Switch Theme:

Do you find the 'over 9"' bad wording?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Ancient Chaos Terminator





'Straya... Mate.

With the new deep strike article, it stated that units must be placed over 9"s away, should they have said placed at least 10" instead?

I personally don't find it confusing, but I made this thread to stop the news post going off topic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/17 21:07:55


 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






No. It's super clear and super simple. How does anyone get confused by "more than 9" away?" Seriously?

If it's 9" or less, you're wrong, otherwise you're right. It couldn't be more binary, imo.

   
Made in us
Beautiful and Deadly Keeper of Secrets





Just seemed like one fellow who was trying to misinterpret the rules by any means.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Hyperspace

No. It's perfectly unambiguous. Anyone who says otherwise doesn't understand numbers.



Peregrine - If you like the army buy it, and don't worry about what one random person on the internet thinks.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






I get the feeling this thread is quickly going to turn into a "Is 1 the same as .999999999 repeating?" thread.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in us
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord




Inside Yvraine

It's fairly simple. It only sounds confusing to people who are desperately hoping that assault from deep-strike will be viable.
   
Made in au
Ancient Chaos Terminator





'Straya... Mate.

 EnTyme wrote:
I get the feeling this thread is quickly going to turn into a "Is 1 the same as .999999999 repeating?" thread.

It's better in here than in the news and rumours thread.

 
   
Made in es
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain




Vigo. Spain.

I can't decide:

1-The Warhammer40k community is the community with the worst reading comprehension out there (At least some members of it).

or

2-Some people just want to Twist to the extreme some rules to make them say what they want them to say.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/17 21:21:06


 Crimson Devil wrote:

Dakka does have White Knights and is also rather infamous for it's Black Knights. A new edition brings out the passionate and not all of them are good at expressing themselves in written form. There have been plenty of hysterical responses from both sides so far. So we descend into pointless bickering with neither side listening to each other. So posting here becomes more masturbation than conversation.

ERJAK wrote:
Forcing a 40k player to keep playing 7th is basically a hate crime.

 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




"More than 9 inches away" just means more than 9 inches.

As in: If you charge, and you measure, and you say "That's 9 inches!" then you cheated. Because you had to be over 9 inches.
   
Made in au
Ancient Chaos Terminator





'Straya... Mate.

Ghorros wrote:
"More than 9 inches away" just means more than 9 inches.

As in: If you charge, and you measure, and you say "That's 9 inches!" then you cheated. Because you had to be over 9 inches.

Well you have to be 1" away for a successful charge in 8th, so 9" will be fine because you have to be 1" away making 10"... But I get your point

 
   
Made in nz
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Just flicked through the 7th ed rulebook for a precedent - the current wording on infiltrators is the same.

So infiltrating meltaguns were always completely out of range, and then definitely out of melta bonus range after a first turn move?

Those that deployed within line of sight only got a 5.99999" benefit (depending on where the enemy deployed).

I hope infiltrators get better rules in this new ed!
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





The meaning is clear, though the context did cause me to go "Are you sure you meant to use > instead of ≥?".

But they clarified they did it on purpose, so a unit that just did a deep strike is outside of 9" by definition.

On the one hand, I'm glad it'll be that much harder for deep-striking units to assault my units. On the other hand, that means a Stormtrooper squad that just did a deep strike is outside of rapid-fire range by definition, no matter how close to the line they may be.

Though... I wouldn't mind hot-shot lasguns getting an extra 2" of range (extending their rapid-fire range by 1" ) to resolve that little conflict. Don't think that's likely to happen though, oh well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/17 21:32:24


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





If ever we have a potentially disagreeing situation like this, we declare how far we intend to be. So if I put it at 9 inches, I just declare it to be just over 9 inches away. Then, if we ever measure 9 inches or less to it we know that it should be just over 9 inches.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

 Yarium wrote:
If ever we have a potentially disagreeing situation like this, we declare how far we intend to be. So if I put it at 9 inches, I just declare it to be just over 9 inches away. Then, if we ever measure 9 inches or less to it we know that it should be just over 9 inches.


This is exactly how I have done a lot of measuring, and if the intent is to deep strike and charge it makes things a lot faster and easier.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 ross-128 wrote:
The meaning is clear, though the context did cause me to go "Are you sure you meant to use > instead of ≥?".

But they clarified they did it on purpose, so a unit that just did a deep strike is outside of 9" by definition.

On the one hand, I'm glad it'll be that much harder for deep-striking units to assault my units. On the other hand, that means a Stormtrooper squad that just did a deep strike is outside of rapid-fire range by definition, no matter how close to the line they may be.

Though... I wouldn't mind hot-shot lasguns getting an extra 2" of range (extending their rapid-fire range by 1" ) to resolve that little conflict. Don't think that's likely to happen though, oh well.


did we ever get stats for hslg?

even then it seems like an extremely niche case. well that and flamers (IIRC they are max 9" right?) so unless drop pods do a thing, deepstriking regular flamers might not be worth it without a lot of special unit functions that we dont know about.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





 Desubot wrote:
 ross-128 wrote:
The meaning is clear, though the context did cause me to go "Are you sure you meant to use > instead of ≥?".

But they clarified they did it on purpose, so a unit that just did a deep strike is outside of 9" by definition.

On the one hand, I'm glad it'll be that much harder for deep-striking units to assault my units. On the other hand, that means a Stormtrooper squad that just did a deep strike is outside of rapid-fire range by definition, no matter how close to the line they may be.

Though... I wouldn't mind hot-shot lasguns getting an extra 2" of range (extending their rapid-fire range by 1" ) to resolve that little conflict. Don't think that's likely to happen though, oh well.


did we ever get stats for hslg?

even then it seems like an extremely niche case. well that and flamers (IIRC they are max 9" right?) so unless drop pods do a thing, deepstriking regular flamers might not be worth it without a lot of special unit functions that we dont know about.


No, if we had I wouldn't be speculating about a possible range change at all. I just don't think it's likely to change, and currently (7th ed and earlier) it's 18".

We have gotten flamers and flame pistols though. Flamers are 8" and the pistols are 6" in the Datasheet/Rubric Marine preview, so drop-flamers are right out unless Grav Chute Insertion (or drop pods) lets you land closer than 9", which is also maybe possible.
   
Made in cn
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Drop pods could easily be closer due to the disembark, with a rule saying no assault after DS.
   
Made in ca
Commander of the Mysterious 2nd Legion





Poly Ranger wrote:
Drop pods could easily be closer due to the disembark, with a rule saying no assault after DS.


Drop pods are a big question mark for me right now.


right now we know reserves seem to be a "come in when you decide, so long as it's at turn 3 or earlier" which removes the relative reliability of drop pods for reinforcement management
we also know that deep strike is gonna be WAAAAY more accurate. with no scatter etc. which removes another major plus of drop pods.

so it';ll be intreasting to see what drop pods bring to the table. will they simply be a way to deliver space marine units without deep strike into the field will drop pods have some additional rules to reflect being more accurate? these are i,portant questions.

for example, if drop pods are just "deep strike trucks" they'll be useful but not super important, BUT, if drop pods say, allow you to drop within 6 inches of an enemy instead of 9, they'll be popular with Marines in that they'll lend themselves to a very agressive drop in, shoot, charge, play style. (something which synergizes very nicely with how marines are fluffed even if it might be deemed a little too good )

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/17 23:07:12


Opinions are not facts please don't confuse the two 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





I don't like "over x" wordings.

They should have said: "It may be no closer than 10 inches" or something like that.
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob






There's basically two ways to phrase a rule like that:

'at least x inches' (or 'no less than x inches' or other equivalent phrasing.

or

'over x inches'

The first one leads to a possible situation where someone declares that they are setting up exactly x inches away from the enemy. Then they try to use an ability which has a range of x inches. But their opponent points out that it's physically impossible to place a model by hand with that degree of accuracy, so they must either have set up slightly less than x inches away (and therefore broke the rule about setting up) or are currently slightly more than x inches away and unable to use their ability. Cue argument.

The second option avoids this. The model has to be fractionally more than x inches away and everyone knows it. There's no reason to set it up x.00000001 inches away; x.5 inches will have the same in-game effect.

There's still room for people to argue, because people generally aren't very good with numbers, logic and reading comprehension, but from the available options it's the better way to do things.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/18 00:11:18


   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Remember this is the forum that once argued:

1.) That because a tank has no sculpted eyes it cannot check for line of sight.

2.) "Visible" and "Line of Sight" clearly meant completely different things because nothing in the rules verbally communicated that the two terms are basically synonmous

3.) The Storm Raven is Blood Angels and Grey Knights only and vanilla marines will never see it.

4.) Guilliman wields two weapons and 1 weapon simultaniously, thus gaining the benefits of both and the downsides of neither for some reason.

5.) Cataphractii Terminator Armor is only considered Terminator Armor when you want a weapon that is marked "Terminator Armor only", and counts as another type of armor that just happened to share a name at all other times.

All of this, among the countless other insanities that I have since exorcised from my brain with copious applications of bleach. So someone trying to interpret the lawyer-literal version of the wording is not surprising. To anyone with common sense, it means you measure to 9" and deploy beyond that within reason.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

 Traditio wrote:
I don't like "over x" wordings.

They should have said: "It may be no closer than 10 inches" or something like that.


That's literally the same thing backwards.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Y'all realise I was complaining about this being clumsy wording prone to starting positioning arguments, not that it was possible to get the charge by being right on the line, right?
   
Made in ca
Lord of the Fleet






Halifornia, Nova Scotia

Sweet mother of feth.

Look at your ruler. Find the 9" mark. Then place the model literally fething anywhere behind that mark.

I struggle to understand where the problem is with this.

Mordian Iron Guard - Major Overhaul in Progress

+Spaceship Gaming Enthusiast+

Live near Halifax, NS? Ask me about our group, the Ordo Haligonias! 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Azreal13 wrote:That's literally the same thing backwards.


Practically speaking, it's not:

"Over 9 inches" means that we get the tape measure, measure out the distance, and say: "Ok. You can't touch this tape measure."

"No closer than 10 inches" means that we get the tape measure, measure out the distance and say: "Ok. You can touch this tape measure."
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





I think it's blatantly obvious what they mean, but yes they could have worded it slightly more simple:

"...must be placed 9" or more from an enemy unit."

Same exact premise, but slightly better worded. People can get stupid over the use of "More than"...meaning that if you actually set it up, it'll have to be 9.1" away, etc. (i.e. this is where the arguments for charging will come on - in which case the odd choice of wording is definitely a stupid issue some poor tournament organizer will have to cope with)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/18 01:28:08


 
   
Made in ca
Lord of the Fleet






Halifornia, Nova Scotia

 Traditio wrote:
Azreal13 wrote:That's literally the same thing backwards.


Practically speaking, it's not:

"Over 9 inches" means that we get the tape measure, measure out the distance, and say: "Ok. You can't touch this tape measure."

"No closer than 10 inches" means that we get the tape measure, measure out the distance and say: "Ok. You can touch this tape measure."


What a shocking difference. This changes everything. I mean, wow, its now plain as day how one of these is clearly the more obvious rule to follow. How could anyone have been so blind. GW really messed here. I mean, can you imagine having to look at your ruler and say "don't touch this line!" instead of "don't go past this line!". It'd be anarchy and chaos.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/18 01:28:31


Mordian Iron Guard - Major Overhaul in Progress

+Spaceship Gaming Enthusiast+

Live near Halifax, NS? Ask me about our group, the Ordo Haligonias! 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Blacksails wrote:What a shocking difference. This changes everything. I mean, wow, its now plain as day how one of these is clearly the more obvious rule to follow. How could anyone have been so blind. GW really messed here. I mean, can you imagine having to look at your ruler and say "don't touch this line!" instead of "don't go past this line!". It'd be anarchy and chaos.


That is roughly my assessment and expectation.

"Don't touch this line" will be nothing but trouble.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/18 01:29:40


 
   
Made in au
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought






 BlaxicanX wrote:
It's fairly simple. It only sounds confusing to people who are desperately hoping that assault from deep-strike will be viable.


Assault is fine, 2d6 to get from over 9" to within one inch of the enemy means a risky roll but a legal and possible roll nonetheless.
The issue comes from shootie armies that have weapons on the borderline.

I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. 
   
Made in cn
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




 Blacksails wrote:
Sweet mother of feth.

Look at your ruler. Find the 9" mark. Then place the model literally fething anywhere behind that mark.

I struggle to understand where the problem is with this.


Thank you. I was wondering if it was just me thinking that.

Tbf it is perfect wording. '9" or more' is where you get the crazy 'on the line - is that exactly 9", can he/can't he charge/rapid fire etc, 'More than 9"' means it can't possibly be at 9" but can be closer than 10". Perfect.

You have stated it perfectly Blacksails
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: