Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 19:48:10
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
No answer then. I thought as much.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 19:52:09
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I have an answer to what I believe your question to be, but I don't want to make assumptions. And since you apparently refuse to actually quote rules correctly, I'd have to make assumptions.
The failure here is on you (failing to use actual rules in your arguments/questions) not me.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 20:00:58
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Just out of curiosity Bill, would you say a Blast can be re-rolled due to a model having Bs6?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 20:05:17
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Oh Please. Look back through the thread. I have quoted rules directly from the rulebook. Ad hominem in action.
To make it perfectly clear for you once again.
Preferred Enemy: A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To
Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking its Preferred Enemy.
Blast: When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit. Instead, just pick one enemy
model visible to the firer and place the 3" blast marker with its hole entirely over the base
of the target model
So please, tell me how the rule that allows you to re-roll to hit rolls of a 1, has any connection to a weapon that does not use a single dice roll to hit.
Some people are focused on this part:
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast
weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Re-rolling dice to hit, and only re-rolling 1s are not the same.
Even though BS5 with both rules produce the same outcome, they do not produce the same outcome across all BS values, and therefore have to be treated differently.
Just out of curiosity Bill, would you say a Blast can be re-rolled due to a model having Bs6?
Yeah when we play that's how we do it. Its not quite fair, effectively giving a blast weapon twin linked, whereas a standard weapon would need a 6 on the re-roll, but then again it would not be fair to deny the blast weapon some kind of re-roll.
(Got to say though, I don't think this is in the RAW. It's just how we play it. Like I said earlier on, when my group plays preferred enemy blasts, we roll a separate die to determine if the shot was actually a 1, and if it was we let them re-roll it, not RAW, but its how we play it).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/12 20:13:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 20:18:52
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Big Blind Bill wrote:Just out of curiosity Bill, would you say a Blast can be re-rolled due to a model having Bs6?
Yeah when we play that's how we do it. Its not quite fair, effectively giving a blast weapon twin linked, whereas a standard weapon would need a 6 on the re-roll, but then again it would not be fair to deny the blast weapon some kind of re-roll.
Well to talk fair for a moment, you don't think the -6 to scatter is fair enough?
And Prefered Enemy gives a "better" re-roll, if you get my meaning - a roll of a 1 followed by 6+ compared to a 1 followed by 2+ (on a Bs5+ model, even a 5+ on a Bs1 model).
Bs6 is in effect a "lesser" re-roll ability, but you'd grant that?
A Bs5 model with PE is more accurate than a Bs9 model, yet you'd give one a re-roll on blasts? But not the other?
It becomes doubly interesting if you read the Gets Hot! rule, same wording as Blast, it must have the ability to Re-Roll To Hit, yet abilities such as (but not limited to) BS6 are considered to qualify for this. Again, same wording.
And back on topic, all re-roll abilities have an extra condition that cannot be met. Take Blast out of the equation for a second:
Do you gain a re-roll:
Prefered Enemy: Yes, if you roll a 1
Prescience: Yes, if you fail To Hit
Master Crafted: Yes, if you fail To Hit
Twin-Linked: Yes, if you fail to Hit (but has it's own Blast interaction rules)
Bs6+: Yes, but requirements change. Not a true re-roll.
In all cases, an extra requirement to grant the re-roll is there. One that in each case, cannot be met when dealing with a Blast.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/12 20:22:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 20:26:47
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Big Blind Bill wrote:Oh Please. Look back through the thread. I have quoted rules directly from the rulebook. Ad hominem in action.
Pray tell - how did I insult you?
To make it perfectly clear for you once again.
Preferred Enemy: A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To
Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking its Preferred Enemy.
Blast: When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit. Instead, just pick one enemy
model visible to the firer and place the 3" blast marker with its hole entirely over the base
of the target model
So please, tell me how the rule that allows you to re-roll to hit rolls of a 1, has any connection to a weapon that does not use a single dice roll to hit.
Yay for correct rules quotes! You do realize that "re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1" and "For PE you must roll a 1 to be able to re-roll it." are different, right? Just checking.
Some people are focused on this part:
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast
weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Re-rolling dice to hit, and only re-rolling 1s are not the same.
Even though BS5 with both rules produce the same outcome, they do not produce the same outcome across all BS values, and therefore have to be treated differently.
Prescience re-rolls failed To Hit rolls, not all To Hit rolls. So it is just as conditional as PE.
You're insisting that one conditional be ignored but refusing to ignore the other conditional.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:06:38
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote: Big Blind Bill wrote:Just out of curiosity Bill, would you say a Blast can be re-rolled due to a model having Bs6?
Yeah when we play that's how we do it. Its not quite fair, effectively giving a blast weapon twin linked, whereas a standard weapon would need a 6 on the re-roll, but then again it would not be fair to deny the blast weapon some kind of re-roll.
Well to talk fair for a moment, you don't think the -6 to scatter is fair enough?
And Prefered Enemy gives a "better" re-roll, if you get my meaning - a roll of a 1 followed by 6+ compared to a 1 followed by 2+ (on a Bs5+ model, even a 5+ on a Bs1 model).
Bs6 is in effect a "lesser" re-roll ability, but you'd grant that?
A Bs5 model with PE is more accurate than a Bs9 model, yet you'd give one a re-roll on blasts? But not the other?
It becomes doubly interesting if you read the Gets Hot! rule, same wording as Blast, it must have the ability to Re-Roll To Hit, yet abilities such as (but not limited to) BS6 are considered to qualify for this. Again, same wording.
And back on topic, all re-roll abilities have an extra condition that cannot be met. Take Blast out of the equation for a second:
Do you gain a re-roll:
Prefered Enemy: Yes, if you roll a 1
Prescience: Yes, if you fail To Hit
Master Crafted: Yes, if you fail To Hit
Twin-Linked: Yes, if you fail to Hit (but has it's own Blast interaction rules)
Bs6+: Yes, but requirements change. Not a true re-roll.
In all cases, an extra requirement to grant the re-roll is there. One that in each case, cannot be met when dealing with a Blast.
your point is demonstrably false by the actual rules as written.
If a model has a special rule that already confers it a re-roll To Hit (like a Master-crafted weapon, for example)
Weapons with the Master-crafted special rule allow the bearer to re-roll one failed roll To Hit per turn with that weapon.
as has been shown by the RAW for master crafted, if you have the ability to reroll failed to hit rolls it is the same as having a re-roll to hit.
re-roll failed to hit roll= ability to re-roll a hit according to the RAW.
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
as you can see prescience uses the same wording as master crafted "failed to hit roll" and is equated in the rules as written as "a reroll to hit" from the section blast weapons, if the model has the ability to reroll its to hit, which it does as per having prescience. There is no actual requirement to roll to hit, just that you have the ability to reroll to hit and RAW we are shown that being able to reroll a failed to hit roll is the same as having a re-troll to hit.
therefore RAW prescience grants a reroll to hit, and may invoke the blast weapons and rerolls.
preferred enemy grants a reroll to hit if you fail a to hit roll of 1, the difference between preferred enemy and prescience which you all keep ignoring is one has no qualifier and always grants a reroll to hit, the other requires you roll a 1.
how do you roll a 1 if you do not get to roll to hit? You cannot.
the fact the rule grants the reroll on a failed to hit roll has been shown in the RAW, so no hit roll is required to be failed by prescience to get the re roll, however you still have to roll a 1 to hit with preferred enemy, which you cannot do. Therefore PE = no reroll for blasts.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:07:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:24:00
Subject: Re:Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
So the rules let you ignore the requirements needed to gain the re-roll?
Strange, that's the point I've been trying to get through for some time.
Prescience: You get a re-roll only if the To Hit roll is failed, which isn't possible with a Blast. Yet the rules don't seem to care for this requirment, only that they "have the ability to re-roll To Hit".
So the rules don't care about one requirement, but you insist it must care about another, when the rules themselves make no distinction.
Same with Gets Hot! same wording. Allows for the re-roll wit such abilities as Bs6, when that isn't a true form of re-roll. Again the rules don't care, only that they "have the ability to re-roll To Hit" no matter how bad or distorted the re-roll is.
blaktoof wrote:the difference between preferred enemy and prescience which you all keep ignoring is one has no qualifier and always grants a reroll to hit, the other requires you roll a 1.
Always grants a re-roll? Totally false, go read the power.
You've once again ignored that Prescience only grants a re-roll on a failed To Hit roll.
Just as with PE it has a requirement ( a miss) and the rules do not care about this requirement.
Yet you continue to insist the rules do care about requirements for re-rolls.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:24:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:28:04
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
you were just quoted the RAW.
something that grants a re-roll on failed to hit rolls is the same as a re-roll to hit.
there is no requirement to miss to get the re-roll from prescience in regards to blast weapons, there is only the requirement that you are allowed a re-roll.
look at the quotes for master crafted above, note what they say, note they are quotes directly from the rules as written.
re-roll failed to hit roll = a re-roll to hit.
does prescience grant re-rolls on failed to hit rolls? yes then it grants a re-roll to hit, read blasts in re-rolls. Is there a requirement in blast and re-rolls to roll to hit? no, because blasts do not roll to hit.
does PE grant re-rolls to hit? yes if you roll a 1. So you get to re-roll failed to hit rolls of 1 with PE. If you do so you get a re-roll. Did you roll a 1?
nope.
prescience= you have the re-roll option for failing before you roll. = you have a re-roll according to not me but the RAW.
PE= you do not get a re-roll until you roll a 1. = you have a re-roll if you roll a 1, according to not me but the RAW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:31:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:31:43
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:you were just quoted the RAW. something that grants a re-roll on failed to hit rolls is the same as a re-roll to hit. there is no requirement to miss to get the re-roll from prescience in regards to blast weapons.
Conditional re-rolls are also re-rolls to hit. BS6+ is as much a conditional re-roll as PE is. Bs6+ is called out, specifically, as being a re-roll To Hit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:32:51
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:35:59
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Before we go any further Blaktoof, where is this quote found?
If a model has a special rule that already confers it a re-roll To Hit (like a Master-crafted weapon, for example)
According to my iBook digital rulebook, re-roll apears 27 times in the whole thing. That quote isn't one of them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:38:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:37:57
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
From the BS6+ rules according to searching the eBook.
So if he read that rule, he already read the rule I quoted, meaning he knew he was presenting only part of the rule. Well done?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 22:39:50
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:From the BS6+ rules according to searching the eBook.
So if he read that rule, he already read the rule I quoted, meaning he knew he was presenting only part of the rule. Well done?
Thanks.
And yes, that is VERY selective quoting.
All it's highlighting, is that a re-roll with conditions (such as failing a To Hit roll) is still considered a re-roll by the rules. This is already known. Automatically Appended Next Post: The fact that BS6 is called out as being a valid "ability to re-roll To Hit" should put this argument to bed.
It's far more conditional than PE, requiring a 1 To Hit, and then not even granting a true re-roll but a modied one.
No doubt it won't because of "reasons".
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/12/12 22:51:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 01:31:34
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:From the BS6+ rules according to searching the eBook.
So if he read that rule, he already read the rule I quoted, meaning he knew he was presenting only part of the rule. Well done?
Thanks.
And yes, that is VERY selective quoting.
All it's highlighting, is that a re-roll with conditions (such as failing a To Hit roll) is still considered a re-roll by the rules. This is already known.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
The fact that BS6 is called out as being a valid "ability to re-roll To Hit" should put this argument to bed.
It's far more conditional than PE, requiring a 1 To Hit, and then not even granting a true re-roll but a modied one.
No doubt it won't because of "reasons".
Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 06:28:58
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
sirlynchmob wrote:Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
From the Gets Hot rule.
Gets Hot wrote:If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-Linked special rule)
Same wording used as with Blasts and re-rolls. "Has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It considers BS6+ valid, and that is just as conditional as Prefered Enemy, but grants a more altered, lesser, re-roll. Both require a To Hit roll of 1 to gain any form of re-roll. The rules simply don't care that a 1 needs to be rolled, just that there is some form of re-roll to be considered valid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 14:53:19
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
From the Gets Hot rule.
Gets Hot wrote:If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-Linked special rule)
Same wording used as with Blasts and re-rolls. "Has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It considers BS6+ valid, and that is just as conditional as Prefered Enemy, but grants a more altered, lesser, re-roll. Both require a To Hit roll of 1 to gain any form of re-roll. The rules simply don't care that a 1 needs to be rolled, just that there is some form of re-roll to be considered valid.
you left out a lot of that rule.
like
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6 + or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
showing that first part is separate and further invalidating your argument.
if you go back and see the rules section for gets hot and weapons that do not roll to hit, which you and others have chosen not to discuss you will see it references the weapons do not roll to hit, and have a special allowance to roll a die, which is not a hit roll, to see if the weapon gets hot.
it shows you need additional special permission to get the re-roll for gets hot past having the ability to re-roll to hit rolls from bs 6+, because blasts do not roll to hit and can never roll a 1, the reroll in this discussion has nothing to do with re-roll to hit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/13 15:09:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 16:04:34
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Irrelevant. It equates BS6+ with a re-roll To Hit, which is what Blast asks for.
You used that in your argument for Prescience, and now are saying it can't be used for PE? Awesome debating skills there.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 16:08:37
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
From the Gets Hot rule.
Gets Hot wrote:If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-Linked special rule)
Same wording used as with Blasts and re-rolls. "Has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It considers BS6+ valid, and that is just as conditional as Prefered Enemy, but grants a more altered, lesser, re-roll. Both require a To Hit roll of 1 to gain any form of re-roll. The rules simply don't care that a 1 needs to be rolled, just that there is some form of re-roll to be considered valid.
Look at the rules for BS6, the model does not have a reroll, it gains a reroll if it rolls a one. Why does a model gain something you state it already has? the word gain shows the model does not have a reroll, but can only ever gain one if it rolls a 1.
If it can gain a reroll it can be used for get's hot. It can not gain the reroll by rolling a scatter dice and can't reroll the scatter dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 17:03:38
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
From the Gets Hot rule.
Gets Hot wrote:If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-Linked special rule)
Same wording used as with Blasts and re-rolls. "Has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It considers BS6+ valid, and that is just as conditional as Prefered Enemy, but grants a more altered, lesser, re-roll. Both require a To Hit roll of 1 to gain any form of re-roll. The rules simply don't care that a 1 needs to be rolled, just that there is some form of re-roll to be considered valid.
Before this goes any further, i did point it out last time and will try to make it clear here again:
BS6+ is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT to Preferred Enemy. Both may re-roll 1s but they mean very different things!
Regardless of the outcome of the debate, please do not make the mistake above. A model with a Plasma Canon, BS4 and PE (re-roll or not re-roll) will scatter very differently to a model with BS10. even if firing a bolt pistol works out the same with re-rolls...
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 21:58:47
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Irrelevant. It equates BS6+ with a re-roll To Hit, which is what Blast asks for.
You used that in your argument for Prescience, and now are saying it can't be used for PE? Awesome debating skills there.
my discussion on prescience was to point out that prescience grants the reroll before the model rolls to hit, regardless of it rolling to hit it has the re-roll option.
PE does not have a re-roll option unless the model rolls a 1 to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 23:09:58
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote: grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Actually it is the opposite,
"it gains a reroll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit..."
The model does not have the ability to reroll for blast to interact with, because it did not roll a 1 to gain the reroll. Same with PE, no 1, no ability to reroll.
From the Gets Hot rule.
Gets Hot wrote:If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-Linked special rule)
Same wording used as with Blasts and re-rolls. "Has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It considers BS6+ valid, and that is just as conditional as Prefered Enemy, but grants a more altered, lesser, re-roll. Both require a To Hit roll of 1 to gain any form of re-roll. The rules simply don't care that a 1 needs to be rolled, just that there is some form of re-roll to be considered valid.
Before this goes any further, i did point it out last time and will try to make it clear here again:
BS6+ is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT to Preferred Enemy. Both may re-roll 1s but they mean very different things!
Regardless of the outcome of the debate, please do not make the mistake above. A model with a Plasma Canon, BS4 and PE (re-roll or not re-roll) will scatter very differently to a model with BS10. even if firing a bolt pistol works out the same with re-rolls...
They both have literally the exact same trigger for a re-roll, so for this debate they're identical.
Which is what we were talking about. Automatically Appended Next Post: blaktoof wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Irrelevant. It equates BS6+ with a re-roll To Hit, which is what Blast asks for.
You used that in your argument for Prescience, and now are saying it can't be used for PE? Awesome debating skills there.
my discussion on prescience was to point out that prescience grants the reroll before the model rolls to hit, regardless of it rolling to hit it has the re-roll option.
PE does not have a re-roll option unless the model rolls a 1 to hit.
And according to the quoted rules, your distinction is irrelevant.
BS6 gets a re-roll when it rolls a 1, and it is classified as an ability that gives you a re-roll To Hit.
Why do you refuse to apply that to PE?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/13 23:11:44
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 23:18:32
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote:They both have literally the exact same trigger for a re-roll, so for this debate they're identical.
Which is what we were talking about.
They both work differently for Blasts, so for this debate they are different
Which is what we were talking about.
Quote rules if BS10 grants a re-roll for blasts, because by RAW, it only reduces your scatter by 10".
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 23:22:45
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:They both have literally the exact same trigger for a re-roll, so for this debate they're identical.
Which is what we were talking about.
They both work differently for Blasts, so for this debate they are different
Which is what we were talking about.
Quote rules if BS10 grants a re-roll for blasts, because by RAW, it only reduces your scatter by 10".
Perhaps you'd like to read the thread?
High BS is referred to as a re-roll. It has the same trigger as PE. Treating one as a re-roll and the other not is illogical and inconsistent, especially if you're doing so without a reason.
The relevant rules have been quoted - it's difficult for me to require them right now. Read all of my recent posts.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/13 23:38:17
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
"it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks."
BS6 or better
"with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking(...)"
Preferred Enemy
One specifically calls out the need for a roll of a 1 (Impossible with blasts).
The other is an ability to re-roll with a restriction: rolls of 1.
I would really like to see you support RaW that a model with BS10 can re-roll his scatter! As much as PE and re-rolls can be discussed/analysed, BS6+ will NOT allow you to claim a Re-Roll of Scatter...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/13 23:38:34
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 01:32:27
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:"it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks."
BS6 or better
"with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking(...)"
Preferred Enemy
One specifically calls out the need for a roll of a 1 (Impossible with blasts).
The other is an ability to re-roll with a restriction: rolls of 1.
I would really like to see you support RaW that a model with BS10 can re-roll his scatter! As much as PE and re-rolls can be discussed/analysed, BS6+ will NOT allow you to claim a Re-Roll of Scatter...
So you didn't read the thread? Sigh. Okay.
So BS6+ is specifically called out as being an ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit. Agreed?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 01:43:56
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
you are correct that in the instance where a model makes a to hit roll BS6 can give the ability to re-roll.
Very rarely, a model may have a Ballistic Skill of 6 or even more. If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
the model has to roll a 1 to hit to get the re-roll.
also you should quote the whole part of the gets hot roll you are quoting.
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6 + or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
the two important parts being that the to hit re-roll for gets hot has to be not a 1 to avoid gets hot.
and more importantly.
the first part of the rule has nothing to do with blasts, shown by the semicolon seperating the text and the words "it may also re-roll gets hot results of weapons that do not roll to hit"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/14 01:46:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 02:02:02
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:you are correct that in the instance where a model makes a to hit roll BS6 can give the ability to re-roll.
Very rarely, a model may have a Ballistic Skill of 6 or even more. If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
the model has to roll a 1 to hit to get the re-roll.
also you should quote the whole part of the gets hot roll you are quoting.
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6 + or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
the two important parts being that the to hit re-roll for gets hot has to be not a 1 to avoid gets hot.
and more importantly.
the first part of the rule has nothing to do with blasts, shown by the semicolon seperating the text and the words "it may also re-roll gets hot results of weapons that do not roll to hit"
So being called a re-roll To Hit doesn't mean it's a re-roll To Hit?
It's a direct reference to BS6+ whereas your argument requires a connection to be made (using the high BS rules) between Master Crafted and Prescience.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 03:44:45
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the reroll for bs6+ is a reroll, however its not one blasts can have because blasts never roll to hit, as per the rules for bs6+ you have to roll to hit to have the ability to get the re-roll.
there is a special allowance noted in the RAW for gets hot weapons to get the re-roll for gets hot and then further reminds you the weapons do not roll to hit, and the re-roll granted has nothing to do with rolling to hit.
do you see that specific special allowance under blast weapons and re-rolls to hit? i surely do not.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/14 03:45:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 04:08:46
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:the reroll for bs6+ is a reroll, however its not one blasts can have because blasts never roll to hit, as per the rules for bs6+ you have to roll to hit to have the ability to get the re-roll.
Please restate your argument for Prescience with this statement in mind.
Either I'm confused or you're contradicting yourself. Clarity would be appreciated.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/14 11:29:50
Subject: Pask preffered enemy rule in relation to "Gets Hot" and "Re-roll Scatter"
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Rigeld, the main difference is that BS6+ does not provide the model with an ability to re-roll.
Blast rules: "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit"
BlackTalos wrote:"it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks."
BS6 or better
"with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking(...)"
Preferred Enemy
It is clear for the above that PE provide a model with an ability: the model can re-roll "failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1". This is conditional on: 1) Rolling a 1; 2) fail To Hit/To Wound
BS6+ is completely different. Does a model with BS6+ have the ability to Re-roll To Hit rolls?
No: The model gains a re-roll "whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit". Now i hope you can understand that although the "end result" is the same with a bolt pistol, the grammar is completely different. The model never has a re-roll until it quite clearly "gains" it.
A model with PE never "gains" a reroll. It has an ability (that it constantly has): to be able to re-roll "failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1".
Now the "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" Paragraph you have suddenly jumped on to prove your point is just that:
Gets Hot and Re-rolls. BS6+ allows you to gain a re-roll. Obviously it will be mentioned, because it is a re-roll.
When a model with BS6+ roll To Hit, does it have the ability to Re-Roll?
Yes
When a model with BS6+ rolls Scatter (Blasts), does it have the ability to Re-Roll?
No
Can you use Gets Hot to counter this?
No, Blacktoof got that covered:
blaktoof wrote: If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6 + or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
if you go back and see the rules section for gets hot and weapons that do not roll to hit, which you and others have chosen not to discuss you will see it references the weapons do not roll to hit, and have a special allowance to roll a die, which is not a hit roll, to see if the weapon gets hot.
it shows you need additional special permission to get the re-roll for gets hot past having the ability to re-roll to hit rolls from bs 6+, because blasts do not roll to hit and can never roll a 1, the reroll in this discussion has nothing to do with re-roll to hit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/14 11:31:41
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
|