Switch Theme:

Artefacts not on the battlefield?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Powerful Ushbati





Bergen

How does Aetherquartz Brooch and Kattnak Browplate work on units not on the battlefield? Like the Ogor Hunter whom the Browplate is exclusive.

1. Aetherquartz Brooch. Each time you spend a command point, you get it back on a 5+.

2. Kattnak Browplate: Add 1 to save rolls for attacks that target the bearer. In addition, at the start of your first hero phase. you receive 1 additional command point.

I am a dyslectic, so bear with me.

Dyslectics in a text based environment? Dakka is aware of you and sympathises with any troubles you have: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/505863.page

Kronos biovore box fresh sporemines. Denying psykick powers since 2017.

 
   
Made in gb
Brutal Butcher





No. You cant use abilities for units not on the battlefield unless explicitly stated.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






 Stux wrote:
No. You cant use abilities for units not on the battlefield unless explicitly stated.
Afaik that is not an actual rule; it is simply that most artifacts/abilities must be in range of something to work, or affect rolls made for/made on the model. Would be happy if someone could point me to such a rule and correct me though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/11 12:19:26


Consider; Games Workshop rules not so much games but as toolboxes for players to craft an experience from, and open/narrative/matched play just examples of how things can be put together. 
   
Made in no
Powerful Ushbati





Bergen

Does browplate happrn before combat starts then?

I am a dyslectic, so bear with me.

Dyslectics in a text based environment? Dakka is aware of you and sympathises with any troubles you have: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/505863.page

Kronos biovore box fresh sporemines. Denying psykick powers since 2017.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 NinthMusketeer wrote:
 Stux wrote:
No. You cant use abilities for units not on the battlefield unless explicitly stated.
Afaik that is not an actual rule; it is simply that most artifacts/abilities must be in range of something to work, or affect rolls made for/made on the model. Would be happy if someone could point me to such a rule and correct me though.

I'm fairly sure it's just that models not deployed on the battlefield don't count for...well, anything. They're part of your army list, not army.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 4 of the Warhammer Age of Sigmar – Core Rules, Designers’ Commentary:

Q: Can models set up in reserve (in the Celestial Realm, for example) cast spells, or use abilities or command abilities to affect other units?

A: No. Only models deployed on the battlefield can cast spells, or use abilities or command abilities to affect other units.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Brutal Butcher





Hmm.

So it does say they cant use abilities "to affect other units". An ability that just gains CP isnt affecting other units, so potentially allowed.

Of course, not being explicitly disallowed isnt good enough for a permissive rules set.

However it may well be possible. I think it needs more clarification really! In the specific instance of the Brow Plate, I would say the intention is probably that it should work - seeing as it's a one time ability that can only activate the first turn and can only be taken by a unit with an in built ability to be held in reserves.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Niiai wrote:
Does browplate happrn before combat starts then?


The save ability is passive and always available.

The CP ability is of course the point of contention.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/03/11 14:44:07


 
   
Made in us
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos





The RAW answer would then be that yes you can gain CP even if not on the table, since it is not casting nor is it using an ability or command ability to affect another unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/11 15:32:05


Parabellum Conquest Vanguard and champion of all things Conquest: The Last Argument of Kings

My Conquest youtube content:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLe9ZjKe25oMNH6q3_XU0QxkBt2mEm_F1y 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Thanks Ghaz!

So it seems the plate does give its CP in a RAW sense; the artifact says 'X happens' and there is no rule to interrupt that. In this case the RAI is also rather obvious.

Consider; Games Workshop rules not so much games but as toolboxes for players to craft an experience from, and open/narrative/matched play just examples of how things can be put together. 
   
Made in no
Powerful Ushbati





Bergen

I do not see the RAI here, and I do not know AoS enough to understand the RAW.

I am a dyslectic, so bear with me.

Dyslectics in a text based environment? Dakka is aware of you and sympathises with any troubles you have: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/505863.page

Kronos biovore box fresh sporemines. Denying psykick powers since 2017.

 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: