Cjc1223 wrote:Does anybody see pigs flyig because it seems like an
FAQ that HELPS tyranids?
nope, it does nothing of the like. The tyranid spore thing is a monstrous creature, so it already ignores whatever tests its subjected to.
You do raise a valid point though, because the last part of the entry reads 'that Deep Strikes via a mycetic spore cannot move or assauly in the same turn it arrives but
may shoot (or run) as normal.
In many ways a Mycetic Spore like a Drop Pod, and the entry is written very similarily, which makes me wonder if it behaves like a drop-pod in the sense of what it does to the disembarking units. The
FAQ clarified that models arriving by a vehicle having arrived by Deep Strike also count as arriving by Deep Strike.
The issue here is does the mycetic spore count as a vehicle? In every respect, it behaves like a drop pod for the purposes of deploying the unit. I would say that the
FAQ includes the mycetic spore. Otherwise, why would Drop Pods be addressed in the general
FAQ and not the
SM FAQ?
The way the entry is written, it could trump the core rules anyway, because it says that they may shoot or run as normal. It does not mention anything about them counting as having moved the previous turn, and if they are merely 'disembarking' without counting as deep-striking, or moving etc. then they get the full range of their shot. Ha-HA! And then it does not even matter because all tyranids have assault weapons.
So we are down to: do tyranids take the dangerous terrain check in disembarking. I still think they fall under the auspices of "deep-striking via vehicle", especially as it is the only unit in the tyranid codex behaves like one, so its payload also takes dangerous terrain checks where relevant. I don't see this as doing anything particularily awful to tyranids because the mycetic spore already offers other advantages.