Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 01:49:14
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Can a D-thirster make his attack in his own initiative step(i9) if he get axe of khorne or blade of blood from lesser/greater rewards and decided to use it rather than D-axe?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 01:56:15
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
Yup. I have his rules right in front of me. The weapon itself causes the I1 attack. If you use a different weapon, the D axe rules won't come into effect.
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 08:59:55
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
timetowaste85 wrote:Yup. I have his rules right in front of me. The weapon itself causes the I1 attack. If you use a different weapon, the D axe rules won't come into effect.
Wrong. The D axe specifically states "a model carrying" which is different from say how the unwieldy rule is written.
Using another weapon does not make you "not carry" the weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/12 09:00:41
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 12:09:20
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
DaPino wrote: timetowaste85 wrote:Yup. I have his rules right in front of me. The weapon itself causes the I1 attack. If you use a different weapon, the D axe rules won't come into effect.
Wrong. The D axe specifically states "a model carrying" which is different from say how the unwieldy rule is written.
Using another weapon does not make you "not carry" the weapon.
This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 12:59:35
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
The 'Colossal' rule applies when the model is carrying it. As long as the model has a weapon with the 'Colossal' rule, it piles in and attacks at the I1 step - regardless of whether the model is using it to make its attacks or not.
It's the same logic that allows a KDK character to use the Goredrinker's rules with a different weapon (and thus get around the 'Unwieldy' penalty).
And the same logic that allows a SW Rune Priest to use his Runic Axe's psychic nullification rule when he's not even attacking with the weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 06:17:53
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
While that is definitely the RAW, I personally think you'd be hard-pressed to find someone who plays weapons in that way. There is an abundance of weapons that technically do work this way, but are never used this way.
Certainly the tournament FAQ pack used in Australian tournaments says that special rules on weapons (whether advantages or disadvantages) are only activated when using that weapon, even if the rule says 'when carried'.
jokerkd wrote:This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
Unwieldy doesn't apply to monstrous creatures - making the axe unwieldy would have done nothing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 06:24:00
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Trasvi wrote:While that is definitely the RAW, I personally think you'd be hard-pressed to find someone who plays weapons in that way. There is an abundance of weapons that technically do work this way, but are never used this way.
Certainly the tournament FAQ pack used in Australian tournaments says that special rules on weapons (whether advantages or disadvantages) are only activated when using that weapon, even if the rule says 'when carried'.
jokerkd wrote:This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
Unwieldy doesn't apply to monstrous creatures - making the axe unwieldy would have done nothing.
The problem is there are weapons that only have effects outside of combat wear you can't wield it (such as Axe of Blind Fury which causes a -1 BS)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 15:29:52
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
This is the same issue with a Harlequin Solitaire with a Kiss & Caress. The Kiss says a model "equipped with" makes an additional attack at str6 AP2. So can you use the Caress (6's to Hit are 'rending') and get the bonus Kiss attack?
The jury is still out
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/14 15:34:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 16:33:46
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Galef wrote:The Kiss says a model "equipped with" makes an additional attack at str6 AP2.
To be complete, that isn't what it says. It's not an additional attack.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 18:11:08
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
DarknessEternal wrote: Galef wrote:The Kiss says a model "equipped with" makes an additional attack at str6 AP2.
To be complete, that isn't what it says. It's not an additional attack.
Sorry, don't have my codex on hand. The point was that 1 of the models attacks is at str6 ap2 for being equipped. Does that mean you may use a different CC weapon for the rest of your attacks?
The argument usually goes in a circle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 18:27:22
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Galef wrote: DarknessEternal wrote: Galef wrote:The Kiss says a model "equipped with" makes an additional attack at str6 AP2.
To be complete, that isn't what it says. It's not an additional attack.
Sorry, don't have my codex on hand. The point was that 1 of the models attacks is at str6 ap2 for being equipped. Does that mean you may use a different CC weapon for the rest of your attacks?
The argument usually goes in a circle.
The argument usually goes in circles because the BRB strictly prohibits mixing and matching in weapon abilities of weapons you aren't fighting with, BUT the wording on the Kiss ability sure makes it seem like it can be used when using a different weapon, BUT we probably shouldn't be reading the text at all if we don't have access to the rule, BUT... etc, etc.
It seems like yet another example where the author's said "hey wouldn't it be cool if XYZ", not realizing that the core rules prohibit XYZ from ever happening.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/16 13:54:07
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
I don't see how anyone could argue that the D-thirster could strike at I9 with another weapon. That is the downside of taking the D on a freaking bloodthirster, you always strike at I1. RAW and RAI, no arguments about it. The dude doesn't need a house ruling because you can just give him a ++3 or make him invisible. Toss the relic armor on him to make him effectively T7!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/18 04:27:28
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
jokerkd wrote:DaPino wrote: timetowaste85 wrote:Yup. I have his rules right in front of me. The weapon itself causes the I1 attack. If you use a different weapon, the D axe rules won't come into effect.
Wrong. The D axe specifically states "a model carrying" which is different from say how the unwieldy rule is written.
Using another weapon does not make you "not carry" the weapon.
This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
Not necessarily correct,
This is probably done because unwieldy doesn't affect MC's.
Every single major tournament and any smaller tournament I've ever been to rules that they can use their I9 initiative with other weapons they gain from gifts.
The bottom line is pre-check with your tournament organizer and use that as precedent.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 01:57:41
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
I understand people's frustrations when TOs make house rules that directly contradict both RAW and RAI
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 03:22:16
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
GW is so random with rules and wording it's no wonder TO try to even things out
|
2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 06:21:33
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Trasvi wrote:While that is definitely the RAW, I personally think you'd be hard-pressed to find someone who plays weapons in that way. There is an abundance of weapons that technically do work this way, but are never used this way.
Certainly the tournament FAQ pack used in Australian tournaments says that special rules on weapons (whether advantages or disadvantages) are only activated when using that weapon, even if the rule says 'when carried'.
jokerkd wrote:This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
Unwieldy doesn't apply to monstrous creatures - making the axe unwieldy would have done nothing.
It's also the RAI. That rule is there exactly to prevent people from taking a lesser reward on D-thirsters to have an on-initiative alternative.
That's the whole point of the D-thirster,p it's the risk for taking it.
If the had intended it any other way, they would have written "a model striking with this weapons strikes at initiative 1."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/21 06:21:58
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 06:54:59
Subject: D-thirster with weapons from lesser/greater rewards?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
DaPino wrote:Trasvi wrote:While that is definitely the RAW, I personally think you'd be hard-pressed to find someone who plays weapons in that way. There is an abundance of weapons that technically do work this way, but are never used this way.
Certainly the tournament FAQ pack used in Australian tournaments says that special rules on weapons (whether advantages or disadvantages) are only activated when using that weapon, even if the rule says 'when carried'.
jokerkd wrote:This is why it has it's own colossal rule as opposed to just making the axe unwieldy
Unwieldy doesn't apply to monstrous creatures - making the axe unwieldy would have done nothing.
It's also the RAI. That rule is there exactly to prevent people from taking a lesser reward on D-thirsters to have an on-initiative alternative.
That's the whole point of the D-thirster,p it's the risk for taking it.
If the had intended it any other way, they would have written "a model striking with this weapons strikes at initiative 1."
Which they did write when they gave IKs the colossal rule on their thunder gauntlets
|
|
 |
 |
|