Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 05:54:21
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
don_mondo wrote:No, my stance is that Drop Pods can Deep Strike with units in them, and ergo, units can enter in Outflanking transports. To me, the INTENT there is clear............
Ya know, I'm happy with this statement I guess. It isn't quite what I was after, but it's close. At least you are saying the INTENT now, instead of it being a clear hard and fast rule. I think it's cloudy at best, but the intent very well could be that it's perfectly legal. I have no problem with that, and am fine playing it the way most of you think the intent of it is. The INAT has already ruled in your favor.
I just wanted to point out that there is no RAW answer that supports either the DS in the Drop Pod, or the Outflank in the Vendetta. RAI, yes for sure on the Drop Pod, and I'm still 50/50 on the Vendetta.
Clay
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 05:55:20
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Primarch wrote:I just wanted to point out that there is no RAW answer that supports either the DS in the Drop Pod, or the Outflank in the Vendetta. RAI, yes for sure on the Drop Pod, and I'm still 50/50 on the Vendetta.
How can you be 100% on one and 50/50 on the other, when it is the EXACT SAME SITUATION.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 05:56:17
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
I've said that all along, that the rules weren't clear and that we had to fall back on the Drop Pod to determine whether or not it worked........... That would be why we all kept dragging the Drop Pod into the discussion, because it's a known example for intent.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 05:56:56
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Gwar! wrote:Primarch wrote:I just wanted to point out that there is no RAW answer that supports either the DS in the Drop Pod, or the Outflank in the Vendetta. RAI, yes for sure on the Drop Pod, and I'm still 50/50 on the Vendetta.
How can you be 100% on one and 50/50 on the other, when it is the EXACT SAME SITUATION.
Because thats the only way the Drop Pod can possibly work as a Dedicated transport? So if that wasn't the intent, then what was?
Because the Vendetta, can carry legal outflanking ability troops and still Outflank, as well as a multitude of other deployment options, and doesn't need to outflank with non-outflanking troops to work?
Clay
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 05:57:39
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Primarch wrote:don_mondo wrote:No, my stance is that Drop Pods can Deep Strike with units in them, and ergo, units can enter in Outflanking transports. To me, the INTENT there is clear............
Ya know, I'm happy with this statement I guess. It isn't quite what I was after, but it's close. At least you are saying the INTENT now, instead of it being a clear hard and fast rule. I think it's cloudy at best, but the intent very well could be that it's perfectly legal. I have no problem with that, and am fine playing it the way most of you think the intent of it is. The INAT has already ruled in your favor.
I just wanted to point out that there is no RAW answer that supports either the DS in the Drop Pod, or the Outflank in the Vendetta. RAI, yes for sure on the Drop Pod, and I'm still 50/50 on the Vendetta.
Clay
This is one way of looking at it. Another way is that the RaW clearly states how vets may outflank in a vendetta, and you are interpreting them incorrectly.
It could be either, GW sucks at rule writing, but I personally believe it is the latter, as per my argument. The vendetta MAY outflank (as a scout unit), and the vets MUST come on with the vendetta if they are declared to be embarked during deployment (as per the BGB).
|
Gwar: I'm going to quit while I can.
Meh, close enough |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 06:00:51
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
apwill4765 wrote:Primarch wrote:don_mondo wrote:No, my stance is that Drop Pods can Deep Strike with units in them, and ergo, units can enter in Outflanking transports. To me, the INTENT there is clear............
Ya know, I'm happy with this statement I guess. It isn't quite what I was after, but it's close. At least you are saying the INTENT now, instead of it being a clear hard and fast rule. I think it's cloudy at best, but the intent very well could be that it's perfectly legal. I have no problem with that, and am fine playing it the way most of you think the intent of it is. The INAT has already ruled in your favor.
I just wanted to point out that there is no RAW answer that supports either the DS in the Drop Pod, or the Outflank in the Vendetta. RAI, yes for sure on the Drop Pod, and I'm still 50/50 on the Vendetta.
Clay
This is one way of looking at it. Another way is that the RaW clearly states how vets may outflank in a vendetta, and you are interpreting them incorrectly.
It could be either, GW sucks at rule writing, but I personally believe it is the latter, as per my argument. The vendetta MAY outflank (as a scout unit), and the vets MUST come on with the vendetta if they are declared to be embarked during deployment (as per the BGB).
Hmmm. The rules just aren't as clear as you make them to be. So basically according to you, if I only break 1 of the 3 rules then it's all good no matter what I do? THat's opening up a whole new world of possibilities for the game......
Clay
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/19 06:01:15
Subject: Outflanking problem
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Excellent. Since we all appear to be on more or less the same page now, I think this one can take a rest...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/19 06:01:53
|
|
 |
 |
|