing with a "2-Dimensional" marker. Bunker buster bombs blast their way several hundred metres into the ground, if I recall. Regular artillery, landing on top of a building is, at the very least, going to "blast" a little bit of destroyed building straight downwards at several hundred feet per second. Or it might have a delayed explosion, allowing it to penetrate something in the way before exploding inside the building / vehicle... kind of like the way Krak Missiles are supposed to work. That guy under that rickety floor might not be visible from the sky, but an ordnance shell coming down isn't going to mind. It'll blast him to pieces anyhow.


So while it's a change from earlier editions, I don't see it as unrealistic, or game breaking. Just don't pile your models on top of each other in a ruin, and you'll be fine. Or if you do, be prepared to take extra damage if the guy scores a hit, while less damage if he scatters... since those 6 guys will no longer be under the small blast. To directly answer the OP's question, yes, the 7th edition rules allow models beneath a Skyshield to be hit by blast weapons that might, fluffily speaking, hit the pad above it first.

He was right to be upset, since the rest of you were cheating, whether you knew it or not. Not very fair to call him a cheeser when someone took a Skyshield Pad, and he intelligently used an attack that would damage the unit beneath.

Oh yes, rules citations! 40k RB, pg 12 "Blast Markers and Templates", 158 "Blast". In both cases, the rules specify that models beneath the marker / template are hit, without limitations. For completeness' sake, the rules for Ruins, such as they are, are on pg 108. You can find rules for more specific ruins in the back of the book, pgs 184 to 187. While absence of evidence merely provides evidence of absence, there are no limitations to the effects of Blast Markers in those rules either. With nothing to limit the hits to individual levels of a ruin... you don't.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2015/04/12 05:06:13


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




UK

I would treat the models beneath the pad as effectively inside a building in this instance. Seems a reasonable house rule

Everything under the blast... let me put an example forth...

A large blast targets the top of an occupied bunker. Due to the size of the building a large blast would cover all of it with a direct hit. While you cant target the people embarked they are still under the template. Are they hit or not?

Guardsman: "Sir, we appear to have brought knives to a gunfight"

BANG!!!

Commissar: "Anymore questions?" 
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

The area beneath a Skyshield pad isn't enclosed, per the Building / Vehicle rules. If it was, there would be rules to support that stance, but that isn't the case. An enclosed building / vehicle doesn't allow models inside to be hit by blasts, as they have specific rules that deny this. The Skyshield is much closer - rules wise - to a "Ruin" than it is to a "Building".

House rules are fine and dandy, if you want to modify the rulebook that's each individual's prerogative. But it is a modification to the rules in the book, so isn't supported by RAW. The rules presented would give protection to units beneath floors in a Ruin, that simply isn't granted by the rules in the book.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 17:07:59


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

the rules indicate you must place the pin hole of the template on a model. This can't be done if the models are under. Furthermore if you had the unit A to target and unit B under them, then how do you reference who is under the template without having to move the skyshield?

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

9unit9 wrote:
While you cant target the people embarked they are still under the template.

No, they're not. They're not even on the table.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, that's wrong. You are required to place the centre over a models base / hull, which is entirely possible even if you cannot see this through the marker.

How do you determine who is under a marker when the marker is opaque? Are you claiming this csnnot be done?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Dozer Blades wrote:
the rules indicate you must place the pin hole of the template on a model. This can't be done if the models are under.

Sure it can. Having something else in between doesn't change the physical location of either model or marker. The hole is over the model's base regardless of whether it is on top or underneath the skyshield.



Furthermore if you had the unit A to target and unit B under them, then how do you reference who is under the template without having to move the skyshield?

If it's not fairly obvious just from the location of the models, just look from the side.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

No. It's over they skyshield.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
You are placing the center on the skyshield.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 19:58:59


My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






Yes, according to rules blasts hit all of the floors of a building.

So lets say a FW team is under a pad, and there is a broadside team directly above them on the pad. Say a demolisher cannon is fired at the fire warriors and hits, the broadsides would be hit as well.

Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Dozer Blades wrote:
No. It's over they skyshield.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
You are placing the center on the skyshield.

And? My roof is over my loungeroom. It's also over me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 20:01:05


 
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

One could, hypothetically, mark the position of the skyshield and then move it out of the way, and then return it once position has been determined. And one can place the hole over a model beneath a skyshield pad. One needs only to squeak the marker between the model and the pad.

As to why the maker doesn't hit embarked infantry on an enclosed Vehicle / Building, that's part of the rules.

At least, I'm pretty sure that's part of the rules. I seem to recall that embarked infantry can't be hit... because they're inside a vehicle / building. Something about being fully encased in steel and such. Unfortunately, I can't find a page reference for that. I'm also pretty sure that there are rules for open-topped vehicles, that allow hits to be assigned to embarked passengers if the vehicle is hit by Blast [d3?] or Large Blast / Template [d6?] though I also can't find those either, so that might be a hold over from another edition. I rarely face OT tranports, so it's not something I have off the top of my head.

Maybe someone has a page reference for that handy? I'm not able to find it at the moment. In any case, that would remove the passengers in a transport being hit, unless open topped issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 20:13:32


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 greatbigtree wrote:
I'm also pretty sure that there are rules for open-topped vehicles, that allow hits to be assigned to embarked passengers if the vehicle is hit by Blast [d3?] or Large Blast / Template [d6?]

It's only for templates. Blasts can't hit passengers, because they're not on the table.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Dozer Blades wrote:
No. It's over they skyshield.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
You are placing the center on the skyshield.

No, I'm placing it over your model. AND over the sky shield. This is indisputable.
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

Fair enough, like I said I don't face them often. Do you happen to have a page reference for something along the lines of, "Embarked infantry can't be shot at, nor assaulted while they are embarked." ? I believe it's written in previous versions of the rules, but couldn't find it on a quick pass through the 7th ed rulebook.

For what it's worth, The unit "Count as" being inside the transport. Without rules preventing them from being harmed by shooting, they would be treated as though they are beneath the template. Something I'm 95% sure is prevented by a rule somewhere.

PS: Not terribly interested in a "Counts-as" vs "Is" debate. Just looking for a page reference about embarked infantry can't be targeted by shooting, or hurt by shooting, or assaulted while embarked, etc.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/12 20:25:49


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 greatbigtree wrote:
For what it's worth, The unit "Count as" being inside the transport.

For the purposes of measurement, and shooting from the unit, yes. There are no rules for emabrked units that let you ignore the LOS requirement to choose them as a shooting target (and you can't draw LOS to a unit that isn't on the table) or that would allow you to count them as being under a blast marker that is over the vehicle.


I don't believe there is any specific rule that says that you can't target them... it simply isn't possible within the shooting rules.
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

I maintain that models beneath a Skyshield pad can be hit by blasts that hypothetically target the pad itself. The models are beneath the marker, so while it's a change from previous editions, that's the rules.

I got looking for rules that prohibit embarked models from being damaged by shooting, and haven't been able to find anything. The Blast rules allow models that are out of LOS to be damaged if they're beneath the marker... so I'm going to start another thread to pursue that inquiry.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 greatbigtree wrote:
The Blast rules allow models that are out of LOS to be damaged if they're beneath the marker... .

...which they're not, if they're not even on the table to begin with.
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

I'll quibble with you about that in an hour or so, once I get a new thread started.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

Its a stupid rule, and its broken and maybe GW will figure it out and fix it, either with weapon updates or a specific rule regarding hitting levels such as in the last edition. Until then, decide with your opponent if you will be playing a house rule in this scenario or RAW

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Good call Ghaz... Definitely something to discuss before the game starts.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: