Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 18:42:08
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It came up in a recent game, I looked around the internet and there were lots of forum posts saying "no," but they were all old and possibly out of date. There's something in the rulebook suggesting so, but it's in the section regarding charging multiple units, so some litigious bastard might claim it's specific to that. Can anyone quote me a bit of the rulebook which says that if you shoot, you can't charge a different unit? Or is this a new 7ed era and you can shoot one way and run another?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 18:47:01
Subject: Re:Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
You can not shoot at one unit and then assault a separate unit without declaring a multi assault.
In the case of a multi assault, the unit you shot at must be your primary assault target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 18:48:48
Subject: Re:Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Chapter Master Angelos wrote:You can not shoot at one unit and then assault a separate unit without declaring a multi assault.
In the case of a multi assault, the unit you shot at must be your primary assault target.
Oh sure, thanks, I found that bit, but what happens when you're only assaulting one unit. Can you assault a unit other than the one you shot at?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 18:50:20
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Cog in the Machine
|
Also worth noting that a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only charge a unit that it fired on in the shooting phase. This means that destroying the target in the shooting phase does not leave you free to assault other units in the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 18:59:44
Subject: Re:Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
Bubba_Ho-tep wrote: Chapter Master Angelos wrote:You can not shoot at one unit and then assault a separate unit without declaring a multi assault.
In the case of a multi assault, the unit you shot at must be your primary assault target.
Oh sure, thanks, I found that bit, but what happens when you're only assaulting one unit. Can you assault a unit other than the one you shot at?
Unfortunately no. You must assault the same unit that you shot at.
And as noted above if you destroyed what you shot at by shooting you loose all ability to assault with that unit that turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 19:16:55
Subject: Re:Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Chapter Master Angelos wrote:Bubba_Ho-tep wrote: Chapter Master Angelos wrote:You can not shoot at one unit and then assault a separate unit without declaring a multi assault.
In the case of a multi assault, the unit you shot at must be your primary assault target.
Oh sure, thanks, I found that bit, but what happens when you're only assaulting one unit. Can you assault a unit other than the one you shot at?
Unfortunately no. You must assault the same unit that you shot at.
And as noted above if you destroyed what you shot at by shooting you loose all ability to assault with that unit that turn.
One exception to this is that if you destroy a transport in the shooting phase you can then charge the disembarked passengers in the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 19:19:15
Subject: Re:Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Chapter Master Angelos wrote:Bubba_Ho-tep wrote: Chapter Master Angelos wrote:You can not shoot at one unit and then assault a separate unit without declaring a multi assault.
In the case of a multi assault, the unit you shot at must be your primary assault target.
Oh sure, thanks, I found that bit, but what happens when you're only assaulting one unit. Can you assault a unit other than the one you shot at?
Unfortunately no. You must assault the same unit that you shot at.
And as noted above if you destroyed what you shot at by shooting you loose all ability to assault with that unit that turn.
Unless the Shooting target was a Transport. If the Transport is destroyed, the unit that was Embarked on it may be Charged by the Transport's shooter.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 19:21:09
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Bubba_Ho-tep wrote:It came up in a recent game, I looked around the internet and there were lots of forum posts saying "no," but they were all old and possibly out of date. There's something in the rulebook suggesting so, but it's in the section regarding charging multiple units, so some litigious bastard might claim it's specific to that. Can anyone quote me a bit of the rulebook which says that if you shoot, you can't charge a different unit? Or is this a new 7ed era and you can shoot one way and run another?
Page 45 of the main rulebook, bottom of the first column under the heading 'Declare Charge'. Text is in bold.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/10 19:29:31
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/11 02:59:41
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ghaz wrote:Page 45 of the main rulebook, bottom of the first column under the heading 'Declare Charge'. Text is in bold.
Thanks so much, that's exactly what I was looking for. Not sure how I missed it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:26:45
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Im not sure but what about split fire. can one member shoot something separate from the unit and still charge?
|
Facts are chains that bind perception and fetter truth. For a man can remake the world if he has a dream and no facts to cloud his mind. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:29:06
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Terrifying Treeman
The Fallen Realm of Umbar
|
Yes, but the charge must be what the unit (except the split firer) shot at.
|
DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:35:52
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Krellnus wrote:Yes, but the charge must be what the unit (except the split firer) shot at.
On what basis?
Split Fire should allow you to charge either target. The unit has chosen two targets; one by the Split Firing model and the rest by "the rest of the unit". Not "the unit" but specifically "the rest of the unit".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/12 06:37:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:42:07
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Terrifying Treeman
The Fallen Realm of Umbar
|
A unit can only declare a charge at the unit it targeted in the shooting phase, if a model splits fire, it does not count as that unit targeting the second target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/12 06:42:32
DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:42:32
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Krellnus wrote:Yes, but the charge must be what the unit (except the split firer) shot at.
On what basis?
Split Fire should allow you to charge either target. The unit has chosen two targets; one by the Split Firing model and the rest by "the rest of the unit". Not "the unit" but specifically "the rest of the unit".
On the basis that the model chose a separate target, not the unit, and Charging requires the Unit's Shooting Target (if shooting applied).
Super-heavy and PotMS multi-targeting is a different mess all together.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 06:47:31
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Krellnus wrote:A unit can only declare a charge at the unit it targeted in the shooting phase, if a model splits fire, it does not count as that unit shooting at the second target.
The second target is the target of "the rest of the unit" but not "the unit". The Split Fire shooting attack is resolved first.
"When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule shoots, one model in the unit can shoot at a different target to the rest of his unit. Once this shooting attack has been resolved, resolve the shooting attacks made by the rest of the unit. These must be at a different target, which cannot be a unit forced to disembark as a result of the Split Firing unit’s initial shooting attack."
You have two parts of the unit each choosing a target; the Split Firing model and "the rest of the unit". Together "the unit" as a whole has chosen two targets. Automatically Appended Next Post: Charistoph wrote:On the basis that the model chose a separate target, not the unit, and Charging requires the Unit's Shooting Target (if shooting applied).
The rest of the unit has chosen one target, and the Split Firing model (who is part of "the unit", though not "the rest of the unit") has chosen another.
You're mistaking "the rest of the unit" for "the unit".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/12 06:49:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 14:56:37
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:
Charistoph wrote:On the basis that the model chose a separate target, not the unit, and Charging requires the Unit's Shooting Target (if shooting applied).
The rest of the unit has chosen one target, and the Split Firing model (who is part of "the unit", though not "the rest of the unit") has chosen another.
You're mistaking "the rest of the unit" for "the unit".
No, I'm not. I just don't see permission to use the model's target as A target for the unit. The Split Fire target is never listed as a target for the unit, just the model. "The rest of the unit" is not a factor in this conclusion, but more a reference to when the models fire, they cannot join in with the Split Firing model.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 16:18:13
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The model that splits fire is still part of the unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 16:42:54
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And he still did not shoot at the "units" target. The unit's target is that one that you must charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 16:44:27
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
The UNIT picks a target, and a MODEL shoots at a different target using split fire. You have chosen one specific target for your unit and spitfire does not change that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 17:10:37
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Charistoph wrote: Mr. Shine wrote: Krellnus wrote:Yes, but the charge must be what the unit (except the split firer) shot at.
On what basis?
Split Fire should allow you to charge either target. The unit has chosen two targets; one by the Split Firing model and the rest by "the rest of the unit". Not "the unit" but specifically "the rest of the unit".
On the basis that the model chose a separate target, not the unit, and Charging requires the Unit's Shooting Target (if shooting applied).
Super-heavy and PotMS multi-targeting is a different mess all together.
I have a imperial knight. I shoot with avenger gat. I shoot a nearby unit. The heavy flamer on the gat reaches out n burns a different squad. The hits and wounds from the gat n flamer kills primary target. Can I still assault the other unit that got burned with one wound?
I shot the melta gun on a transport and explode it. can assault the 2 disembarking unit that is combat squaded...
Can I shoot the gat at a target 36" away, then use heavy flamer which is an underslung of the gat on unit infront of my knight and charge the unit i flamed?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 17:12:56
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Filch wrote:Charistoph wrote: Mr. Shine wrote: Krellnus wrote:Yes, but the charge must be what the unit (except the split firer) shot at.
On what basis?
Split Fire should allow you to charge either target. The unit has chosen two targets; one by the Split Firing model and the rest by "the rest of the unit". Not "the unit" but specifically "the rest of the unit".
On the basis that the model chose a separate target, not the unit, and Charging requires the Unit's Shooting Target (if shooting applied).
Super-heavy and PotMS multi-targeting is a different mess all together.
I have a imperial knight. I shoot with avenger gat. I shoot a nearby unit. The heavy flamer on the gat reaches out n burns a different squad. The hits and wounds from the gat n flamer kills primary target. Can I still assault the other unit that got burned with one wound?
I shot the melta gun on a transport and explode it. can assault the 2 disembarking unit that is combat squaded...
Can I shoot the gat at a target 36" away, then use heavy flamer which is an underslung of the gat on unit infront of my knight and charge the unit i flamed?
lol that is completely different. You can't use an example that does not apply to try and rational another situation
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 17:15:09
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I just want answers because my IK has been underperforming because my opponents argue that I cant charge stuff with my IK because he thinks its not fare to get stomped.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 17:36:06
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
Filch wrote:I just want answers because my IK has been underperforming because my opponents argue that I cant charge stuff with my IK because he thinks its not fare to get stomped.
Your would think primary target would be based off which target you shot with your primary weapon. (Don't have the rules near me so I can't verify)
But in the case of multiple shots at different units, designate which unit is the designated target and which are secondary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 17:57:45
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Here the ik unit may target any number of units, up to the number of weapons it has, and therefore yes you can target a unit with a flamer, another with the gat and charge either unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 18:11:52
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Chapter Master Angelos wrote: Filch wrote:I just want answers because my IK has been underperforming because my opponents argue that I cant charge stuff with my IK because he thinks its not fare to get stomped.
Your would think primary target would be based off which target you shot with your primary weapon. (Don't have the rules near me so I can't verify)
But in the case of multiple shots at different units, designate which unit is the designated target and which are secondary.
There are no Primary Targets or Secondary Targets involved with the Shooting Phase (it would be easier if it did) like Charging has. Primary Weapons just provide the benefits of Ordnance without the drawbacks. It does nothing about choosing your Charging Target.
Filch wrote:Charistoph wrote:Super-heavy and PotMS multi-targeting is a different mess all together.
I have a imperial knight. I shoot with avenger gat. I shoot a nearby unit. The heavy flamer on the gat reaches out n burns a different squad. The hits and wounds from the gat n flamer kills primary target. Can I still assault the other unit that got burned with one wound?
I shot the melta gun on a transport and explode it. can assault the 2 disembarking unit that is combat squaded...
Can I shoot the gat at a target 36" away, then use heavy flamer which is an underslung of the gat on unit infront of my knight and charge the unit i flamed?
As I said, this is a different mess all together. For one, Super-Heavy targeting is not quite the same as Split Fire and do not differentiate the Weapon's targets from the unit's target. The Shooting Sequence does not address Multiple targeting at all, and Charging only considers it if you may want to (or must) Charge two or more units and never considers the fact that the unit shot at multiple. Effectively speaking for these, the unit shot at all of them as the unit is allowed to shoot multiple targets, so all are viable targets for a Charge.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 18:13:48
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Here the ik unit may target any number of units, up to the number of weapons it has, and therefore yes you can target a unit with a flamer, another with the gat and charge either unit.
100% this. the IK has multiple targets and can charge any of them.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 18:33:14
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Just remember that the flamer only has one target. If after placing the flame template, you happen to clip another unit then that unit was not targeted.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 20:15:59
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The model is part of the unit - like I said. You can charge either target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 20:43:50
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:No, I'm not. I just don't see permission to use the model's target as A target for the unit. The Split Fire target is never listed as a target for the unit, just the model. "The rest of the unit" is not a factor in this conclusion, but more a reference to when the models fire, they cannot join in with the Split Firing model.
At what point is the unit's target determined?
Ordinarily this is done immediately after the unit is nominated to shoot, but this is split into the Split Firing model (who of course is part of the unit nominated to shoot) who then resolves their Split Fire shooting attack, and then the rest of the unit nominated to shoot selects their target and resolves their shooting attack.
Seems clear to me the nominated unit has chosen two targets.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/12 20:44:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/12 20:48:40
Subject: Can you shoot at one unit then assault another?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Charistoph wrote:No, I'm not. I just don't see permission to use the model's target as A target for the unit. The Split Fire target is never listed as a target for the unit, just the model. "The rest of the unit" is not a factor in this conclusion, but more a reference to when the models fire, they cannot join in with the Split Firing model.
At what point is the unit's target determined? Ordinarily this is done immediately after the unit is nominated to shoot, but this is split into the Split Firing model (who of course is part of the unit nominated to shoot) who then resolves their Split Fire shooting attack, and then the rest of the unit nominated to shoot selects their target and resolves their shooting attack.
Seems clear to me the nominated unit has chosen two targets.
The Step 2 when the rest of the unit goes to shoot. I still see no classification of the model's target as a target for the unit nor any directions to treat it as such. I see the directive for one model in the unit to shoot a different target to the rest of his unit. I don't seem it directing the unit to pick two targets with one model shooting one and the rest shooting the other.
Unit interactions versus model interactions are the guide here.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|