Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:45:26
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
This is just a silly assertion. Just because someone plays by the rules doesn't make them someone who doesn't play fair. As well, many of the decision in the FAQs are not RAW according to the original rules. That's why they needed to be FAQ'd.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:46:34
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rigeld2 wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some? MSS v Force weapons to name one.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 19:47:32
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:49:20
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some?
MSS v Force weapons to name one.
I was asking because his statement was mildly insulting, but pretre had a better response so ... yeah.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:50:36
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I am curious about something:
BRB FAQv1 wrote:Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Does this answer override the skyfire rule? This Answer says that ONLY snapshots can hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping MCs.
While the Hard To Hit SR specifically gives an exception to models or weapons with Skyfire.
I guess what I am asking is is Skyfire now useless because of this answer?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 19:52:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:52:22
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:52:39
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
One is psychic powers the other is not, as I understand it there is no conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:53:46
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
40k-noob wrote:I am curious about something:
BRB FAQv1 wrote:Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Does this answer override the skyfire rule? This Answer says that ONLY snapshots can hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping MCs.
While the Hard To Hit SR specifically gives an exception to models or weapons with Skyfire.
I guess what Ia m asking is is Skyfire now useless because of this answer?
That is a good question.
I would say yes, as it does not specify that Skyfire overrides this, and that the ruleset is primarily permissive .
I heard GW may now have an official FAQ email account, so you could ask them yourself if you want.
I don't have the link though.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:54:47
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
That is what I am referring to, the HtH rule gave an exception to weapons and models with Skyfire but the answer says ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit .....
it would seem that this answer now trumps the HtH rule, doesn't it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:55:17
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
Ah damn, it seems that I was ninja'd.
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:56:12
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
No. Read hard to hit.
Shots are resolved as snap unless you have skyfire.
Also, templates, blasts, large blast (and because of FAQ), line, etc so on can never hit Swooping/Flying models.
Skyfire JUST allows you to hit flyers at full BS, not to fire prohibited weapon types.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:56:23
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
Ah damn, it seems that I was ninja'd.
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
Necron FAQ says deathray may not hit flyers or FMC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:56:52
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:57:44
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
BlueDagger wrote:
Yeah..... about that... jsut to name a few
- Star engines got a big nerf, they give +6 inches to flat out. For that many points? no thanks
- No more 2D6 on veil. We knew it was coming, but still a massive nerf.
- Runes of Wardning no longer stacks
- Vibro Cannon can't hit fliers
- Destructors can't overwatch
Who the hell ever thought runes of warding stacked? That is just completely ridiculous.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:58:26
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, because Death Rays doesn't use a ballistic skill.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 19:59:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:59:40
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:02:43
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
40k-noob wrote: pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
The same thing the main rulebook says. Skyfire is an EXCEPTION to the rule that only snap shots can hit. That's why it is a USR and in the USR section.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:03:43
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Well, that's too bad. Oh well, I still have the tesla destructor.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:03:52
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Eldar FAQ wrote:Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the
Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”
There was nothing stated it didn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:09:01
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
BlueDagger wrote:
Eldar FAQ wrote:Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the
Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”
There was nothing stated it didn't.
The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:09:51
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
pretre wrote:40k-noob wrote: pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
The same thing the main rulebook says. Skyfire is an EXCEPTION to the rule that only snap shots can hit. That's why it is a USR and in the USR section.
Gotcha.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:12:40
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:13:55
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
No, they still fire snap shots but at their full ballistic skill....
|
Tournament record: (W/D/L)
Space wolves : 1/1/1
Dark Eldar : 6/0/1 (1 overall win)
Daemons :8/0/2 (1 overall win)
Normal games starting 5/11/12:
Dark Eldar 13/0/1
Daemons 32/1/1
Friends armies 1/0/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:14:00
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rigeld2 wrote: AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
Well per the FAQ Runes of Witnessing don't work if under the effects of Runes of Warding.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:15:33
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
lol, as if it wasn't hard enough casting anything rolling 3d6; I guess no one ever used that at my FLGS because it seemed too absurd.
Oh well, glad its cleared up... so I can continue not to cast anything vs an Eldar.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:18:04
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote: AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
Well per the FAQ Runes of Witnessing don't work if under the effects of Runes of Warding.
Fair enough.
So who wins in Witnessing vs Shadows?
(oh - and they fixed Spre Cloud!)
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:20:02
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Spre cloud was fixed in the Version 1 FAQ. Witnessing vs Shadows is still taken on 4D6.
I'm glad they've dealt with Trygon Prime's character status.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:25:49
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Happyjew wrote:
I'm glad they've dealt with Trygon Prime's character status.
Still not sure why they made Trygon Primes a char. There are tons of Nids with synapse that are not characters.
Still directed fire and being able to direct hits with them should be fun. Challangess can go either way depending on the unit your in combat with.
I wonder how many Trigon Prime warlords we are going to see?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:29:00
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Primes are Heavy Support. Warlords are chosen from HQ choices.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:29:26
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
So the answer is zero?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:32:21
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Happyjew wrote:Primes are Heavy Support. Warlords are chosen from HQ choices.
Brain fart.. Thought it was HQ or charater.
Edit: Tervigons do it to me. They can be both HQ and Troops and I see a lot of Tervigon Warlords.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:33:42
|
|
 |
 |
|